We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House (Operan)

Opera House (Operan)
Jakobs Torg 2, Stockholm 103 22 , Sweden
08-24 82 40
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Stockholm Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 144 Attractions in Stockholm
Type: Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A stunningly beautiful building, inside and outside. The ornate decoration was a joy to behold. Was allowed to look inside without actually having to see an opera.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love the royal opera house in Stockholm. It takes you back in time & gives you a bit of luxury. I visit the opera abot 4 times a year. I love the atmosphere & it's nice to dress up for the occation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Opera tour - interesting view behind the scenes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The tour can be booked via the box office (we did so only an hour before the tour started, but in busier times it might be better to buy the tickets a day in advance). I can't recall what it cost, but it wasn't much I think. It lasts about an hour and shows you the extra ball rooms, the royal back entrance, the area behind the stage and the balcony area. While we were there a play was rehearsed, so we could not go on stage. But this didn't matter as the tour guide (who spoke an excellent English!) was very entertaining and knowledgeable and told us a lot about the history and organizational issues of running an opera. Personally, I found the information about costume and wig makers, and the people needed to create the stage design, the most interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We saw Tosca- i loved the building and the atmosphere- Scarpia by Johan Edholm- one of the best I have ever heard- love to come back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great opera house, fine production”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We saw Die Fledermaus and had a great time. The singing, staging and orchestra were outstanding. The pit is almost entirely exposed, which I loved, since I could watch the musicians as well as the stage. It is a small house, with but 13 rows in the stalls. We sat stage left, first row, in the 2nd of the 3 tiers, for a price that would barely get you into Fenway Park. This was a bit of an issue, since one had to bend forward to see most of the stage, and that can affect the viewing of others nearby. So finding seats more toward the center would be a good idea.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera House (Operan) also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Opera House (Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House (Operan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.