We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasagatan 38, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 156 Hotels in Stockholm
Umea, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A good hotel but be aware that it can be a bit noisy early in the morning when the garbage-van comes and empties the dustbins. A room near ground floor towards the courtyard is not a good place to be under those circumstances.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the courtside near ground floor the mornings when the garbage truck arrives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    146
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
65
71
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location is brilliant, and right next to the central station. We were here on a winter day and only for a day. So, we could hardly see the places around. However, we noticed that the hotel is centrally located to most shopping areas. I would highly recommend this place for the breakfast spread. The rooms could be small for someone's taste.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a centrally located hotel in Stockholm for 1 night before our cruise. We had read good things about the Central Hotel here on Trip Advisor and decided to book 2 rooms. The location is perfect, directly around from the train station (you can easily catch the train at the airport). The neighbourhood is great, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are standard European size and while I was originally concerned that there was no A/C I had no problem sleeping. I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Stop off at Bistro Bestick around the corner for a great meal, but go early as many of the menu item...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked a small one person room. Free wifi available. Asked for late check-out and they actually let me choose my own check-out time - where else can you get this?! Wow :-) Good value for money, nothing fancy just good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent a few nights during a recent business trip to Stockholm. Clean and comfortable with a really nice breakfast. Very handy location across the road from Stockholm Central Train Station. Rooms are small, but adequate and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel is ideally located for Arlanda Express and Stockholm Central station. Reception foyer lacking in atmosphere. Rooms small but quirky. Good breakfast offering. Didn't see much action/custom in the restaurant in the evening: not a good sign.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located very close to the station. Walk out of the station on the lower level and turn left. 20 minute walk to the old city.
My single room was very small. The drawer units were tired. The bathroom was spacious. Another reviewer described how the shower sticks into the bedroom itself- making the room even smaller. Until you see it you cannot believe it!! I had room 206 - single rooms on the other side of the corridor are slightly bigger.
Breakfast was good - excellent cold buffet. Small outdoor courtyard area was nice.
If you pre-book through a company just check that reception charge the correct price on check out - they tried to charge me almost £200 more ! All in all I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Vasagatan 38, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.