We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Elk

The Flying Elk
Malartorget 15, Stockholm, Sweden
08 20 85 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #364 of 2,125 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Swedish, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent place for really good food and craft beer!
Can definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone who is interested in beer. Or food. Or beer and food together.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    38
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great and orginal food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a great meal here. after the starter and main course we were so excited that we took snacks before we finaly finished with a perfect desert. Special and cool place. On a wednesday evneing the restaurant was fully booked and we had to eat in the pub at a long table with 15 other strangers. NIce athmosphere and dutch speaking waiter with really good recommendations.
Strongly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Huge beer selection, very tasty food...but small dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Read good reviews about this place, being owned by the same people owning the most exclusive restaurant in Stockholm (Frantzen). Went here with a colleague, and had pig cheeks with potato mash. Fantastic taste, and very delicately made.

The whole restaurant is great, one section with slightly more fine dining (individual tables) and a pub area.

But as a main course it was not enough, especially not for SEK 245 which was the price. Served with a tasty pale ale. So, delicious meal but not enough with a main course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lot of money for a hot dog...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you don't mind paying 185SEK for a hot dog with some cheese and bone marrow on it then this place is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the ambience is very nice, so it is a shame everything is so extortionate (even for Stockholm).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service is just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I went to The Flying Elk looking to have the best hamburguer in Stockholm. They only have the hamburguer on the menu on Sundays. The burger was exactly what I was expecting, It was perfectly cooked eventhou they do not ask you what temperature you prefer. The restaurant is located in a very nice area in town and there are a lot of other interesting things to see near by. Unfortunately the service was not the best. Server took a long time to realized we had been seated. Then they took too long to take the order. But food came out quick
I will highly recommend the place and I would like to come back to try other items in the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Elk also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Flying Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Elk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.