We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nordic Light Hotel to your Saves list
Nordic Light Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasaplan 7, Stockholm SE-101 37 , Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel with perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel Nordic Light offers a perfect location for air travellers, practically next door to Arlanda Express train stop and close enough to city center. Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast with several organic products. Unfortunately the standard of cleaning was very poor. Lots of dust in the room, and the chairs in breakfast room looked very soiled.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Glad to hear so many aspects of your visit pleased you!
I can add that since the date of your review we have actually new chairs in our dining room.
Please come and enjoy that breakfast again in a nicer newer chair!

Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    250
    91
    36
    11
See reviews for
26
205
45
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at Nordic Light Hotel from 8 to 11 of May 2013. It was an excellent choice, not just for the location (a few steps away to the airport-express station) but also for the service of this hotel. The reception staff is so very friendly and professional.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. There is even have a very good quality shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms.
The barkeeper makes some of the best cocktails.
Maybe the highlight is the breakfast buffet. I appreciated not only the almost endless choice available at the buffet but also the organic products which are served with generosity.
A special thanks to the check-in receptionist who was very kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Great to hear you appreciated the organic nature of our breakfast.
We work hard to reduce our impact on the environment and the high percentage of organic products we use in our kitchens are a key aspect of that!
It sure sounds like you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked a mood deluxe twin and were given room 502, a corner suite, but smaller than the room we had last time because the hotel is not square. There were two large comfy beds pushed together, a large sofa, desk, chair, fridge, kettle etc. A small bathroom had a large, deep bath with a shower over and there was a tiny separate shower, which we gave up on as it was barely big enough to stand in. The room needed a little TLC as there was slight damage to the bed surround, skirting board etc.
Like other reviewers, we also found that the air con couldn't cope (and it is on a timer!) and the street was too noisy, even from the 5th floor, to leave the windows open at night. The curtains let in a lot of light, so if you are travelling in the summer you may need shades. There is no turn down service, but two bottles of water were delivered to the room each night.
Internet connection is good when actually using it, but it drops out when the phone is not being used or when you leave the hotel, requiring re-registration, which gets a bit tiresome after a while: it seemed to work better next to the window than in the rest of the room!.
Breakfast is included and comprises a very well stocked and tasty buffet. Be warned though, the hotel's policy of "no meat Monday" means no bacon for breakfast that day!
We tried to get a drink in the bar one night and gave up after 20 minutes. We did have better luck another night, but were charged 160 kroner for a small Baileys and a beer!!
We used the gym which is fine: well equipped but too warm.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Jesper who arranged an extension
to our room on our last day, which made life much easier.
The location is the best thing about this hotel, as it is less than 100 metres from the Arlanda Express station, and a short walk to the shops and other attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Yes some of our rooms even in the same catagorie are not exactly identical, this can be a plus or a minus. I was glad to see you enjoyed the large comfy beds, large soffa etc. We take to heart your comments about TLC being needed and will work to improve this!

Last week we changed our network to a new better and simpler WiFi solution, we pay attention to our guests and try to adapt accordingly.
I live in Stockholm and I can tell you that sadly 160:- for a Beer and a Baileys is a totally average price.

The level of service on your first night however is not what we expect. I am not sure what happened without more detailed information but rest assured we pay attention to your comments!

We have 2 Jespers in our reception currently, both are splendid young men so we are not surprised to see that one of them made such an impression!

Please come and see us again soon and we will show you the improvements.
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hi again.

Me and my girlfriend spent one night at the Nordic Light Hotel as we were visiting
Stockholm. It is right next to the Central station which is naturally in the middle of
the city and a good starting point for any excursion.
We took the "Love package" which included sparkling wine, fresh fruits and delicious home made
chocolates, and a kit with luxury SPA products.

The room was a Superior double, with great space and an awesome view of the main street
outside through huge windows. That felt very luxurious, kind of like a very expensive apartment that you see in the movies, overlooking the city.
They had the lighting in the room set on "romance" which it really was. They were shifting in different forms and colors and helped to keep a very nice environment for the evening. Hrrm..
The bathtub was big and comfortable, however, when we arrived it was not completely clean which is never fun to discover. I phoned the reception and they immediately sent a cleaning lady which was very polite and she apologized on behalf of the hotel and cleaned our bathtub quickly and with a smile on her face. Professionalism and service is great here!

It is a very nice hotel worthy of 4 stars in our opinion.
There is something missing though too make it 5 stars although that wouldn't be completely wrong. We just feel that it needs to be a bit more "extravagant" to receive such ratings.

All in all it is super nice and I warmly recommend the "Love Package"

Enjoy your stay in the hotel, and wonderful Stockholm!

Room Tip: "Superior room" was very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

The special moments we get to spend with our loved ones live in our memories so we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
Less thrilled of course to hear that the tub was not cleaned to our high standards, although I have said it before and will say it again…We do not claim to be perfect however we hope that if something does go in any way wrong our guests will be impressed by how we resolve it. Seems we hit the mark on that one so for that we are happy!
I guess we will see you again soon? Perhaps you next time she will be your fiancé or wife? Or why not propose here? Let us know if we can help in some special way.

Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights having spent the previous week in Copenhagen, Gothenburg and Oslo, and this was the best hotel that we had stayed in.

Our train arrived in Stockholm at 1pm, and since the hotel is two minutes walk from the station we asked to leave our luggage, but a room was available immediately. Having experienced street noise at previous hotels we asked for a higher room, and were given one on the top (7th) floor. The receptionist was really helpful, with good advice for transport, dining and sightseeing, as well as information for the hotel.

Our standard room was modern and spacious, overlooking an adjoining office block so little noise from outside. Room is soundproofed, and we did not hear any noise from the corridor or adjoining rooms throughout the stay. We had a comfortable lounge chair and table, desk, TV, fridge bar, kettle and teas/coffees, wardrobe with shelf and eight hangers and a combination safe. The only criticism is that the safe is at floor level below the fridge, and you really have to kneel down to access it. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel with excellent reception and speed.

The bathroom was modern and clean, well lit with organic shampoos and hand wash. The shower is good, and unfortunately it was only on the last day that I discovered a button on top of the shower head which turns it into a water jet - perfect for massaging feet and aching muscles after walking round town.

The reception area has a number of comfortable lounge chairs, and the adjoining restaurant serves an excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of hot and cold food, and plenty of staff to keep things moving. We did not use the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment on that menu.

The hotel is located just a five minute walk from the waterside, and just ten minutes from the old town. There is access to the T-Central tube station immediately across the road from the hotel, and the Airport Express is just a few yards away. One tip we would give to any visitor is to consider purchasing a Stockholm Card at the beginning of your stay so that all your travel is free, together with free entry to a wide variety of attractions. We purchased a 48 hour card for 650 SEK and when we added up what it would have cost to pay for each item it came to almost twice that amount.

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us, and we would definitely stay here again if returning to Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Wow, you really like us! We like you to!

Great to hear your through review and we are glad that on so many levels we satisfied you.
Next time you will be sure to give those massage shower heads more work to do I am sure.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon hopefully.

Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A friend from Oslo had recommended this hotel to me after having a great stay there herself. I actually got the room through accrued frequent flyer reward points, so had to pay no cash out of pocket. That considered, I wasn't sure what sort if room I'd end up getting...since I did not reserve and pay through the hotel's site.

Well, from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, it was nothing but excellent. I had a large, beautifully decorated room, the staff were exceptionally warm and friendly, and both the breakfast and bar services were great. The hotel also features a state of the art gym with all the amenities for working off all those great breakfasts!

Several local friends visited me at the hotel, and remarked that it was a "best kept secret". Being locals, they never had occasion to stay there, but really enjoyed the hotel, and said they would recommend it to visitors. Well done, Nordic
Light!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
What a cool review!
Thanks for trying to change the fact that we are one of Stockholms "best kept secrets"
It makes us proud to read such reviews especially related to our staff who are our heart.
Please come and see us again soon. We offer our best rates on our own website in case you have to next time pay yourself
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AU
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Quite a pleasant hotel, reasonable breakfast, excellent proximity to transport. Housekeeping could be a bit more attentive, especially with towel provision, but overall not much to complain about really, except their outrageous laundry prices. Stockholm itself is incredibly poor value for any tourist so only stay here if you get a good price- once you step out the door prepare to pay through the nose for everything.

Room Tip: The mood rooms are quite comfortable. Hotel very well soundproofed so no concerns about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Yes Stockholm is not for the faint hearted when it comes to budget! Luckily we off many different deals on our room prices especially if you book and pay in advance via our own website (shhh don’t tell anyone!)

We do not have a laundry ourselves and therefore we cooperate with a local dry-cleaning firm for guests laundry thus not exactly a budget friendly option. We can give directions to coin operated laundries in the city if that is an option anyone prefers.

A part of our environmental awareness policies (for which our chain is well known) is that we have signs in our bathrooms to leave the towels on the floor if you want fresh ones, or if they are hung on the towel rail we will not change them. Perhaps you missed this or perhaps we did not replace towels left on the floor? If the fault was with us we apologize!
We hope you get the chance to visit Stockholm again soon.

Regards
Paul McDonald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: Vasaplan 7, Stockholm SE-101 37 , Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Light Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.