We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab viking experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aifur Krog & Bar

Aifur Krog & Bar
Vasterlanggatan 68 | Stockholm, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden
08-201055
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Aifur Krog & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 2,128 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Swedish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fab viking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We loved this bar so much, we kept going back. On weekends there's a live band, bagpipe music et al. The whole viking experience is fantastic. From utensils used to the costumes of staff. Last order on weekdays is 1030 pm. Closes at 11pm.
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    77
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Good food and hugely amusing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was in Stockholm on a work trip and had been told by a colleague of a "Viking restaurant somewhere in the city" (he was too drunk to remember!)

We were out walking around and stumbled across Aifur, there could only be one so in we went!

They managed to squeeze us in by making some other diners move up and sitting us on the end of their table, no issue for the staff (or us) but the others didn't like it!

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and the introductions had us in stitches!

It's a bit tourist-y but as locals were arriving with friends/relatives that can only be a good thing.

Definitely recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visit this Viking bar, it's great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were here on Saturday night, the Viking bar was buzzing with people and atmosphere. The staff (dressed in Viking attire!) were very friendly, good fun and helpful. We even have photos with some of the modern day 'Vikings'. The bar itself has Viking-style decor and atmospheric candle light. I particularly loved the Viking folk band playing, I felt that they really added to the ambiance. Go here if you're in Stockholm, such a fun experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good night out - Viking style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This bar with their exceptional friendly staff is a great experience for a good nogjt out in Sweden.
I liked the live music and the typical swedish food as weel as the met. All in all a really nice theme bar which is worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Wanted to love...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Have to say I love kitschy things like this, but I was underwhelmed. The place is super cool - great ambiance and fun feel. You are sat at a communal table so I guess your experience is somewhat determined by the other guests. I was sat by some fellow Americans who weren't used to being sat so close to others (as we aren't :) and took up waaaaaay more space than they were allotted. The girl that sat next to me jumped up and down on the bench every 30 seconds so I felt like I was on a see saw. Fine. We were sat in front of a huge candle centerpiece so our appetizer could not be shared easily (I had to be fed - ew). Food was okay...nothing spectacular. Overall, probably fun with a group of friends, but if trying to enjoy a night out with a partner, it's an expensive venture...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aifur Krog & Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Aifur Krog & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aifur Krog & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.