We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The interactive museum with the most fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ABBA The Museum

ABBA The Museum
Djurgardsvagen 68, Stockholm, Sweden (Formerly The ABBA museum)
+46 8 12 13 28 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 150 attractions in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The interactive museum with the most fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited on a Friday morning - the museum wasn't too busy. The interactive elements make the trip and you have to try out the vocal booth by the set up of the polar studio and get up on the stage as the 5th member. All can be saved with a bar code on your ticket. Lots of fun. We took a good couple of hours to get round and had lunch in the Melody Hotel next door. There's no cash taken in the museum, even the gift shop is card only. Well worth a visit if you are even a little bit of an Abba fan as it charts the group from before they came together to the end and beyond...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    202
    85
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Left us singing and dancing all the way home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The good:
- Layout: starting with "the early years" was a good introduction to each of the individuals in the group.
- Totally enjoyed seeing how the sound and style evolved. The mix of voices, instruments, etc to come up with that unique and infectious blend was GREAT. The use of costumes and "bling" to develop that special Abba brand: interesting how intentional it was..
- The explosion into superstars was fun but seeing the balance they tried to maintain was also good. (though could have provided more about the strain on the personal side).
- Excellent use of multi-media and many interactive exhibits: some more effective than others but all fun.
- "Abba: The Movie" from 1977: demonstrating real thought leadership in a pre-MTV video era was really cool!
- Enjoyed the audio-guide which provided added information throughout: worth the extra 40 SEK.
- The room with the assorted costumes was fun, especially at the end of the exhibits since I could recognize and put in context so many of the outfits. Interesting the guy's outfits were as outrageous and fun as the women's!
- The "extra" Swedish music museum section after the formal Abba exhibits was a real treat. Good job!

Areas for improvement:
- The beginning of the museum focused a lot on the individuals: history, family, personal challenges, etc. Meeting, falling in love, marriage, baby -- cool. Forming into a real band -- working together, how they collaborated, etc -- great. Then the personal stuff is GONE. What happened to these folks as people?
- The end of the Abba museum was a bit of a muddle. No real explanation about how and why the band broke up. Quite a bit in the beginning about the two couples falling in love, etc... then no recognition when the relationships fell apart and the effect on the group.
- The music was GREAT, but tended to focus on a few of the more well know hits (Dancing Queen, Waterloo, Mama Mia). Abba did LOTS of good music. Would have been good to introduce more as part of the exhibit... maybe showing the growth through the years (Early "pop rock" Ring Ring, Waterloo to the darker. more ballad pieces in the late 70s). The songs tell part of the band's story. That is lost here.

As others have mentioned, the 195 SEK entry fee is certainly steep. The website to order tixs was a real frustration not accepting a perfectly valid phone number -- we ended up getting tixs at the tourist info center (with an extra charge). When we mentioned our website frustration to the folks at the museum, they comped us the audio-guides. (Very kind!)

All in all, much better than we expected. We spent a solid 5 hours reading everything, listening to all the "extras," trying almost all the interactive options, watching the movie, and exploring the "extra" museum. A great day -- very high energy and I'm now much more informed about Abba . Makes me want to watch Mama Mia again... :-)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I wasn't too enthusiastic at the idea, but me and my friends ended up having a great time with the audio and video recordings you can actually keep as a souvenir!
Other than that, I would only recommend it if you are an absolute fan of ABBA.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would be better if you knew a lot about ABBA going in.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What's more Swedish than ABBA? Just the meatballs and Ikea I think. Anyway it was really well presented and at first the gift shop looked like somewhere I would spend lots of money but on closer examination it was all just not quite right. $12 CDN for a key chain etc. the museum itself is fairly nice with some interactive portions that are fun but overall I found the layout lacking in flow. Many bottlenecks and we ended up wandering out of he Abba portion only to find ourselves in the Swedish portion (we did not know ANYONE in this section) and wandered around again and ended up watching an Abba movie that we didn't even know was playing. The authentic costumes are great and the copies are useless. I am still not sure I am glad we went other to say we did it. Not knowing a ton about Benny and his crew going in it was a little difficult to be excited about tidbits of knowledge. Not like when we saw Archie Bunkers chair in the Smithsonian - now that was something!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The museum gives a nice insight into the lives of the ABBA members, their road to fame, many artefacts (like costumes and gold records). Also there are interactive things to do. There's an exhibition about music history, which was interesting.
Downsides:
Price of museum too high for what you get (22 euro pp), and place was small and crowded.

We really wanted to see it, and we guess more people feel this way. That's why they can ask such a high entrance fee...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed ABBA The Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 

Been to ABBA The Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABBA The Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ABBA The Museum to your Saves list