We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pop House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pop House Hotel to your Saves list
Pop House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Djurgardsvagen 68, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden (Formerly Melody Hotel) (Östermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was a bit nervous about this hotel, with its Abba Museum downstairs, but my husband and I were VERY pleasantly surprised! It is on one of the islands, Djurgarden, which is a few minutes (literally, like 5) ferry ride from the old town. You get off and there is an amusement park to greet you, but keep walking up the street and when you get to the end, turn left and there is the Melody with its very pleasant, great people-watching, restaurant. When you enter, the receptionist will greet you and make you immediately feel welcome and comfortable. We were early, so they kept our bags for us, sold us the bike passes we requested and told us how the bike share program worked. We took off and rode through the HUGE park just across the street. Later we toured the culture museum just down the street (don't miss it; it is in a castle and gives a great review of Swedish culture...and it's free and you can get an audio guide, also free!). Riding to the old town or just about anywhere else on our exchange bikes was VERY easy and let us tour the tourist spots, but also allowed us to get further away from that. Everyone at the hotel was incredibly nice, the breakfast buffet (included!) was unbelievable with about every option you could think of. Our room was very contemporary and though on a low floor, very quiet...didn't hear any of the traffic or pedestrian traffic. We would return in a heartbeat...and will save up so we can...real soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Dear Reno! thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
45
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very pleasant stay in the charming city. Hotel is quiet, close to the museum group ABBA. The location is good for visiting the nearby museums. A few minutes away is the an entertainment park with many attractions. The tram stop is right outside the hotel, ship station about 2 minutes from the hotel. Better to take a boat, a trip to the historic city center takes about 10 minutes and the ship sails through the day every 10 minutes.
Rooms are equipped with design, bathroom has quality cosmetics, bed a little soft, but sleeping is good here.
Breakfast is perfect, yogurt over fresh fruit to eggs or marinated fish and cakes. Everything is enough. The staff is friendly and helpful.
One way taxi from the airport costs 470 SEK if you go with Taxi courier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Dear Janis! thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here in June and we enjoyed every second of our stay. The staff are both extremely helpful and beautiful! They went out of there way numerous times and always with a smile on their face. The rooms are modern, eco friendly and cozy.

Do not miss the breakfast in the morning...absolutely delicious and had a nice variety of items from cereal, pancakes, cold cuts, delicious bread and juice that tasted like it was squeezed that morning.

The location for some might not be the best if you want to be right in the middle of everything but for us, it was perfect. Djurgarden is a beautiful island to explore via bike that we probably wouldn't have had we stayed in the city center. It's close to museums and Skansen; the only bad thing was that there are not many restaurants on this island and they close pretty early. So just make sure you either eat before 9 or plan to go closer to the city for late night food.

Also the trams run pretty late and every 5-10 minutes so we never had trouble getting where we needed to go quickly.

Can't say enough about how awesome our stay was here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: if you're coming during the summer and not used to the long summer days, ask for a room that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Google Translation
Stort tack för ditt fina omdöme!


Varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to major museums (Vasa, Skansen, ABBA), in a beautiful part of Stockholm. The hotel is right on a tram line, so easy to get to via public transportation. The gardens nearby are beautiful. Make sure to rent a bike a take a ride. Roads/paths are all very bike friendly. The rooms are spacious, modern, and very nice. Hotel staff is very helpful and accommodating, Breakfast is included and has the standard Swedish continental food (bread, cheese, yogurt, muesli, etc). The restaurant is pretty good, but average compared to others in the area. While connected to the museum, rooms are very quiet, and the surrounding around becomes very quiet when all the tourists disappear. No business center. Tiny little gym-go for walk/run in the nearby park. No in room coffee maker.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Google Translation
Stort tack för ditt fina omdöme!

Varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, comfortable bed, crisp and snowy bedlinen, excellent bathroom, huge window to the small balcony. Friendly staff. Leafy location. A low-rise modern building, it adjoins the Abba museum, hence, I suppose, it's name.
It is near the Tivoli gardens and Skansen miniature village.
To get there from Central station, walk eastward to Sergels Torg to the no 7 tram, which terminates there. Alight at Liljevalchs, a free art gallery by the way, and you'll see it in front of you. Round the corner, past Tivoli, is a frequent ferry to Gamla Stan (the old town) and Skepps Holmen, for the modern art museum. And the ferry is a most enjoyable way to travel.
Finally, I would like to thank Melody's staff for being so pleasant and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you soon back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a great stay in this hotel. The rooms are very nice, practicle and modern, the breakfast is sooooo gooood as well as the restaurant. The team very friendly. I love the Abba Museum in the hotel, so funny!!! This is the perfect boutique hotel in the heart of Stockholm

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and calling us the best boutique hotel:)

We hope to see you soon back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pop House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop House Hotel

Address: Djurgardsvagen 68, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden (Formerly Melody Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Östermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pop House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BW Premier Collection Pop House Hotel, open since May 2013! The hotel is located in the same building as ABBA -The Museum and the Swedish Music Hall of Fame on Djurgarden, Stockholm's centrally located recreational island. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, flat-screen television and a laptop safe as well as free Wi-Fi access. Staying guests have free access to the hotels gym and the restaurant onsite offers an international cuisine and American wines. Central Stockholm is a five minute tram ride away and the tram-stop is just outside the hotel. Ferry boats with service to Old Town and central Stockholm departs a few minutes' walk from the hotel. At Djurgarden, guests will also find that Skansen Open-Air Museum, the Vasa Museum and the Nordic Museum are all available in just a five minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pop House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pop House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.