We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat information about Sweden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nordiska museet

Nordiska museet
Djurgardsvagen 6_16 | Djurgarden, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden (Formerly Nordic Museum (Nordiska Museet))
+46 8 519 546 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Nordiska museet like an insider
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Stockholm City Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Tour
Ranked #56 of 219 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Nordiska museet. Discover exhibitions on Swedish trends and traditions in areas such as home interiors, fashion, jewellery, table settings, folk art, textiles, dolls houses and much more.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“neat information about Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am surprised to see previous reviews from people who really did not like this museum. It was my favorite, so I guess it depends on what you are interested in. It sounds like the content changes, but it's well worth the time if you would like to know more about current and past Swedish culture. We liked the Vasa Museum and other places, too, but enjoyed the displays here about native peoples, housing, holidays, furniture, clothing/textiles, jewelry, and table settings through the centuries.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    146
    72
    33
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Boaring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This museum is just too detailed. If you're from Scandinavia then it might be interesting. Otherwise I find it very boring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Building more interesting than exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The building was more interesting than the exhibits, but it is still worth a visit. It is near the Vasa Museum and we combined our visit there in one days activities. The exhibits show the history of furniture, the Sampi culture and history of various aspect of Swedish life. They also had an exhibit of apples (yeah the fruit). There are a lot more varieties than I would have imagined and it made the hall smell great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nordisk Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Not mind blowing but sited next to the Vasa and worth a stop off for a quiet and comfortable coffee and cake.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
299 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

located on Djurgården, an island in central Stockholm, Djurgardsvagen 6-16 | Djurgarden, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden
this museum about history of Sweden, I Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours.
The staff friendly & helpful .
Before you start your trip in the museum you should take picture with the unique building .
Nordic museum bought or managed to get donations of objects furniture, clothes, toys etc. – from all over Sweden
The building is nice in inside & I like the items.
I like fabric, Swedish customs & altos of interesting items.
This museum contains all kinds of collections having to do with Nordic art and life, including food
I like the view from the museum balcony (Veranda) & enjoy in cold air.

I think this museum chance to about Sweden history recommended.
The fee cheap 100 krona.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordiska museet also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nordiska museet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordiska museet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.