We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again --far away --uncomfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
Metro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vretensborgsvagen 14 | Hagersten, Stockholm 126 30, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again --far away --uncomfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The neighborhood was not comfortable to move around in --very far off from the city centre --breakfast just about OK --rooms small for the doubles ---hotel in bad condition --repairing going on --lift looked century old ---reception not there --makeshift arrangement ---railway station to hotel walk being through two tunnels was scary although there were no untoward incidents ---however, given an opportunity I wouldn't ever stay here ---especially with family

Room Tip: Rooms are not good anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    11
    27
See reviews for
13
16
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

this is quite possibly the worst "hotel" i have ever stayed in! as someone who has back packed and travelled extensively through business and for pleasure this was a shock to me. basically on an industrial estate. no manned reception. dirty. tiny rooms, 3m x 2.5m including the bathroom. as other people have said, a long dark walk (10 mins) through 2 tunnels to the train station. possibly the rudest night staff ever, i asked for a glass and was told "it's not my problem", i asked for help ordering a taxi "don't you have a phone?"

Room Tip: do not come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Though we did see review,but I did not expect this from a hotel. bed(wonder should I call it that!!)were bad. passage leading to hotel were lonly , would feel bit scared if i were alone. only relife ,breakfast was good and was not very far from t bana.did not pay big money,so it is ok but i really expect this from a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I'm glad that I had read the reviews here or I would have been rather shocked!

I think this is a converted warehouse, given the large goods-style lift, and the communal kitchens on each floor, bare corridors and room did make it feel more like a hostel. I had no curtains in my room despite being on the 3rd floor level with the flyover and cars whizzing past all night. But the small bathroom was clean and had new sanitary ware and a good shower plus a hairdrier, and they laid on breakfast earlier than normal as there was a conference on. There was a pretty basic pizza place at which to eat dinner about 5 minutes walk away under the 2 tunnels.

But beware if you are there for a conference at the weekend because the direct bus (143) on the website does not run and it is necessary to take the 144 (direction Gullmarksplatz) from the conference centre to Parkudden and then the 165 (direction Liljeholmen) to Karusellplan. I learnt this the hard way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I can only second the other reviews of this being a hostel more than a hotel. It is located in an industrial area right next to the highway - hardly very charming. You can get into the city in ten minutes by Tunnelbana, but someone else mentioned in their review that you have to go by tunnel under the highway to the metro station - I ended up taking cabs home at night because it was too dodgy-looking.

I am glad I paid a tiny bit extra for a room with a window, because the rooms are very small (I got a glimpse into a double room with no windows and it looked more like a closet with beds jammed in...) I didn't find it dated nor dirty but the cleaning was random - sometimes you got one towel, sometimes two.

In the hotel brochure they claim to have internet in every room, but the connection is not very good (I went three days without being able to connect). The many satellite tv channels they boast in the hotel brochure in reality amounts to five working ones (the fancy part being BBC and Canal +). The laundry room at your disposal is also where the hotel washes towels, and despite having booked the laundry in advance I had to wait over an hour with wet clothes for the receptionist to finish drying towels (my two loads of laundry took 4 hours to do...!) I'm dead-curious to see what the advertised gym is like... The only thing that was better than expected was the breakfast that had a good amount of choices.

Summa summarum: it fills the requirement of shelter and sleep, but I would check (all) other hotels before staying at Västberga again...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel isn't in the city of Stockhol , is in a neiborhood at sixty kilometers of downtown and far from the metro, at an industrial area.The only good thing is the breakfast: smoller rooms without closet nor night table lamps, no computer for customer, no services as wake up, international phone, desk attendance, except one lady called Ida.
Hope to come back to this lovely city but NO to this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Västberga for four days.
The room is minimal but enough good even if not super-clean. The bathroom was little but functional with hair dryer but no shower cap.
Breakfast was definitely great!
A lot of good different things for a great breakfast, suitable for city-browsers like us.
The hotel is about five minute walking from the Midsommarkransen tube station, so it's not central but well connected. A bad thing is that you have to go by feet under two tunnels and it may be frightening especially in the evening or in the night; maybe I'll not suggest it for an alone female traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: Vretensborgsvagen 14 | Hagersten, Stockholm 126 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vastberga Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.