We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordiska museet

Nordiska museet
Djurgardsvagen 6_16 | Djurgarden, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden (Formerly Nordic Museum (Nordiska Museet))
+46 8 519 546 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$23*
and up
Stockholm City Hop-on Hop-off Boat Tour
Ranked #49 of 144 Attractions in Stockholm
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Nordiska museet. Discover exhibitions on Swedish trends and traditions in areas such as home interiors, fashion, jewellery, table settings, folk art, textiles, dolls houses and much more.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
258 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

located on Djurgården, an island in central Stockholm, Djurgardsvagen 6-16 | Djurgarden, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden
this museum about history of Sweden, I Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours.
The staff friendly & helpful .
Before you start your trip in the museum you should take picture with the unique building .
Nordic museum bought or managed to get donations of objects furniture, clothes, toys etc. – from all over Sweden
The building is nice in inside & I like the items.
I like fabric, Swedish customs & altos of interesting items.
This museum contains all kinds of collections having to do with Nordic art and life, including food
I like the view from the museum balcony (Veranda) & enjoy in cold air.

I think this museum chance to about Sweden history recommended.
The fee cheap 100 krona.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    117
    66
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

With 3 ships in port the lines at the Vasa Museum were way to long for us to wait.
The beautiful architecture of the Nordic Museum which were steps away from the Vasa drew us in.
The interior was huge with little to see. It would make a great art museum similiar to Musee D'Orsey in Paris. The inside appeared empty and non inviting with only a few visitors except for some children from a summer program. The gift shop and food court were open. There were few exibits; living quarters of a Swedish family in the 1940's and a toy exhibit. Everything else seemed locked or empty.
Thankfully, we waisted only a little time and some Kroner's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Nordiska Museet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Nordiska Museum displays the traditions and trends of Sweden from 1500 to the present. It has the best recorded guide system I have used in any museum. It is a small, easy to use headset and recorder that you point at designated spots to hear a description. It is great. I especially liked the displays of table settings from different eras. I had lunch at the museum cafe, one of the most reasonably priced meals of my trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a bit dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a bit dissapointing. We went here because many other museums were closed. I found the content to be forgettable, the building however is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit, even on a Sunny Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited on a sunny day, the kind of day where you don't really want to be indoors at all, and it was still worth it. I would particularly recommend this museum to anyone on a short stay in Sweden who wants an overview of what the country is about in terms of design and culture.

My favourite displays were the table settings over time (more interesting then you would imagine), the Dalacarelian painted furniture and the textiles cabinet, which shows beautiful examples of weaving, embroidery etc. There are also excellent displays of furniture design. My husband enjoyed the museum as much as I did, in case I'm giving the impression that it's a girly type of place.

We also enjoyed our lunch in the servery on the ground floor - good quality food at reasonable (Swedish) prices.

Don't miss the downstairs reading room for a chance to sit down and read some English language (and other) magazines.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordiska museet also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nordiska museet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordiska museet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.