We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polpette

Polpette
Drottninggatan 6, Stockholm, Sweden
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #379 of 1,967 restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We ate there for dinner on 23rd of december, the people were very nice and the food was good (we had pasta with mushrooms and cod with lobster sauce). The price is ok for Stockholm.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    17
    45
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine, but not stellar and not 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant, but you can't miss it really as it's on the way to Gamla Stan. We were enticed by the combination of swedish food and italian food. Plus, it was cold. Hospitality and service were A+. We had no reservation and had to wait 10 minutes by the bar for a table to be available. We could not be happier. Atmosphere was nice. Seating was good. We ordered swedish meatballs and a pizza with chicken and sundried tomatoes. I had wine, quite good. He had a beer - Irish I think. The meatballs were fine, but we've had better. The pizza was a bit salty. All and all - we enjoyed the meal, but felt we could do better in Stockholm and later we did. It was expensive about $20 for a 10 inch pizza (thin crust). The wine was $12 per glass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This restaurant offers one of the rare food deals Rick Steve's talks about in his guide book, 3 courses for a reasonable price. The food was excellent, I had the daily special pork schnitzel and my son had the pasta and my husband the fish. Everything was excellent. We helped ourselves to salad from the salad bar, and finished with dessert and for the first time in 2 weeks we had an excellent meal that didn't empty our wallet. The staff were friendly and the service was prompt. It is on the main pedestrian street Drottningatan, about 7 mins walk from the Palace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food and service are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A quick visit to Stockholm and I stopped at Polpette for dinner on my own. The restaurant looked popular and the menu looked decent so I tried it. I had bruschetta and a rib fillet. The food was excellent. You an see when the kitchen is putting in that little bit more of an effort into the way they prepare and plate their food. It is also reasonably priced by Stockholm standards and the service is terrific.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High spirit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were 2 couples on vacation visiting Stockholm this month, and when looking for some affordable place to eat, we found POLPETTE.It is just at the main pedestrian street where the moviment during summer was fast and furious. The staff was super and the food and prices were 100% well-matched. Good food, friendly waiters and good prices for Sweden!
Next visit to the city, sure we go again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polpette also viewed

Stockholm, Sweden
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Stockholm, Sweden
 

Been to Polpette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polpette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.