We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll feel like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Reisen to your Saves list
First Hotel Reisen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You'll feel like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First Hotel Reisen, is right in the the heart of Old Town.Gamla Stan and just steps from the Royal Palace and museums. The Hotel is in a 15th century building,which is incrediable on its own, The staff are amazing,the rooms divine and the breakfast fit got a King. We have stayed at the hotel twice now and we intend to stay again,and again and again. I can't say enough about this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Take your walking shoes,because everything you and your family will want to experience is just outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bjork27,

Thank you very much for your positive note on tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at First Hotel Reisen and appreciated its special and royal charme.
Please feel welcome to return to our hotel. We would be happy to count you as our guests again.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    259
    113
    25
    11
See reviews for
62
288
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in Old Town. We had a very positive experience at this hotel. The rooms are very small but the water view more than made up for it. The breakfast was a very plentiful buffet in an attractive restaurant. The staff at the front desk was the most friendly and helpful group of people that we have encountered at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 5Margaret,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at First Hotel Reisen and appreciated the service of our front desk staff. It will raise their motivation even more to hear that.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again as our guests.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verviers, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect stay, nice sea view on the port and on the top of that the superb Xmas tree. The breakfast was first class and your team professional and kind. This hotel is in Gamla Stan and very close to everything.
Congratulation, don't change anything.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jean-paul C,

Thank you for your kind and positive review. It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay at First Hotel Reisen. Further it is very supportive to hear that we are on the right track to meet our guests' expectations of a centrally located quality hotel.
We would be happy to welcome you as our guests again.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a superior room located on 5th floor (507), very nice view on harbour & superb Christmas tree. The room was clean,quiet & tied up every day with towels change. The bathroom is small. The breakfast is diversified & can meet every wish. We very much appreciated the use of the sauna with it's fresh pool (15°C), after a day of shopping & visiting it's quite relaxing. Reception attendants are very helpful. We are very satisfied with our 3 nights stay in this hotel. We do recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear tripadvisor member,

Thank you for your positive review. We are really happy that you had a pleasant stay at First Hotel Reisen and could enjoy our spa facilities as well as our breakfast selection and the sea view.
We would really appreciate to welcome you as our guests again.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for one night for a short city break during the Christmas market season.
The hotel is centrally located along the eastern sea front of the small island that make up Gamla Stan (the Old City). Anywhere in Gamla Stan is less than a 10 minute walk away.
The room we had was a bit small, but very cosy with dark wooden floor, one wall with raw bricks and furniture that did not look mass produced.
Only a few rooms have a sea view. Ours, like most, have a view of a brick wall just across a narrow street. But the window had a large single shutter with a mirror on the inside. When held in the standard 45 degree position you can actually have a sea view trough the mirror. Functionality is limited, but the quaintness factor is high.
The bath room was large for such a small room and quite functional with a combined shower and tub. There is a small drawer, but the cup board with cloth hangers is VERY narrow. The double bed was very comfortable.
The restaurant had a lot of customers, which is always a good sign. We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast was excellent, a traditional Scandinavian buffet with lots of cold cuts, herring, cheese and whole grain bread in addition to the standard bacon, eggs and toast you find at any hotel. We had a great stay and are happy to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Cato A,

Thank you for your gratifying review and your extensive description of First Hotel Reisen. We were happy to read that you appreciated the special charm of our hotel and recognized our efforts to create an individual and cosy interior as well as to offer a huge selection for our Scandinavian buffet.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay in Stockholm.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not one of the inexpensive hotels in Stockholm. But if you appreciate quality, location and athmosphere, this is your place. There is also a tiny spa, which we visited and it was worth its name, The Luxury Spa.

Room Tip: This was a very quiet hotel. Our room was on the second floor, facing the alley, and there was pract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lena S,

Thank you for your positive note on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that your expectations of a quality hotel have been fulfilled. Also Our luxury spa team will be happy to hear you appreciated the treatment.
It would be a pleasure to kindly welcome you again at First Hotel Reisen.

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location close to the Old Town and a nice view of the Sea Front from the Superior rooms. The room standard felt below average, even for the Superior room. The room was cold at arrival - this was fixed after our notification. The old, historic interior of the hotel adds flavour to the stay. Popular After Work place on Friday afternoons and evenings.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
First Hotel Rei... S, Receptionist at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Stockholm and First Hotel Reisen. The views of the inlet never disappoint. We do apologize for the dissatisfaction and will forward this information further. The building is very old and it is therefore difficult with renovations. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our bar and all it has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Reisen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.