We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason why they're rated #1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
City Backpackers Hostel
Upplandsgatan 2a, Stockholm 11123, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“There's a reason why they're rated #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hands down, the cleanest, coziest (yet spacious) and most entertaining hostel experience I've ever had. I found the staff to be extremely friendly, too. I reached the hostel before checkout time; they let me store my luggage in a secure room and take a shower before heading out to explore the city in my 24 hour layover. I need to talk about the showers. First of all, they are everywhere (detached from the bedrooms). And they're incredibly clean. You'll never have to worry about a dirty bathroom (or long lines to use one) in this hostel.

All rooms in the hostel require a unique security code to get in. I'd never seen this implemented at a hostel before. I felt very secure.

Also to be noted - they offer free bike rental. This was huge for me. Biking around Stockholm (particularly, Gamla Stan) made my trip!

I'm a bit of a hotel junkie, but if I'm ever in Stockholm again, I will stay at this hostel without hesitation!

Room Tip: As with any shared hostel, make sure to pack ear plugs. You never know when you'll get a roommat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Ah, that's lovely to hear, we've converted a hotel fan! I always stay at hostels myself, because it's usually more personal. Also they give you so many little extras, and it's easier to meet your fellow travellers than in a hotel. But to be perfectly honest, lately I've gotten a bit spoilt and started to book my private room... It's got a lot to do with my boss snoring when ever we travel together! I, too, always bring ear plugs, and I've made sure we sell my favourite kind in the City Backpacker reception - nothing can get through those suckers!
I'm glad you enjoyed our bikes, I love riding around Stockholm by bike, too. But Gamla Stan's Medieval cobblestone streets are a bit too bumpy for my taste...
Thank's for the excellent review, Cheers Lena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    190
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
49
230
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Positives:

Clean

Great facilities (nice common rooms, 4 new iMacs plus some PCs for the free internet, free wi-fi, free sauna, well equipped kitchen including a fridge for each room, reasonably priced bicycle hire).

Great central location - you can walk to the old town in 15 minutes.

Very friendly & helpful staff.

Negatives:

Basement rooms (which make up over half the rooms I believe) have no windows and the ventilation is not great. When I stayed it was summer and hot and humid weather (25 - 27 degrees) and the room was a hot and stuffy at night.

It's not the cheapest hostel in the city but I think it's good value. I would stay there again but would really try to get a ground floor room with a window.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Don't understand the hype. Staff was less than friendly from check in and answering questions seemed like a chore. Good facilities but just feels very spread out. Many rooms are in the basement.

Security is important but the loçks on the door are a bit noisy especially throughout the night with people going in and out. Don't think anyone in our room slept well. Also signs with quiet time but no one enforces it.

Note that the hostel has different rates. Ironically hostelworld.com has cheaper rates than direct booking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Oh, that makes me sad that you didn't feel we took good care of you during your stay. My office is within hearing distance from reception, and so while working I always keep an ear on the reception staff. My impression is that they do their best to answer all questions in a friendly and engaged way, but I will pay closer attention from now on to see if I can perhaps understand your critique. As for the noisy doors, I agree, we've had huge problems with them. For security reasons they are much thicker and heavier than normal doors, and that's why they tend to slam shut. BUT luckily, after years of experimenting, our handyman has now outsmarted the doors and figured out a way to make them really, really silent! A major break through in the history of City Backpackers! I hope you had a good time in Stockholm in spite of not being completely happy with the hostel. Kindly Lena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

ive been there just one time and my room called grinda was really good, big, clean, with a lot of private shower around. in the hostel there is a really big kitchen with everything and every bathrooms was clean! Normal price, just because i was in stockholm and there everything is expensive in confront of london for example!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hostel is very well located, near to the shopping streets and only 5-10 minutes walking to the Gamla Stan. The rooms are good as well and the commom area is big and full of computers. The only thing that could be better are the bathrooms and showers. But is general is a very good choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a private room for two and they gave us a private room for 4. It was a lovely room!!!!! The place was VERY clean and the staff was helpful. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the cafe.They had a kitchen, but no bar :( and there was not really a bar close by that everyone visited. The courtyard was amazingly beautiful and decorated w/ lights at night, but nobody was out there. It was a little difficult to meet fellow travelers as it seemed like people were just sort of scattered all over the place. We enjoyed drinking and playing games in the kitchen and the staff even let us stay up later than the curfew! Recommend if you want a nice clean place to stay and you don't really care about meeting bunches of people. The bar, Bagpipers Inn (20 min walk away) was tons of fun and I highly recommend visiting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great hostel, lots of space, lots of room. Free pasta. Great location. Friendly staff. Free wireless internet. Computers with Internet access. TV. There is a private shower. Many people. Large kitchen and lounge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Address: Upplandsgatan 2a, Stockholm 11123, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a café with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.