We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is supposed to be a 4* hotel???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Kungsgatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Kungsgatan to your Saves list
Scandic Kungsgatan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kungsgatan 47, Stockholm 11156, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Kungsgatan) (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is supposed to be a 4* hotel???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Another weekend break my family and I went too. Was it good? Breakfast was excellent... You filled yourselves up and did not want to think about lunch. And the hotel was clean with friendly staff. But that's all I can say- the good stuff
For a family of 4, once we laid the extra beds out there was no room to walk. Kids could not play. There was no closet to unpack... No ironing facilities.... The bathroom door did not lock. The door frame paintwork was coming off. The bathroom itself was the least decorated, although they had vacuumed water for the toilets.if you did go down later for breakfast then most of the hot breakfast would be finished. There was no tea available on the first morning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    219
    141
    39
    20
See reviews for
96
139
44
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed there for one night business trip. Room was small and view was on an inner courtyard. Ok for one night but not more. Breakfast had a good offering but get there early. At 07.30 am the small place was quite full. Hotel is very central and one can walk around easily. No restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: When reserving ask what room they will give you or you can end up boxed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked a standard single room. When I first opened the room door I could smell the previous occupants had not long vacated the room. I went to draw the curtains to let some air in only to find a brick wall for a view -no window! The room relied on a bathroon fan to circulate the air around the room which is not ideal as you could hear it whirling away and you had to leave the bathroom door open. Very disappointed having spent over €200 on this room for the night. The room was small but tidy otherwise. Personally, I would not stay again. Plus point is its central location which made it very easy to get around.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotelKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic Kungsgatan, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all kind of reviews as this is direct information from our guests, which can help us to improve our services and product further.

We do have some rooms without a window. We understand from what you are writing that you were not aware that this was booked for you when you arrived to the hotel. It would be very helpful for us if we could get information regarding were you made the reservation as well as which room you stayed in. All rooms have air conditioning and it seams like this was not operating fully in
your room. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience we caused you when staying.

Thank you for your kind words about the tidiness and location of the hotel.

I would be very happy to hear from you again. Please contact med directly by mail sunniva.fallan.rod@rica.se or by phone +46-8-7237290.

Sincerely yours,
Sunniva Fallan Röd
General Manager
Rica Hotel Kungsgatan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

nice hotel, great location, excellent breakfast, too bad the room didn't have a window

Room Tip: make sure you ask in advance if your room has a window :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent location above the department store PUB, right in the middle of the city centre. We had a room facing the pedestrian street Drottninggatan, so there was no noise from traffic. However, the walls are quite thin and when people are going in and out of neighbouring rooms (closing doors) the walls almost shake. There was also quite a draft from the windows. The breakfast had a large selection, but was very busy and noisy, so be prepared to queue and wait for refillments. The staff in the reception was ok, but they did not offer any extra information (for example, breakfast times, where the room is located) unless asked. The free wifi had quite a poor signal in our room, my phone could only get a proper connection in the hallway outside.

All in all, the stay was ok, but I expected a little more for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotelKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic Kungsgatan, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Jalokivi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are of course sad to see that you were not satisfied with your stay in all areas, and we apologize for that. I would appreciate if you could mail me on sunniva.fallan.rod@rica.se so we can find out which room you stayed and make sure the internet connection as well as the ventilation is in order in that room.

We are however happy to hear that you liked the breakfast selection and location of the hotel.

We hope you will give us a second chance sometime in the future. Looking forward to hearing from you, and thank you again for reviewing your stay with us.

Best regards,
Sunniva Fallan Röd
General Manager
Rica Hotel Kungsgatan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The plumbing banged all of the time, and the beds never stayed together for a couple to sleep in. We were going to find a hardware store and buy clamps to keep the mattresses together. Good breakfast. Nice area with a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotelKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic Kungsgatan, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Honeypot62,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in August last year. The most valuable feedback we get is of course directly from our guests so that we constantly can improve the services and experiences we offer you.

We have since August changed parts of the plumbing system which has reduced the sound that can occur in a few of our rooms. It is one of the most environmentally friendly systems in the world as the usage of water is minimum. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience this caused you when you stayed.

We offer different kinds of beds at the hotel, some are double rooms with twin beds and some with king sized bed. We apologize for not having offered a change of rooms for you, I truly understand that it must have been uncomfortable as you wished a king size bed.

Thank you very much for your comments of the breakfast as well as the location of the hotel.

I hope you would like to come back to us sometime in the future. Please contact me directly if you would like to make a reservation.

Sincerely yours,
Sunniva Fallan Röd
General Manager, Rica Hotel Kungsgatan
sunniva.fallan.rod@rica.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011 just before Christmas. The location is excellent above a big department store PUB and right in the middle of the shopping area. We were easy walking distance to the old town (Gamla Stan) the Vasa Museum and plenty of other attractions. The hotel itself is very friendly. The room slept 3 of us, a queensize bed (2 singles pushed together like most European hotels) and our daughter on a single sofa bed. The room was a reasonable size and we also had a chair and table as well as the small but very clean ensuite.
The breakfast is to die for - so much choice it was hard not to overeat. It offered swedish style breakfast as well as a more traditional affair. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and have nothing bad to say about it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotelKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic Kungsgatan, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Mpowis,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the hotel. To read this gives me and my team a lot of motivation to continue our daily work.

Welcome back!

Kind regards,
Sunniva Fallan Röd
General Manager
Rica Hotel Kungsgatan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Kungsgatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kungsgatan

Address: Kungsgatan 47, Stockholm 11156, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Kungsgatan)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Kungsgatan 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Kungsgatan in Stockholm Stay in a department store! Hotel Scandic Kungsgatan is located right in central Stockholm and is a part of the classic PUB department store.With views over both Hötorget square and Drottninggatan, our hotel is located right in the heart of Stockholm’s wide range of shopping, entertainment and culture. You can take the lift straight down from our hotel to the shops in PUB department store. Stockholm Central Station and the Arlanda Express are 500 meters away, and the buses and underground are just around the corner. It´s easy to get to Stockholm’s popular sites such as Stureplan, Djurgården with Gröna Lund amusement park, Skansen open-air museum and the ABBA Museum. The popular Centralbadet is also within a 5-minute walk.Facility You can enjoy good food from our bar menu in the lobby bar and lounge, have a coffee or drink with a snack whilst enjoying lovely views of Hötorget square. If you´re extra hungry, we have freshly baked pizzas. Scandic Kungsgatan offers meeting facilities for up to 50 people. Our inviting lobby and lounge can also be booked for smaller receptions or cocktail parties for up to 100 people. Our large breakfast buffet has been developed together with the Culinary Academy of Sweden, and gives you the freedom to compose your own breakfast menu, whether its healthy eating or a touch of luxury that you prioritise. Free WiFi is available throughout our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Kungsgatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Kungsgatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.