We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent One” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Klara to your Saves list
Scandic Klara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 11157, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm) (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent One”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

This hotel is quite good and easily accessible to the T-Centralen (< 1 Kms) and the nearest metro/bus station is approx 200 mts. Lot of shopping centres nearby.
A affordable, decent Indian restaurant (India Gate) in Kungsgatan (200 mts from hotel)

If you are a Indian Vegeterian, nothing much to eat in the breakfast provided by the hotel, except for the cornflakes, bread, juice & fruits (for that matter in any country other than India you will get the same). The breakfast table is quite crowded, difficult to find a seat. Hotel provides free internet and also quite friendly at the reception. Quite affordable for the place it is situated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    230
    130
    40
    17
See reviews for
52
176
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a 3-day city break in Jul 2009. Upon arrival, the staff was very polite and helpful and we were allowed in our room before the official check-in time. Also, the staff helped us out with parking and toll charge that applies in central Stockholm.

The room was clean, but VERY small - so small that there was only about 40cm between the bed and the opposite wall! The bathroom was clean and shiny, but again, extremely small, so much that if you were not careful you could really hurt yourself by walking into the toilet shell as you enter the bathroom! There was no bath, just a 'hole in the wall' with tiles up to the ceiling and a shower door - it was reasonably spacious. The hotel provided soap, shampoo, etc. - these were held in refillable containers (which made me a little freaked out about hygiene). View from the window was towards the breakfast area - it was beautiful!

Breakfast was... nothing special. There was a selection of bread, some hot offerings (eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.), cold offerings (ham, cheese, etc.), cereals and yoghurt, jams and some sweet croissants. There was also fruit available, although the choice was very poor - only oranges, apples and grapefruit. Hot drinks (coffee, tea, etc.) were also available, as well as some cold juices. So the choice was there, but none of the food was outstanding or very tasty.

The hotel offers access to internet (free of charge) in the lobby and is connected to Stockholm information website, so it is useful for planning your trip. Keep in mind though that there are only two computers available and the wait can be considerable.

Apparently, there is a complementary steam room session for every guest, but have not taken advantage of this.

One last thing to mention: the hotel was very busy - every single time we have used the lift there was someone else using it and it was sometimes too full and we had to use the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luleå, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here in April 2009. The room was nice but very small-you almost had to shuffle past the bed when walking around the room, it was so near the wall. We woke up after our first night at around 7am due to maintenance work starting very early some floors above us. However, when we mentioned this to reception, they apologised and said the contractors were under orders not to start work so early but frequently ignored that instruction. They then took us to see another room, which we then moved to, as it was both quieter, and slightly bigger than the 1st room. The receptionist we dealt with (I think his name was Marcus) said that he was glad we had complained after our first night, "As then we can move you, whereas if you mentioned it on the day you left, we couldn't have done anything for you". So he (and indeed any others we spoke to) were extremely polite and helpful. The faciliities in the room were all fine-mini bar, tv etc, and it was very clean. The breakfast was nice and varied, including cheeses, meats, meatballs, and various cereals. Only one type of bread tho-a loaf you had to carve a slice from yourself. My Swedish companion & I would have particularly liked to have seen some Polarbrod there. Again, the breakfast staff were very helpful-even fetching me a diet coke without question when I fancied one with my breakfast :-). There is a market square nearby and a system bolaget (if you're not from Sweden, this is one of the state-run alcohol shops) , and there is also a gorgeous candy shop called Caramella where you can buy lots of sweet gifts. There's even a cinema literally in the same street so thishotel is in a truly excellent location. Only around 20 mins walk from Gamla Stan (The old town) too, tho sadly no 7-11 nearby. This was all in all a lovely hotel which we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The room was a little small, but very clean. There was a nice view of the terrace in the center of the hotel where the breakfast area was. The breakfast area was large, the food was plentiful and there was a good selection. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of a lot of the sights. The staff was nice and they let us store our luggage for most of the day when we were waiting for our bus.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I went to Stockholm partly for leisure partly for other reasons: my son will work there for three months and I went to help him settle as well as to see the sights. Rica Hotel Stockholm is one of the Rica chain and it was on a a very central point with Hotorget (the open flower market) at one end and Stureplan (a very central and beautiful spot where all Stockholm gathers at one point or another) at the other, with all the shopping district around us, subway at 2 blocks away! We had a room on the 5th floor looking at the street which was very quiet although central and the room was "roomy" , airy, clean, with an adequate shower and toilet, even a small balcony! The staff all spoke english fluently and were very helpful and friendly (as were all the people we encountered there!) and the breakfast was fabulous with everything a person could want! So, I recommend Rica Stockholm to everyone as ti caters to everyone's needs!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Positives:
Staff very friendly and helpful, clean, excellent breakfast, completely central location, smart lobby.
Negatives:
Room very small and cramped, bathroom had smell of bad drains, noisy at night, no proper restaurant facility, no tea/coffee-making facility in our room.

If it were downgraded to a 3-star hotel, and the prices reduced to reflect that, it would be good value for money. We enjoyed our stay, bu no way does this place deserve 4 stars and it was over-priced for what we got.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Getting there : It's about 5 blocks slightly uphill from the train station. If you have a lot of bags or if there's snow on the ground, you're better off taking a taxi.

Checkin : The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and fluent in English (as are most folks in Stockholm). Make sure you ask for a 2nd card-key for your room. You'll want it to plug into the slot by the door and leave it there your entire trip. If you don't, then all the electricity to the room shuts off when you leave, causing your laptop battery to run down.

The Room : It's quite a hike to most of the rooms, and the corridor is rathe narrow in places. The rooms are quite small by American standards, but functional for one person. The building is 130 years old, so the electrical conduits are clearly retrofits, but they work fine. The coffee & tea are complimentary, despite being adjacent to the over-priced candy & snacks. The teapot heats up nice and quickly. Beware of the TV; it's mounted on a bracket jutting out from the wall about 5 feet off the floor and directly above the power outlets (at least in room 236). This can result in a nasty bump on the head after plugging in your laptop or other electronics. The wireless network signal was strong, easy to access, and worked flawlessly throughout the trip. The bed was quite soft and comfortable. No alarm clock.

Bathroom : The bathrooms have been refurbished nicely and work pretty well. The heated towel rack is a nice touch, although the one in my room didn't work. A sign on the wall encourages towel reuse for the sake of the environment. In reality, of course, it's just a thinly-veiled attempt to save on laundry costs at the expense of guests' personal hygiene. Tells you something about the priorities of the Rica hotel chain's management.

Location : Once settled in, you can walk to any part of downtown from here. It's right on a pedestrian mall called Drottningatan which goes all the way down to the Royal Palace and the sea. There's also an affordable and bustling food-court called Kungshallen 1 block north.

Breakfast : The hotel's breakfast food was quite good and plentiful. It's a 2-level facility. When the downstairs tables fill up, there's plenty of overflow space upstairs. It would be nice to have more hot-food options, though.

Conference Rooms : The conference staff, Lina and Shakeeb, were very helpful. Lina even agreed to come in on Sunday afternoon to help me setup the room for a Monday morning conference. The conference rooms themselves are all underground and rather unspectacular, but the projector worked fine, there was enough electricity to keep 20 laptops powered for 2 full days, and the HVAC kept the room temperature nicely balanced.

Miscellaneous : There's no gym, exercise room, or pool, which makes it hard to get a workout when it's snowing outside. There are probably a sports club nearby, but I didn't look into whether they offered a 3-day pass. The restaurant off the hotel's lobby was very nicely laid out but, mysteriously, it was closed most of the time I was there.

Overall : This hotel is functional for business trips and meetings, but I wouldn't recommend using it as a base of operations for a family vacation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 11157, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Klara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.