We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise for American food in Sweden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Steakhouse

American Steakhouse
Drottninggatan 79, Stockholm, Sweden
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
American Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #372 of 2,173 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise for American food in Sweden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Being Canadian and only being in Stockholm for a few days, my intention was certainly not to seek out an American restaurant. I usually prefer eating local fare, rather than what I can get at home.

However, this restaurant was close to my hotel and it was late, and I didn't want to walk too far. So my teenage daughter and I tried this out. We were pleasantly surprised.

The main item on the menu is burgers but we didn't try that. I had the chicken fajitas which, I must say, were extremely tasty and actually better than you sometimes get in the chain restaurants in Canada. My daughter had the salmon and it was quite good as well.

Funny with the country music playing in the background, but overall, good food and relatively inexpensive for Stockholm. Two meals plus one glass of wine cost 400 SEK which is approximately 70 CAD.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“fby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived at 2:30 pm and it seemed to be one of the only places that serves food after 2 o'clock. Very friendly and swift service. Excellent burger (especially the blue cheese!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arrived into American Steakhouse on a busy Thursday lunchtime (my first day in Stockholm) and the place was crazy busy ... Actually queued to get in the door ... the atmosphere was friendly, really busy but efficient ... We ordered two burgers which came with chips, coleslaw and gerkin. Large portions, swift service, a nice glass of south African red wine (and cheaper than many other restaurants in Stockholm) ... All in all, a very nice lunch and good value

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outback Light”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a pleasant but unmemorable evening here. Service was good, food was good to mediocre but a nice variety of choices. Not a true American "steakhouse" experience where the focus is on the quality of the meat and its preparation. This is more an Outback-like Swedish imitation of a steakhouse. That said, wasn't bad and the atmosphere is sort of fun. Probably a good place to go out with friends and drink and eat on an informal night out. Strategically located at the end of Drottninggatan shopping street, so a good place to land after a day's shopping, but Esperanza a few doors down is a classier (and pricer) choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Watch price creep - 10% between June and August 2013!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

During last Autumn/Winter/Spring, I usually took lunch here at least once/week and due to holidays, I hadn't been here since June, so today I dropped in for one of their many varieties of burger.

Hold on...the 89 SEK lunch burger/fries is now 94 SEK, an increase of 6%. There's no apparent pro-rata increase in the size of the helping either.
Then, the after lunch coffee which used to be 10 SEK is now 15 SEK, an increase of 50%, still served in the same sized cups as before.
Overall, the "old" 99 SEK lunch is now 109 SEK, an increase of about 10% with nothing extra to show for it except a lighter pocket!

Strange....I hadn't noticed the same increase in retail food prices. Maybe the frequency of my visits here needs to be amended for the coming Autumn & Winter?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Steakhouse also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to American Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.