We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to find fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rival to your Saves list
Hotel Rival
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 11891, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very hard to find fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

From the initial reservation to pre-arrival information they couldn't have been better.

The hotel is exactly as described. We were due to arrive late, so they helpfully emailed us the room service menu so we could check out what would be available. On arrival, we were checked in almost instantly and the super-efficient lift whisked us to our room in seconds.

The room was spacious, very clean, had a view over Mariatorget (a delightful square with fountain) outside. There were too many different lights to count, adequate storage and blackout blinds in case the sun rose too early.

We unpacked and ordered room service which arrived on time, hot and with proper glassware, china and cutlery.

The bathroom was one of the best we've seen outside Asia and equipped with first rate toiletries and a shower that I'm sure could never be bettered.

breakfast was a delight - you could stock up for a whole day here and not need to eat until mid evening. Cold meats and cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, various breads, juices, and others too numerous to mention. You could eat where you wanted - inside or out, there were options for omelettes (they even rustled up a ham and mushroom omelette with red chilli peppers, a challenge for any hotel this side of Bangkok), beans, sausages, pancakes - in fact you name it you could have it, all at no extra charge. Cofffee? Yes - filtered, latte, espresso, double espresso, cappuccino - oh and any type of tea too.

The bar are was trendy without being naff or too loud. Service impeccable and of course, everything spotless.

Several people on here have mentioned noise. Now I'm a very light sleeper and was not troubled by noise at all. Some have complained about the midnight run - we were there for this year's run and although there was music in the square, it had all wrapped up by 12.30; and frankly if you want to be asleep at 12.30 in Stockholm, you'd be better off in Margate.

On leaving checkout was efficient, they ordered a cab that arrived in under five minutes and were happy to guard our bags beforehand while we went for a short walk.

Any downsides? Not really.

You are in Stockholm and it's a very expensive city, but that's it.

The Rival is no Raffles or Shangri-La, granted, but outside of Asia, you'd be hard pushed to find a better establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    291
    40
    20
    1
See reviews for
91
573
67
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Calif
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I booked this hotel several months ago for a post-cruise vacation in Stockholm based on reviews on this website. Quiet??? NO. courtyard boasts a clock tower/church tower that rings loudly every half hour. dogs barking. baby crying, smoke alarm going off from nearby residences. SO, can't leave the window open, and there is no Air Con...They did bring me a portable noisy fan....

no black-out curtains.

Bed is very comfortable. Room is decent size.

One lamp is broken. Poor lighting in room in general.
slow wi-fi in room but at least its free.

Coffee/tea cookies are available free but only on the 4th floor and not in rooms.

I am too tired to move hotels, so I'm sure I will add to my review in a day or two.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed in the Rival for a long weekend and thourghly enjoyed it. We booked into the larger delux rooms and they were exactly that, large, well equipped stylish rooms. Go at the weekend as we did and breakfast is also included. Breakfast was all fresh, plenty of choice and a good way to build up energy before longs days of wandering around the city.

Hotel is about 10 - 15 mins walk away from the old town of Gamla Stan and about 30 mins from the main shopping area. Plenty of nice restaurants and bars within 10 - 15 mins walk of the hotel. The cocktail bar in the hotel seems to attract a lot of locals on a friday / saturday night which makes for a great atmosphere. Although bar was busy, our rooms were well away from them and so were really quiet. Great bedding!

Can't think of a single bad thing about the place.

One word of warning if you're travelling from the UK. It's expensive in Stockholm!!!! Ok, i admit we ate in nice restaurants and went to nice bars, but I would still estimate it was double the price of London!!!! Despite that we had a great time, just be warned to take plenty of money with you!! Hopefully the exchange rates will improve soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here during a whirlwind tour of the city and were very pleased that we chose this hotel. Although the room was small, it had absolutely everything you could ever need including an iron, ironing board, safe, flat screen TV, waterfall shower and crabtree & evelyn toiletries. I was constantly surprised every time I found another amenity tucked away somewhere in the room. The bed was super comfy and both the bedroom and bathroom were clean. To top it all off, the staff at the front desk were unbelievably friendly and helpful. I ran out of toothpaste and they gave me a travel size for free!
The hotel is located on Sodermalm, south of Gamla Stan (old town) but it is literally less than a 10 minute walk to get there. It's also right near the ferry that takes you to the Vasa Museum. We walked all the way through Gamla Stan to the Grand hotel and could have kept on going if we had more time. It may not be exactly central, but getting around on foot was quick and easy. In fact, If you want to go to the Vasa Museum (highly recommended) I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
The vibe at this hotel is modern and funky but it doesn't at all take away from the serenity of the room. They really did a great job balancing the decor. To summarize, we really liked it here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is really the hotel that you must choose in Stockholm ;very quiet neighbourhood and lovely rooms,we took the luxuery room with balcony ,it's nice to have a balcony after a day of walking in the town. The service is top and to have free coffee,tee and water on the 4th floor is a nice gift because the drinks are quiet expensive in Stockholm. The restaurant we prefer is Gondolen ,what a nice restaurant and the view is fantastic ,unbelievable .... one small critic is that the hotel did not taken in account my preference to have a room at the top floors ,i made my reservation last year and ask a top floor room and they gave me a room on the lowest level ... that's strange .. ... for the rest this is a top hotel ...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our second stay at the Hotel Rival and it was just as good as the first time. There may be grander hotels in Stockholm but the Hotel Rival is uber-cool, stylish, comfortable and not in the least pretentious (as we've found some of the grander hotels around the world in the past). The staff can't do enough for you although we also found most of the people in Stockholm to be friendly and approachable.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, where we met a Swedish friend, and the food was excellent. This was mirrored by the breakfast buffet which was included in the price and which was wide ranging enough to meet pretty much all tastes.

Again we chose a Superior Room which was airy and spacious enough for us with a lovely big balcony overlooking a very quiet courtyard. The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook a picturesque square but we prefer the peace and quiet of the back courtyard.

The hotel is owned by Benny Anderson from ABBA and therefore a mecca for all ABBA fans, although the ABBA memorabilia is discrete and not so in your face that it would bother non-fans either. There is of course an ABBA CD or two in the bedrooms so that you can have a bit of a morning dance to your favourite ABBA track!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Although the Rival has been around for quite a few years now (time flies), it is still unquestionnably THE place to stay in Stockholm. The location (Södermalm, close to Götsgatan), the atmosphere (trendy, lively, young), the service (reliable, friendly, professional), the rooms (spacious, great design, functional) as well as the bar, restaurant and coffee shop are all first rate compared to other hotels in Stockholm and around Scandinavia - where prizes are typically higher than quality. It's not cheap either, but you get your money's worth.......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 11891, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.