We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hansson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hansson to your Saves list
Hotel Hansson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Surbrunnsgatan 38, Stockholm 113 48, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Brunnen) (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Ljungskile, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cozy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay in Stockholm was great specially due to our choice of Hotel (believe me!)
Hotel Hansson is a very cozy hotel in a perfect part of town. It is close to downtown, (we made it walking in just 15 minutes) and yet it is in a quiet neighborhood without disturbing traffic noises.
The subway is a mere 5 minutes away and within 3 stops one is downtown and if you add one more stop you come to the old town. The neighborhood is full of quaint coffee shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and good sized.
Staff is helpful and friendly thus making the guests feel welcome. Breakfast is good and plentiful. The bar was also good with many different and good quality beers to offer. The Bistro offers good food in a cozy atmosphere with live burning candles. Would definably stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner garden are quiet and one can open the windows for a breath of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
32
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Hansson with my husband.
Our room was nicely furnished and very cozy. We had two windows with a view to the street down below.
The bed was so comfortable! I slept almost better than in my own bed.
Only minus I can think of, was the lack of hanging racks for clothes etc. Can be it was just our room with this tiny "problem".

Breakfast was good, pretty much something for everyone.

The hotel staff was always smiling and friendly; first time I've actually felt welcome!

Hansson's location as well is very good. We were surprised just how close to the center we were.

All & all, we really enjoyed our stay at Hansson! Will definitely choose this hotel on our next Stockholm trip!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have been staying at Hotel Hansson for the 3rd time now and I can only say say that they are at the top of their game.
The brunch on Sunday is reasonably priced and the variety of food is great.

Do mention my name to Henry and you'll get the biggest smile you'll ever see.

Room Tip: If you are looking for good service and smiley faces, then stay at Hotel Hansson
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

There are many good points to this hotel. The decor is funky, the first thing you meet is a portrait of Jimi Hendrix. The breakfast was truly lovely. A very wide and plentiful variety of good produce and great coffee. It's a short walk from the nearest metro station and convenient for the university. My room overlooked a garden at the back of the hotel and it was very peaceful at night. However it was the room I had that let the hotel down.

It was extremely small and just had a single bed and chair by way of furniture. A shelf folded down underneath the TV which served as a desk and dressing table. There was a rail at the bottom of the bed to hang some clothes and another shelf to stow your bag. The bathroom was smaller again with a shower toilet and wash hand basin competing for space and nowhere to leave toiletries without them getting wet from the shower. I believe that all the rooms are slightly different so maybe I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Hansson and we enjoyed it. The breakfast was good and the hotel is close to transportation and restaurants. Henry was very helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

In spite of my title, I want readers to know we loved this hotel. Centrally located, close to transportation and plenty of restaurants and the staff is wonderful. The hotel was an old apartment building over 20 years ago and became a hotel. After a few management changes we have it in it's current iteration. As quaint as it appears from the outside (well at least to this American for whom everything in the U.S. is super sized), the rooms are very large and well appointed with lovely minimalist designs, wonderful dual shower stations and (wait for it)… Windows that fully open to let in the wonderfully breezy Swedish summer winds. The beds are made up in a traditional nordic way that assure a great night's sleep. The have a wonderful breakfast that is included with your stay and the food offerings are plentiful and hearty. No wimpy continental breakfast for the Swedes they put a rib sticking breakfast menu together and you'll need it because once you head out in to beautiful Stockholm you will need your energy to get around and see the sights without your energy flagging. After reviewing our stay though we did all chime in on a few pet peeves so be mindful they are not all mine (the poster) but a combination from my family as well.

Pet peeves, irks, annoyances were as follows:
The area for some reason is loud and it starts early… Cars honking, truck gates going up and down… HARD, pallets getting put down, screaming children who would not sit in their strollers, and one odd man who seemed to stumble (2 mornings in a row) to wherever his domicile was in a deep, complaining and possibly inebriated baritone.

Granted we are just off of Odengatan but the immediate area around the hotel is solidly residential.

Annoyance #2 - The beautiful chandelier in our room could have used a dimmer switch. They have this awesome crystal chandelier that throws the most beautiful (and dare I say) romantic shadows on the ceiling but alas without a dimmer it was all just magnificently bright ambient lighting and put us on full display of the apartment dwellers across the street from us. The room could have also used just one more light on the side table so that when I wanted to read I could sit quietly and do so. The only other option was to prop up in bed and read.

Peeve #3 The room could have used a small loveseat to afford for some cuddle time. Alas, it was only the 2 single chairs and the bed and another chair obviously set aside for using the workstation.

Peeve #4 - Cable TV people!!!. Not asking for all 940 channels but look at the demographics on who books stays and for us we would have loved ESPN, CNN a few other movie channels all on a slightly larger television. We quit partying one night at 11 p.m. and just twiddled our thumbs waiting for sleep to catch us and could have used that time to catch up on world events and the global financial markets. We did happen to see Fast 5 fully unedited which was cool (at least for my young son).

Peeve #5 - Was that a closet?! The room has a small holding area for guest's clothing and I think they should have spent the money expanding the space to include a few drawers and more hanging space and one other shelf. As it exists, it was just easier to keep our clothes in our luggage and use the 2 small shelves to hold all our dirty laundry.

Caution to management #6 - Invest in the repair of the windows. The left window came apart in our hands and one pane is cracked and given the right (or wrong) tug could send it breaking apart fully which could injure someone. The main room entry door sticks HORRIBLY. In the event of a fire and with little time to spare, having to futch around with getting a stuck door unstuck could cost a life.

So while I have listed the sum total of my family's pet peeves, please know that we loved the Hansson and would stay there again… We would just request an inside room.

Room Tip: Request an inside room facing the interior courtyard if you need a quieter experience. If the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The service and breakfast was good but the family room is not to great. It's in the roof of the hotel with the result it's very hot and there is no air con. The room was spacious but the window coverings is not effective in Sweden with about 20 hours daylight in the summer. The beds however was the best I have ever experienced. I think it would be great in winter but during the summer keep the heat in mind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hansson, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

-Thank you for pointing out that our staff, beds and breakfast are great.
-Only 2 of our 10 family rooms are located on the top floor.
-Sweden in the summer is rather hot, especially at the top of the building, day time.
-There are windows that open, equipped with 2 sets of curtains, as well as fans in each room on the top floor for hot days.
-Light is very strong in the early mornings of the summer months.
-Thank you for pointing out that they felt insufficient so we have a chance to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hansson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hansson

Address: Surbrunnsgatan 38, Stockholm 113 48, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Brunnen)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hansson 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hansson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansson Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hansson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.