We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Stockholm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasagatan 38, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A little gem in Stockholm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Such a nice hotel! I was so happy when I entered into the room! The design was perfect and the colors too! The bathroom was quite big. Above all was that the room couldn't have been cleaner!

Although the window was overlooking a building, it didn't bother me at all! (as I can understand all the rooms are overlooking a building because the hotel is in an internal space of a circle of buildings).

The place of the hotel is just perfect and in the center of Stockholm!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    148
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
66
74
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vihti Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed one night for business : Excellent service at the reception : Welcoming and helpful. Rooms are small but functional and the cleanliness level is way above many similar hotels in the region. The bathroom is then again of normal measures. Unlike reported by other reviewers the internet works perfectly. The location is very good right in the heart of Stockholm. A very tasty breakfast and an exceptional experience overall. Will definitely stay again !
One additional note : Please avoid the Q-Park zenith nearby as it is unsafe to park you car as mine got broken into.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper levels as there is a noisy loading bay in the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I choose this place as I was coming by train from Arlanda airport late at night and this is right across the road from the station. The price was right (via expedia) and location was perfect.
Staff were very friendly, breakfast was very good and room was adequate. Rooms aren't big but you only sleep and shower in them and as the bed was extra comfy and shower worked well, mission accomplished.
We like to walk and found most places we wanted to see were in walking distance but if you dont walk, the buses and trains are at the door and tram is a few hundred metres away.
If i came to stockholm again I'd back up here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aargau, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There are two good things to mention about Central Hotel: it´s really central and close to Central Station and Stockholm´s Gamla Stan plus it is clean. Now here´s the list of things that I didn´t like: - a very small room with a small bed and a small tv set
- an insufficient wlan connection. Do not plan to make any conference calls via Skype from your hotel. Won´t work....
- no gym available
- the guys at the reception were not really able to answer my questions (e.g. what are the charges if I use the room phone)
- the noise level - I had a room with windows to the back of the building. Actually a good thing..But at 3.30 am people started to unload trucks, pick up garbage...constant noise level...

Conclusion: For my next Stockholm trip I´ll look for an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A good hotel but be aware that it can be a bit noisy early in the morning when the garbage-van comes and empties the dustbins. A room near ground floor towards the courtyard is not a good place to be under those circumstances.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the courtside near ground floor the mornings when the garbage truck arrives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location is brilliant, and right next to the central station. We were here on a winter day and only for a day. So, we could hardly see the places around. However, we noticed that the hotel is centrally located to most shopping areas. I would highly recommend this place for the breakfast spread. The rooms could be small for someone's taste.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a centrally located hotel in Stockholm for 1 night before our cruise. We had read good things about the Central Hotel here on Trip Advisor and decided to book 2 rooms. The location is perfect, directly around from the train station (you can easily catch the train at the airport). The neighbourhood is great, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are standard European size and while I was originally concerned that there was no A/C I had no problem sleeping. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Stop off at Bistro Bestick around the corner for a great meal, but go early as many of the menu item...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Vasagatan 38, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.