We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out meal - excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nybrogatan 38

Nybrogatan 38
Nybrogatan 38, Stockholm, Sweden
08 662 33 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 2,118 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stand out meal - excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our meal was outstanding. We were lucky to get a table (got there at 6 and were told to be done by 730 for another reso - fine by us), and so happy to have eaten here. The morel soup was incredible, but very rich, so despite the tempting bread basket, don't fill up! Arctic char was delicious, flavourful, and creative. Would eat here again and again if I could.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed across the road in the Mornington Hotel and popped in on our last night in Stockholm. It was Sunday night around 7pm and we got seated straight away.
The food was amazing - my husband and I shared the chuck steak and the meatballs. All very tasty and good quality meats and vegetables, potatoes. My husband then had one of the desserts which consisted of some ice cream, brownie pieces and fried bananas - he said that was amazing too. I ordered the chocolate brownie with ice cream and this must have been the thinnest brownie ever - it was literally 0.5cm thick flat across the little plate with a scoop of ice cream. Not great.
Service was alright - we are teetotallers and the waitress was clearly unhappy that we only ordered tap water. But that's a common reaction we get in restaurants to be honest.
Atmosphere is cozy and price is alright for Stockholm.
Overall would definitely recommend this and would love to come back and try the other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Problem with order, happy customer anyway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Sunday brunch, ordered burgers for us both. One a bit special welldone with extra onions and without sauses. Too make a long story short there was a series of problems with one of the burgers. BUT in the end we were compensated and the food was excellent. We will return as we felt that this was a rare accident and se were compensated. That is what distinguishes a great restaurant from a good one. In the end we left happy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great for Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided to try Nybrogatan 38 for brunch and were lucky enough to get a table without a reservation because of a cancellation. The waitress told us reservations are otherwise the best way to be sure of a table, especially on weekends. It seems like this place has a lot of regulars too.
We had delicious Eggs Benedict and Bookmaker Toast, together with a couple of really good coffees, and this service was quick too! Good sized helpings. We were really impressed. Must come back again soon and try some more as they have different menus depending on the time of the day.
They seemed to have a nice bar too, but we didn't have the time to try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great place to go if you want to have a tasty breakfast, lunch or dinner without having to pay a fortune! Great service and nice premises.
I do admit that there have been days when one or two in the personnel have been slightly "off" but then I have let them know this and things have changed for the better. :-) (No, as far as I know no one has been fired.) They have been open for little over a year but it seems they have been there forever - and I mean this in a good way; they make the neighbourhood complete!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nybrogatan 38 also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nybrogatan 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nybrogatan 38, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.