We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for a week Stockholm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magnus Ladulasgatan 42, Stockholm 118 27, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for a week Stockholm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stange hotel to see. it is one long corridor on the groundfloor of a building. Good public transport possibilities, metro, bus on hand or on walking distance. Visited from here everything in city center Stockholm. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    93
    120
    68
    43
See reviews for
13
47
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A picture is worth a thousand words? i must be looking at the wrong picture for this hotel.

Stayed for 3 nights = £400. for £50 (total £450) more, i could have got a much better hotel. will be doing that next time.

Classed as 3 star hotel, but it's less than this. the rooms are clean enough, but small and most are on street level so you get the cars and people walking past your window.
It's not a bad location as it's close to lots of good food places, but it looks dreadful from the outside and is in a slightly run down part of Sodermalm.

rooms are small and quite basic, but functionally are okay. Bathroom was neat and tidy, shower adequate. Internet was fast though.

breakfast is limited, but the staff are pleasant. the breakfast room was small-ish and was full when i went there are 8:30am.

the infamous blonde haired Henrik was there one morning and as I was walking past, was reprimanding a small Asian women. Poor soul, she got the wrong end of him. He was quite rude to her and it was sad to see that. she had just walked off the street and had probably asked him something while he was trying to see to another customer and then he retorted "I was talking to the customer and he was is important, you just wait okay?" nasty man.

Room Tip: Small, basic rooms. Limited breakfast, fast internet, Staff okay, but blondie (Henrik) is totally ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

A very small room with curtains but without a window! I ended up with an offensive manager after a friendly question...not something to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rooms: ghastly
Service: horrible

Only redeeming quality is location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stockholm is so wonderful that almost any accommodation would seem bearable, I believe, but "Alexandra Hotel" doesn't make you to 'bear' anything - it is quiet, clean and quite comfortable, though it certainly lacks in charm and originality. The location in Soedermalm is good and even picturesque, but it will take you 15-20 minutes to get to the center on foot, and you'd better be ready for lots and lots of stairways (but they are fun, actually).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I am used to travelling and staying at hotels. So even though the quality of the rooms and facilities were poor, I did not really mind. The staff were friendly and helpful. BUT, the hotel manager was a complete idiot. Shouting at me for bringing a coffee cup out of the breakfast area. He even followed me to make sure i left the cup back where it clearly belonged. I did not make a fuzz about it. But please, make my birthday trip worthwhile, by NOT booking a room at this hotel.

The hotel manager (Henrik) should not be working with people, let alone customers!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Please know that we love Stockholm and have generally had very good hotel experiences (and overall experiences) there. However, for this trip, we had trouble finding something good, and affordable. We took a chance on this one through a ual.com reservation (which connects through Expedia). The hotel is beyond awful, and the first room we were shown had a temperature of about 110 degrees, and had NO WINDOW! It was like a closet that had been converted into a furnace. When we returned to the front desk to complain and asked to be moved, the very, very rude man behind the desk asked "Did you request a room with a window?!?" We were finally moved to a different room, but it too was terrible. (At least there was a window.) People should use utmost caution to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Magnus Ladulasgatan 42, Stockholm 118 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is centrally located in the charming south side of Stockholm city centre, in the quiet and genuine neighbourhood known as Södermalm.The hotel serves as the perfect gateway to explore the rich cultural history evident on the streets of Stockholm. Underground subway, commuter trains and buses are found within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Stockholm International Fairs at Älvsjö are only 5 min away with the commuter train. Ericsson Globe Arena is also 5 min away by underground metro and the famous harbour, the Old Town, ferries to the Royal Island of Djurgården and the Viking Line Cruise Terminal at Stadsgårdskajen are all within an easy 10-15 min walking distance. Södersjukhuset, Eriksdalbadet, Mariatorget, Tantolunden, Zinkensdamm and Medborgarplatsen are located in the near vicinity and only 5-10 min walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.