We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Stockholm to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ringvagen 98 | Box 20025, Stockholm 10460, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Sundsvall, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel one weekend and was satisfied but not overwhelmed. You can see that it is a big hotel (around 500 rooms) when you enter the reception area, which contains 2 bars / restaurants. The check-in and later the check-out procedure went smoothly, however. The room was nicely furnished but rather small. We had problems where to put our two suitcases without blocking the whole room. Everything was very clean and in good order, though. The room was very quiet, probably because it was situated towards the back of the hotel and far from the lifts. The breakfast was a rather stressful experience, because all guests seemed to have their breakfast at the same time (around 9 o'clock). The breakfast buffet contained everything you need to get a good start of the day, but on the other hand, there were no positive surprises either. On the whole, this is an average good hotel without any surprises, neither positive nor negative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    539
    192
    62
    19
See reviews for
154
427
96
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here with my Family. The hotel is ok, but I'm not quite sure what they're going for here.
It's a designer hotel, but some of the solutions they've chosen in the rooms are just strange.
Breakfast is AMAZINGLY good.
Rooms are ok, but small. Our shower didn't work.
Staff is ok.
It's a loud hotel. Probably better to visit with friends.
Location at Södermalm is great. Next to a Metro station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Never thought I would write a review about ANY hotel, but I guess I would only do it out of rage (and I now know how it feels like)

We were in Stockholm for three days after visiting family, thought we should treat ourselves by staying in this so called 4 stars hotel. We were with a 8 month old baby so we requested for a cot, which was good that they have it, but that's where the good service stops.

First, we noticed there was no kettle, as we need it to make milk for our baby, so we had to call and request it.

Second, there was no shower gels/shampoo or slippers; considering our room was the standard ones, I thought it was not included. But we asked the reception on the way out regarding the slippers anyway,as I feel the floor was very cold, so they sent the slippers up later. (Maybe we should have asked for the shower gels/shampoo as well? Not sure why nothing was provided and the staff didn't apologize or explain at all)

Before we leave the hotel to visit friend in the evening, we noticed the room was quiet cold and the temperature control didn't seem to work. However, we were rushing out so didn't pay much attention, we quickly asked the reception on the way out and they just say we can turn the heat up by using the temperature control on the wall.

BIG MISTAKE by trusting their words. We went back the hotel late and tire, rushed to put the baby into sleep and went to bed early as well. We were FREEZING ALL NIGHT. It turned out the heater was not working at all, it was even warmer outside the room in the hall way. Our baby woke up with a stuffed nose and me & my husband were shaking under the duvet.

First thing we did was to go down to have breakfast and get away from the freezing room, complained to the reception and they just say they will send someone up to check. So we cannot go out or do anything until "someone" show up to check. Fortunatelly it didn't took too long in european standard (about 1 hr), but the guy who showed up just say the heater/temperature control is broke; there is nothing he can do. So we have to call the reception AGAIN request to change the room. All they say was the hotel is fully booked, so they will check and come back to us (more waiting). Not to mentioned all the excuses they used as "cleaner doesn't work until 9am, other customers doesn't check out until 12pm.." In the end, after waiting and waiting, they changed us to another bigger room around 12pm (which was a nice room but obviously not properly cleaned); Which means we couldn't do anything and wasted half of our day dealing with this (with baby we have no choice but to wake up at 7am).

All seems to be well until the next day.
When we checked in we request that we will extend the check out hour till 5pm and the staff told us that is totally fine (with extra cost per hour afer normal check out hour 12pm). Considering we are with a baby and will have a long flight ahead of us we REALLY need that to let our baby nap and take shower before we take off. However, when we double check with the reception (thank god we remember to do that), they suddenly turn the table and say no - coz the hotel is fully booked (AGAIN- and it was a Monday). After compalining and compalining, in the end they only allow us to check out at 2pm (coz the new customer will check in at 3pm). We had to try to nap our baby in the lobby without sucess and wait until 5pm our taxi come to pick us up to the airport (poor taxi driver had to endure baby screaming the whole drive).

I am not sure what's wrong with the management in this hotel, but while the whole time we stayed here we had to ASK for EVERYTHING. And it was exhausting. Not to mentioned our staying in Sthockholm was basically ruined with all the waiting, changing, and early check out.
Meanless apology really doesn't help not to mention heartless ones.

All I could say is the location is good, breakfast is standard, hotel itself is mondern (not necessary functioning ie. the heater, the safe was not working as well) and according to the staff, they are FULLY BOOKED all the time. But don't expect much services, would definitely not recommend to anyone with babies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

So the location couldn't be better!
The breakfast is also REALLY good!
a few things that were not good and reduced my rating:
1. Rooms we were first given a room that was not cleaned at all! after complaining we were moved to a cleaner one but not really something to write home about...
2. There was an event in the hotel which is nice BUT should not cause regular guest uncomfortable (e.g. when trying to get to the second floor and finding yourself in the middle of an exhibition hall.
3. Hrs of the spa 08-20 are not ideal AND why should I be requested to pay for just swimming?!

Room Tip: Location is the best there so I would try it again in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Clarion Hotel Stockholm is a very large complex in the South - they say it is the largest hotel in Stockholm. I think it is nothing special, yes the rooms are quite ok (and not as small as in many other Scandinavian Hotels), the breakfast was typically Scandinavian (nothing to write home about) and the service was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place to stay if you like cool modern design mixed with airy and comfertable rooms. Cant go wrong. Woke up to watch the sun come up over the Globe (the gigantic golfball by the highway south out of stockholm) from a panoramic window... not a bad way to wake up! :D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've attended a conference at Clarion Hotel in Stockholm and stayed there for four nights. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable but there is no wardrobe or dresser to store your clothes. Breakfast offers quite a variety of choices, including freshly made omelettes, but coffee is terrible. Staff is helpful and friendly and the location is quite convenient to get into town and elsewhere.

However, as a business/conference traveller I was using the internet on different devices and that is just one of the worst experiences I've had: Even though there is free WLAN available you need to use a different login for each device and it lasts for 24 hours only until you have to use another login. But that's not enough of the trouble: anytime you switch off your device and start it again, you need to sign in again (and no, it was not because I didn't know how to do it, as all the other participants of the conference had the same issues...). Very bad internet service indeed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Address: Ringvagen 98 | Box 20025, Stockholm 10460, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of it's integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel’s unique pulse and surroundings with our Asian-fusion restaurant "Minami", lobby bar, Upstairs Bar, and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired "Elements Spa".It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music, or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night’s sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.