We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably pleasant hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of August Strindberg Hotell

August Strindberg Hotell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added August Strindberg Hotell to your Saves list
August Strindberg Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tegnergatan 38, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“A reasonably pleasant hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions during August - for the first stay our room was in the 'original' part of the hotel across the courtyard; for the second on the ground floor in the 'new' part facing onto the street (literally: we were somewhat nonplussed by the floor to ceiling window facing directly onto the street until we discovered people couldn't actually see inside the room because of the mirrored reflective glass!)

As previous reviewers have said, the courtyard is very pleasant for breakfast (if the weather is warm!), though we found the nicely presumably intended to lighten it up a bit - seemed rather odd at breakfast! Breakfast was nothing special compared with some other places we stayed at in Sweden.

Both rooms were small and pleasant enough, though they lacked any 'extra' touches (eg, compared with the Vanilj in Gothenberg: see reviews). The frig was unplugged so I plugged it in because I had some cheese et al that needed keeping cold. The next morning the food was quite 'hot' rather than cold and the frig was expelling warm air. When I told the person at reception, he merely said that some of the friges weren't working so they had unplugged them - but there was no warning! Ditto for the bathroom door that squeaked loudly whenever one opened it - not very popular with one's partner if one goes to the loo in the middle of the night!

The location is OK - just across a little park from the top (restaurant) end of the main pedestrianised street - and the buses are nearby to take you to most of the more 'down-town' locations. But I think I'll look for a more 'central' hotel next time I go to Stockholm.

  • Liked — pleasant quite courtyard for breakfast (in good weather!)
  • Disliked — Location, problems mentioned in review
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
14
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

The hotel was ok, but nothing special. The best of it was the breakfast, which was really nice with many different types of bread, muesli, fruit etc.

It is not very central, but you can walk to the central station in about 6-7 minutes.

Our room was average and a bit small (R. 106). The bathroom was flooded after taking a shower, but the water pressure was ok.

Positive was that you could have access to the breakfast room 24 hours with free water and coffee/tea.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the entrance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

We visited Stockholm in summer 2006 for 2 days as part of a trip to Scandinavia and this hotel offered an excellent, central location from which to see the city. The hotel is built around a courtyard on a quiet street only a few minutes walk from the train station. The food was nice and the the staff friendly. My only issue was that our room was upstairs and there was no lift or anyone to help us with our bags so we had to carry big bags up two flights of stairs. However the location is excellent and the hotel itself is a nice family-run hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

Visited Stockholm last year in December for a few days, after Christmas. Snow, few degrees below freezing, after a days shopping and walking all about town, it was wonderful to come back to a nice fire crackling in the fireplace in the breakfast room which was also available as alounge in the evenings with free tea/coffee.
1) The room and the beds were excellent as was the bathroom. Old building, no elevator. The view from the window to the inner courtyard was wonderful, with a lone rose still in bloom nearly covered by white snow.
2) Wonderful Scandinavian breakfast buffet in the morning with fresh squeezed orange juice.
3) The staff went way beyond duty in making suggestions and reservations to excellent restaurants for our evening meals.
Absolutely wonderful place to stay!

  • Liked — Everything! And all of it only 10 min walk from the Central Station.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

We booked this hotel based on the reviews here together with the write ups in Holiday Which, Time Out and Lonely Planet. We booked through the hotel's web site and the queries I had were quickly and efficiently answered.
The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the Arlanda Express terminal and is situated on a quiet street close to a park. Shops, restaurants and bars are all close by with the acclaimed Rolfs Kok restaurant only a couple of minutes walk away. Closer still is the No 47 bus stop which takes you directly to both Skansen and the Vasa Museum.
The rooms are spread over 3 floors around an inner courtyard but disabled guests should be aware that there is no lift. They are of a reasonable size with good en suite bathrooms but with no tea/coffee making facilities. These however are available in the breakfast room where guests can also help themselves to biscuits etc. On our visit (late September 2006) however the gas hob broke down so there were no boiled eggs at breakfast and if the hotel is full, space is a bit limited in the breakfast room. Guests should also be aware that reception closes at 2100 so if anyone is worried about staying in an unmanned hotel they might want to think again.

  • Liked — Location, quiet and friendly
  • Disliked — Disabled access
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

I was very happy here. It is walking distance (for a middle-aged woman with a suitcase and a computer)from the train station, and walking distance into the old town. The breakfast room is especially charming, with candles on the tables, and lovely fresh fruit for breakfast, and squeeze-your-own orange juice. I stayed in the back building of the hotel, where it was nicely old fashioned. I appreciated the internet access. The bed was comfy. The only very slightly strange thing was the way the water from the shower flooded the tiled floor of the bathroom... I'd be pleased to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2005

This boutique hotel is located in a quiet, but close-in section of the city - walk to all sights. Managers accommodated to every request from free internet use to a courtyard room with large bath to special attention for our bicycles to recommendations for fine, reasonably priced restaurants and sights to see. 24-hour coffee/cappucino and snacks and a fine free breakfast also mark this hotel as a special find.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to August Strindberg Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Strindberg Hotell

Address: Tegnergatan 38, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — August Strindberg Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the calm and beautiful Tegnérlunden Park in central Stockholm is the August Strindberg Hotell, with a continental atmosphere and a charming breakfast hall offering lovely garden views. All en-suite rooms provide free wireless internet, phones and TVs and most of them face the garden.The dining hall boasts an open fire, which creates a cosy atmosphere on cool winter mornings. In summer guests can enjoy breakfast outside in the flowering garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your August Strindberg Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
August Strindberg Hotell Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August Strindberg Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.