We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed/annoyed this time round” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Freys Hotel to your Saves list
Freys Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“disappointed/annoyed this time round”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I am no longer as happy with it as I was last year. My wife and I were given a room that was so miniscule that there was only space enough for one suitcase to be open at a time. I found it strange that there was no soap in the bathroom. When I enquired at the desk later that evening, I was told by probably the most obnoxious receptionist I've ever encountered that I should simply use the body lotion or the body wash/shampoo. I've never been in a hotel that didn't provide hand soap!! To be fair, all the other staff at the reception desk during the time we were there were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel management appears primarily concerned with making money and the guest is literally bombarded with information about items for sale. This includes everything from the Frey's teddy bear on the bed, the Frey's body lotion + body wash/shampoo in the bathroom, the Frey's beer, or even the Frey's umbrellas. When we left, we mentioned that the room was very warm and the only way we could cool it was by leaving the window open all night (our room was on the same floor as the terrace so leaving the window open during the day when we were out was not an option). The receptionist stated that there was no air-conditioning in the hotel and asked us if there wasn't a fan in the room. There wasn't. Presumably only guests in certain rooms are entitled to a fan. A bit more attention to room cleanliness wouldn't have hurt either as there was quite a bit of dust in our room -- more than I've seen in other hotels during my last trips to Scandinavia. I can honestly say that I've seldom been so get out of a hotel room whether for the day or when we checked out. While other hotels may not be as conveniently located, there are some that I've stayed at in Stockholm that offer better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinniBLO, Guest Relations Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very sad to hear that your visit at Freys Hotel wasn´t a satisfaction this time.We didnt show us from our best side unfortunately. It´s very sad and we will take care of all those things you mention in your review Thank you for staying at our hotel and we wish that you enjoyed your stay in Stockhom and hope seeing you again at Freys Hotels ! Best Regards Ninni Blomberg, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    244
    96
    22
    7
See reviews for
93
181
46
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, the location in very good, 5 min walking from the train station and very central, you can easily walk to the most touristic areas. Rooms are nice and clean, beds are comfortable and the bathroom in not too small and clean. I only had a problem with the hot water: I couldn't get it as hot as I wanted, but it was not cold either, so it was fine. Rooms are very quiet, as all the windows have double glass, a very important detail as you are in the city centre and the traffic could bother you. Another nice detail: you have curtains in the rooms, which is quite unusual in Sweden, but you really appreciate it when the sun comes out so early in the morning! The hotel personnel was always very nice, and the breakfast was really good, with a huge buffet with a great variety of different food. Overall, it was more than a pleasant stay, I surely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel over a weekend from Friday to Monday as was significantly cheaper on the websites I viewed. This was possibly owing to business use during the week.

Location is ideal when travelling from the airport by either Flygbussarna or Arlanda Express and makes a great base as the public transport (bus and underground rail) are convenient for the hotel.

Had double rooms for single occupancy which were good, comfortable and very clean although a tad dated in terms of decoration. The rooms were also quiet.

Very good breakfast and the large breakfast area was very busy on Saturday. Of particular note was the bacon which was nicely cooked and probably the best I have tasted at hotels.

Very efficient and welcoming receptionists and very good staff in the breakfast area keeping everything neat and tidy.

Enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Third floor facing the back of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well, as you can see, it was a three, but it was a close decision.

The hotel is fantastically situated, near the station and within walking distance of the Old Town and other areas visitors might want to see. It's spotlessly clean. The WiFi was fast and flawless. The staff were uniformly polite and enthusiastic. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The usual stuff was all there - shampoo and so on. You can make tea and coffee. It has a tradition and isn't a soulless chain hotel.

So why a 3 ? It's the room itself. I booked a standard single. OK, I don't expect a massive bed, or even a massive room, but what I got was a triangular shaped space at the end of a corridor. It had everything in it that I needed, but, my goodness, it was an awkward shape and it was tiny.I kept tripping over my suitcase. I won't quarrel about the bathroom - wetroom-type units don't bother me at all.

I just don't think this should be offered in a 4 star hotel at the price I paid. I noticed there was a door to the adjoining room. The room I had would've been fine for a kid sleeping next door to her parents.

I so wish I could have given a higher rating - I liked the hotel. I know that Stockholm is expensive, but space can't be at such a premium as to offer such a room.

I'd actually go back to the hotel - but only if I got a square-shaped room!

Room Tip: Avoid the triangular single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a superior room with balcony in this boutique, charming hotel in November, 2012. We were in Stockholm for 9 nights and used the hotel as our base during that time. It started to feel like a home away from home. I originally chose this hotel as I wanted to be close to the city centre, was value conscious and I also liked the idea of having a balcony. I don’t regret my choice at all and have since made another booking with this great hotel. Next time, we will stay for longer.

The hotel is within throwing distance of the Arlanda Express. You can see the signs for the hotel as soon as you exit the station and there’s even a screen in the hotel lobby that will tell you when the next train to the airport is leaving. The hotel is situated on a small, dead-end street that connects to Drottninggatan (the walking street/mall). There are many shops and restaurants nearby and you’re well within walking distance of a supermarket (useful for stocking the kitchenette) and a tunnelbana station is also very close by.

I made the booking for the hotel online, on their own (English language) website, a few months in advance and received a early-booking discount. I also asked several questions via email, which were answered promptly and in a very helpful way.

The room we received faced into the courtyard area and not out onto the streets. We didn’t mind at all. The rooms all seem to be decorated in unique ways and the styling of our room did not disappoint. The inclusions were exactly as advertised and the quality was the same as in the photographs on their website.

We reached the hotel via the Arlanda Express, taking advantage of the proximity, speed and convenience. On our return to the airport, there were issues with the line and we took a taxi from the station. There’s a taxi rank right outside the station door.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. At night, the doors are locked, but there’s a buzzer and the staff were very quick to let us in. We saw the cleaning staff daily and they always said hello to us as we passed them in the corridor. Our room was always well cleaned and we were given many fresh towels.

Other points:
- I loved the cat paintings throughout the lobby and corridors. It’s a little quirky but it added colour, was fun and made me think of my cats at home.
- Cleaning staff are very helpful and accommodating.
- Late checkout is available for a small fee.
- Breakfast (smörgåsbord) was included and it was delicious with many options.
- The breakfast area was busiest on weekends. I’d recommend eating early.
- We arrived exactly on check in time and our room was ready.
- The room had a small kitchenette, which was a blessing. It had a fridge and two hot plates. We didn’t have any saucepans or anything similar in the room. To be fair, I didn’t ask about them or miss them. The in-room coffee options were a nice touch. The microwave was useful.
- The guests seemed to be a mix of business and leisure travellers. There seemed to be a number of conferences/meetings held during our stay.
- Overall, it was a great experience.

Finally, I noticed that I labelled my photos as being a "deluxe room with balcony". It was actually a "superior room with balcony" and, in my opinion, it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Freys hotel is located just a 100 steps away from the train station where the Arlanda Express coming straight from the airport stops. The hotel is also very close locaed to the main shopping area. The hotel is profiled at a 4 star rate however that is too much credit. 3 Star is far more suitable. The rooms are small though cosy. The beds small and short with a very soft matras. The bathroom is small as well and very basic. Everything is clean but not very up to date. The closet is an open one and does not offer sufficient space when you want to hang all your garments. The hotel has a cosy bar offering an outstanding collection of beers. There is a terrace outside but you have to get in to order and take your consumptions. The hotel offers really unique and outstanding meeting rooms/facilities! The right hotel when you look for a convenient location. Wen you are a demanding guest; don't go.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Freys is a well-managed business hotel just a short distance from the central train station (direct train to the airport is worth the extra price). It is on a quiet side street, and my room backed onto a courtyard with no noise at all. Rooms are typical European business hotel, with functional work desk, small sofa, clean private bath. At these prices, don't expect hectares of open floor space. Staff was very helpful in getting power adapter to function. I arrived early, and just arranged to store bags until a room was ready. Breakfast buffet was up to swedish standards, more than ample. The restaurant converts to a Belgian theme for lunch and dinner, lots of beer choices and specialities like beef stew and rabbit. Quite reasonable and full of locals venturing into a Belgian theme.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.