We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice new touch to Indian dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti, Touch of Bengal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanti, Touch of Bengal
Rorstrandsgatan, Stockholm 11340, Sweden
08333100
Improve this listing
Ranked #595 of 2,118 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice new touch to Indian dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We love Indian food and mostly dine at restaurants on Södermalm. This time we wanted to take our dining experience to a new level beyond the usual dishes. This restaurant is small and nicely decorated. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Dishes are served elegantly and the taste sensations of Bengal cuisine were a delight, putting a new twist to spice combinations.

The location is on a side street so use your smartphone to locate it, if you're unfamiliar with the neighborhood. We tried mixed pakora, mixed grill, chicken palak (traditional Indian) and Dhaka Shahi Biryani (a rather daunting hunk of lamb on the bone). There are fish and vegetarian dishes as well, plus beer and wine, lassis and other beverages. Nice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was there with a friend. We are both Bengali and kinda foodie. We had malai-chingri (prawn in spicy coconut milk) and Dhaka shahi biriyani. The food was wonderful. It truly reminded us of our homes. The service was super-friendly though maybe a bit slow. But the wait was worth every krona. The atmosphere was very relaxed, and full of Bengali motifs. I'll certainly go back, and take all the friends I can gather, when I find myself in Stockholm again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine as it should be! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice location, friendly staff and a nice atmosphere on Röstrandgatan welcome you to Shanti. The place is tiny and very very busy at the weekends so I hope they get more space! I tried the chilli chicken which was the most succulent chicken I have ever eaten. The food is served like it is in India (a lot of stuff on your plate, not just the one main dish), makes a change to other Indian restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good and relaxed eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The restaurant is busy so book in advance. A very relaxed ambience with lovely indian food at decent prices. I would definitely go back here again. Service was friendly and the whole atmospherein the restaurant is very positive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

very good food and even if they are running a bit behind sometimes they are aware of it and always offer something extra, we have been there 4 times and we love it, sometimes the noise can be pretty intense but a popular restaurant attract people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanti, Touch of Bengal also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Shanti, Touch of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti, Touch of Bengal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.