We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Freys Hotel to your Saves list
Freys Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is absolutly perfect located. Close to T-Central therefore almost middle of the City. 5 Walking-Min to Gamla Stan and kind of behind Kungs and Drottningsgatan. Cosy, individ. furnished rooms give a home feeling. Could be a my Bed and livingroom. Helpfull friendly Staff, ok Breakfast, cosy. Needs to be careful in cleanness and maybe some renovations soon to keep up great standards today. Take it for a Business- or WE trip! Tack så mycket. Ser er igen.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    244
    96
    22
    7
See reviews for
93
180
46
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is excellent - across the street from the Arlanda Express and short to the main attractions and the stores in Stockholm, Drottninggatan, I was in the 6´th floor and the wi fi did not work perfectly there, but in the lobby it was excellent. The room was fine and clean and I hade a small kitchen wth good coffe and tee to brew. The staff was nice and it is a friendly hotell.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Freys for 3 nights, and did not expect much. I was surprised to find a very comfortable hotel, with a room that was small but extremely comfortable, excellent breakfast, and a very nice service. The decoration of the room was nice (I even had a teddy bear on the bed, how cute!), and the hotel seemed to run very efficiently.
The location is excellent - just across the street from the Arlanda Express and the central train station, in proximity to the main attractions and the stores in Stockholm. The WiFi reception was good, and I enjoyed my stay very much.
I only had three small problems - it was difficult to get the elevator in the morning, the bed was a little too soft for me, and the curtains did not close well. But all in all I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, nicely decorated. The room was just too small to be comfortable, even with what little carry-on luggage the two of us had. No safe in the room.

Really did not like the tiny bathroom with inconveniently placed collapsable shower cabin.

Very good location, close to the Central Station, which is the reason we booked it. Walking distance from Gamla Stan and the City Hall. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location 100m from the train direct from the airport. I really can't put my finger on it but this hotel left me cold. Tiny room (had to side step around bed to get into it or out ) nothing like the website photo. Had to crawl under desk to plug in kettle and burnt myself on pipes for fridge. Disappointing.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With it's sentral location and beautiful interior I had high expectations for Frey's hotel. The rooms are lovely with good size, and have lots of character. I had booked a one-night stay for a business trip. Upon arrival, I did not receive a word of welcome or indeed a smile from the staff, who throughout my stay seemed totally uninterested in communicating with their guests in a professional way. The hotel computer system had wrongly booked me for two nights (I made the reservation via the hotel's website). The receptionist started a discussion with me whether I had made the mistake. I showed the confirmation of the one-night stay as proof. The receptionist made no effort to apologize for the mistake, and other enquiries I made was met with rolling eyes and a generally condersending attitude. The staff seemed more interested in chatting to each other than dealing with the guests, and they spoke freely about other guests in a negative way in front of me. I was frankly shocked about this complete lack of customer service and unprofessional behavior. The heart of a great hotel experience, no matter how beautiful the interior, is it's staff. Frey's hotel is lovely on the outside, and charmeless and cold on the inside.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotta B, Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

We are most sorry for the impression we caused you. However we would very much appreciate to get in Contact with you in order to further discuss what happened and how we can make it up to you.
Please contact me.
Charlotta Brandel
Hotel Manager
T +46 8 505 863 89
Charlotta.brandel@freyshotels.com

Warmest regards.
Freys Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in very comfortable, but small room with a mini-fridge. It prepared us for the cruise ship cabin which was even smalller. We had a standard twin room with beds pushed together to make a king-size bed. We found a "fall special" online at Frey's website and paid 3939 Krona for 3 nights including breakfast. The bathroom was immaculate and had good toiletries and big fluffy white towels. Large flat-screen tv mounted on wall.
The location was perfect - directly across from Arlanda Express train (hotel can sell you tickets) and easy walking to Gamla Stan and sights in Normalm. Included breakfast had many choices in the attached restaurant. Dinner and lunch was available there also, but we ate elsewhere so can't rate. The restaurant was always busy, so probably a good sign, but it was fairly expensive. We had an early morning flight and the reception arranged breakfast boxes to go. Staff was very helpful even though the reception area was being rearranged and painted.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.