We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful - had a reservation, but never got to stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nordic Light Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasaplan 7, Stockholm SE-101 37 , Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dreadful - had a reservation, but never got to stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived the afternoon of Saturday 22 March 2013 to check in at about 17.00 (check in started at 14.00). Reception was in absolute chaos. Waited about half an hour, maybe more, before we finally got seen only to be told (after having supplied details, passports, etc.) that the hotel was overbooked and could we wait to see if they could sort a room out for us, but there was no guatantee this would be done. We said no, we needed the room we had booked now (we had a dinner reservation we had to get ready for). The story then changed, and we were told that there was a room but we had to wait for it to be cleaned, but they could not give us a time. They did suggest that perhaps we would like to take our bags up to an uncleaned room - which we declined as the thought of doing this was disgusting. We asked for the manager, and got the reception duty manager instead who could not help. We expressed how appalling this service was and said that it was the complete opposite to the service we had received at the Nordic Sea Hotel (just across the road) previously. We asked the duty manager to see if there was a room available at the Nordic Sea, which she did and we asked her to book us in there instead. She then informed us that we would now be getting a better rate which was unnecessary as we already knew what the rates were and had deliberately wanted to try both hotels for the experience. The duty manager then told us that all we had to do was present ourselves at the Nordic Sea reception and, as she had already checked us in there, all we had to do was pick up our keys. We went over to the Nordic Sea and they knew nothing about this, so we had to wait further while the hotels rang each other. It was finally sorted out and we got our room at the Nordic Sea - but because it was a last minute thing there were details missing in the room that we had had previously, but it was not worth making a fuss about for one night. We were looking forward to staying at the Nordic Light, but based on this experience, would never ever consider staying there, and other travellers should take this experience into consideration too.

Room Tip: Can't comment on this as we never actually got a room, despite our reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Jacky,
My sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit! We do guarantee our guests check-in from a certain time so I will most definately look into what could have happened in your case.
Regardless of what could have gone wrong, I do hope you will give us a chance to show the service and product that we are otherwise known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    233
    81
    33
    11
See reviews for
19
187
43
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks while on a business trip and I can say that in general things went very well. As far as location goes, it's pretty unbeatable, straight out of the T-Centralen station, easy to get around, from/to airport etc
Had a couple of issues with changing rooms and fidelity card but staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very clean but a little small, for me this wasn't much of an issue, but might be important for some. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of light in the room, I visited Sweden in December and even with all lights on in the room it just wasn't bright enough.
Breakfast is quite good too. The people staying there seemed to be younger than most at the Nordic See across the street

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jerome,

Glad to read your comments! With the hotel being literally next door to the express train from Arlanda Airport and 2 minutes away from a lot of the shopping, location is one of our many advantages! Thank you for your feedback regarding the light. Depending on room, we have a variety of light features however will take an extra look at the general lighting and see what can be improved, especially during winter! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I just stayed for a night during the weekend. It is just next to the railway station. The room I stayed in was just what you expect for a business hotel. Nothing impressive, but having the most needful like iron, hairdryer and a bathrobe. The bed was really good as expected since they promote it with beds from Hästens. I was at the 6.th floor so it was really quiet as well. Nice lobby area where you also eat breakfast. The breakfast contains all you can think of and is nice presented. 1 night stay is kind of not enough to give a 100% credible review. But I was really satisfied, borth with the location, staff and atmosphere. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! Happy to see you enjoyed the stay even though short. Next time, stay over the weekend and try out our Brunch. If you enjoyed the breakfast, brunch will definately be a hit! Don't miss our new gym either if you fancy some exercise. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in Nordic Light Hotel for 2 nights in mid February 2013. The hotel is directly opposite Arlanda Express train entrance. This is train from Airport to central stockholm so is in a handy location. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 7th Floor which has black walls. This was a nice change to standard hotels and decor was excellent. The room was spacious and en suite had everything we needed, shower excellent.
The bed was very comfortable and spacious. One drawback is that there is not much room in the wardrobe - 4 hangers where robes are hanging. The room had an iron and fold out board which was good and enough TV channels to browse while chilling out in room. Note that to go upwards in lift and to enter hotel at night time, your key card needs to be swiped. We had a couple of issues with cards not working however the staff were very helpful in resolving.There are plenty of Bars, Restaurants and convenience stores near the hotel to suit all needs.I would recommend icebar accross the road from hotel for a visit. The hotel also has musicians playing in lobby at certain times of day which is very pleasant. All in all, the hotel is central, staff friendly and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Visit Ice bar accross from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good location and the room was clean and comfortable. It's a bit worn down but ok I experter it to be newer. Breakfast had lot's of fresh fruit and à godo selektion. Didn't like the scrambled eggs much. Price is ok. Floor 7 had black interior so It was an unusual atmosfear.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Hotel is right on the doorstep of the Arlanda Express so great for staying in the city but easy access to the airport if you are leaving early in the morning.

I was given a good sized double although there was a bit of a mix up at checkin.

I liked this hotel and will return next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just got moved from the next door hotel to a fancy "suite" at the Nordic Light Hotel.
I guess this used to be a hip and cool hotel and it actually had a decent DJ and club atmosphere late in the evening. But it looks worn and a bit shabby. The service is only average and the rooms looked a bit like something else than a hotel with red lights and worn custom made furniture.
The location, next to Arlanda Express is great so if your're in Stockholm to party it might be just fine, but for business, families and people seeking a good nights sleep I'm not convinced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: Vasaplan 7, Stockholm SE-101 37 , Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Light Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.