We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tannhäuser - we had a great night out ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House (Operan)

Opera House (Operan)
Jakobs Torg 2, Stockholm 103 22 , Sweden
08-24 82 40
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Stockholm Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 144 Attractions in Stockholm
Type: Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Out Islands
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Tannhäuser - we had a great night out ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Opera House is small compared to the Houses in other places in the world.
Nevertheless, it has a decent orchestra and got a great Group of singers together.
We enjoyed the dark part of Tannhäuser, and the set reflected a bit of Nordic Design, too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully formed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We attended a concert and recital of Mahler's Das Lied von der Erde. The performance was excellent the Opera House is small when compared to La Scala or Covent Garden but extravagantly decorated. The chandelier was stunning and ceiling illustrations unusual. The entrance hall and rooms above are worth a visit as is the downstairs cafe/ piano bar

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fantastic night out with my wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife surprised me with a night at the Opera.
We started with an extremely good dinner in "Bakfickan" on the back side of the Opera building. It is a small restaurant that accepts no bookings and you might have to wait awhile but the fish casserole I had was amazing. It is small and cosy and perfect for a date. The Opera building itself is beautiful and old with plenty of history to it.
In the pause my wife had booked us a table in Guldfoajen where a bottle of Champagne and strawberries were awaiting us. This was a truly wonderful surprise to a wonderful evening. You can book this on their homepage. Needless to say, I am a very fortunate man.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nice bouilding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I love opera but swedish scene is really unpredictable so you can see the best and the worst on the same stage. however the orchestra is really good and can rescue bad vocal and play.
the building is really nice its self and the view from the terrace is great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Amazing building worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We went and saw the nutcracker. The ballet was ok although other people loved. The building architecture definately pay off the visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera House (Operan) also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Opera House (Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House (Operan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.