We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Reisen to your Saves list
First Hotel Reisen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Gothenburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was overbooked so me and my colleague was offered a suite to help them out. Not a problem for us, free minibar and a nice (but small) suite with jacuzzi. Great breakfast also. Friendly and very helpful staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    284
    125
    27
    11
See reviews for
68
314
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great. But our room was quite small and located on the alley side so it was quite dark even in bright sunlight. The alley was also very noisy at night. And the beds were way too hard.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lisbeth E,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
On one hand we are happy to read that you liked the central location of First Hotel Reisen, on the other hand we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your room. To prevent this dissatisfaction, we offer different kind of rooms to meet different expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again in one our Superior rooms with the view facing the sea side.

Kind regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laarne, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very romantic stay here. Very friendly staff, nice room with free wi-fi, delicious breakfast. The hotel is nearby the old center of Stockholm, one of the most romantic places we ever visited.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Nancy V,

Thank you for your friendly review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed a very romantic stay in Stockholm and at First Hotel Reisen. It is a pleasure that our facilities and services could contribute to your enjoyable stay.
We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Stockholm.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is across the road from the water and centrally located on Gamla Stan.

Our room was clean and tidy. Not huge, but not as small as I had expected after some of the reviews here. Bathroom dated, but well maintained.

Breakfast is fantastic, wide array of high quality products.

Sauna in the basement is a pleasant place to relax with a large plunge pool for cooling off (too cold for swimming in, despite the size). Gym is very basic, just one treadmill, one bike and a few small dumbbells.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Paulnznl,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you had a good stay at First Hotel Reisen and were especially content with our extensive breakfast buffet and the spa, sauna and pool in the 17th century cellars.
We would be happy to welcome you again within the near future.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned after seven years to this elegant hotel with atmosphere, excellent located away from the tourist crowds right at the sea shore of Gamla Stan.

Lobby, lounges and corridors are still nice and cosy but rooms need some maintenance and updating, especially the standard room (and bathroom in particular) we tried the first night. Moved to an executive room: Very nicely decorated and furnished with small balcony facing the Old Town. But also this room needs a bit of maintenance.

Fast, free Wifi. Breakfast OK. Friendly and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Eagle_dk,

Thank you for your positive review about First Hotel Reisen. We’re happy to hear that you’ve had a good stay with us. We want to keep this old hotel in the best standard, but we are aware that some of our rooms need some modernization.
We hope to see you again, welcome back!

Best Regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time at the Reisen, but won't be the last. A beautiful building in a great location and some of the friendliest staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet. Particular plus points are the character (bags of) and the breakfast, which is outstanding. Ok, the rooms are not massive but the place is old; and it is spotless and warm. Cannot recommend highly enough, and will return. Well done to the staff and management.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Craig H,

Thank you for your beautiful review about First Hotel Reisen. We’re very glad to hear that you’ve had a great stay at the hotel. We hope to see you soon again at First Hotel Reisen!
Welcome back!

Best Regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First trip to Stockholm and I wanted a hotel in Gamla stan so I could explore the Old Town. This hotel is in a great location on the waterfront, very close to the Royal Palace and all the little streets, shops and bars/restaurants in the Old Town. The weather wasn't too kind so I didn't do as much exploring as I intended but I will go back in the summer next time! The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful, food good. Good choice at breakfast which is included with the room. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would pay an upgrade next time for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Fiona,

Thank you for your beautiful words about First Hotel Reisen. We’re glad to hear that you’ve had a great stay with us. We hope to see you soon again at the hotel and for better weather next time. Stockholm is a very beautiful city during summertime.
Welcome Back!

Best Regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Reisen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.