We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay while visiting Stockholm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Freys Hotel to your Saves list
Freys Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #47 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay while visiting Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just returned from a Scandinavia vacation and stayed at Freys Hotel for 2 nights while we were in Stockholm. It was a perfect hotel for our visit. As others have mentioned, it is convenient to everything you'll visit with very easy access to the Arlanda Express. The staff at the reception desk was very knowledgable and always helpful and friendly. Our room was compact but quite comfortable. The bed had very nice linens. The only comment I have is that the lights on the headboard aren't really functionable.The bathroom was clean and easy to use. The shelf was large enough to hold my cosmetics and my husbands shaving supplies. The hallways were well lite, clean, and never cluttered - even while the rooms were being serviced. We had supper at the bar in the restaurant one evening and the food was good. The bartender was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was very, very good with many different offerings. We enjoyed our stay at Freys Hotel. If we return to Stockholm we will stay there again and we would recommend it to others. The only reason I'm rating it a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the lights on the headboard. Otherwise, I would rate this a 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Director of Sales at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for writing your review about Freys Hotel Sockholm. Thank you for staying at Freys Hotel and we hope to seeing you again during your next visit to Stockholm.
Freys Hotel Tiina Kalpa /Sales & marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    266
    103
    23
    8
See reviews for
99
196
51
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great small hotel, located close by to everything you need in central Stockholm. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff and the breakfast buffet. Highly recommend if staying in Stockholm, a couple of minutes walking distance from the Arlanda express from the airport. Give it a go, you'll enjoy it too.

Room Tip: We had the top floor with a small balcony which was nice, meant the rooms were a little bigger that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiinaKalpa, Sales & Marketing Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was also great to hear that you noticed our great location in Stockholm city Centre . We hope seeing you again In Stockholm and at Freys Hotels ! With kindest regards, Tiina Kalpa / Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is in a great location across the road and half a block up a quiet street from the Arlanda Airport Express train (which is a quick 20 min ride to the airport) The rooms are typical European size and the beds comfortable. There is a restaurant downstairs and the breakfast was good though often crowded. The hotel is easy walking distance to the Palace and other major sites. They have an odd collection of paintings of cats in the public areas but otherwise very nice decor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The convenience of the recently refurbished Freys Hotel is one of its great strengths. Arrive from Arlanda Airport on the Arlanda Express and the hotel is just across the road from the terminus. The hotel was even offering a cut-price ticket for the 20-minute rail link to Arlanda. But convenience doesn't stop there. Once ensconsed at the hotel, most of Stockholm's central sights and shopping are an easy walk away. The pedestrianised Drottninggaten is two minutes away at the end of the street and Hotorget market is a little further on. For those destinations which are further afield there is ready access to the metro service (although one line of this was closed during our stay). We walked to Gamla Stan, the Old Town, and to the river terminii of various water taxis and ferries to the islands.
Our room was, to be kind, compact. All was well designed but hanging and drawer space were limited in a room which found space for a desk, chair, bedside tables, a fan, a television and a minibar. A kettle for making tea or coffee is not included and the sweet-scented handcream and shower gel might not be to everyone's taste. The lights which stick out in the middle of the bed and get in the way when trying to read, were ridiculous. But for the rest, all scored well. The bed was comfortable; the shower efficient; the linen clean and well-serviced throughout our three-day stay. Breakfast was abundant and included in the tariff. For a centrally placed hotel, our room was generally remarkably quiet. The sound levels were efficiently muffled by double glazing.
The associated restaurant is a Belgian bar offering a considerable range of beers as well as food. The 187SEK Swedish dish special - potato pancakes with pork and lingonberries - included a small beer or wine and compared well with other local eateries.
A particular word of praise goes to the 24/7 reception staff who handled problems and questions cheerfully and efficiently.
This was a happy stay for us. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

On all my last trips to Stockholm I've stayed at Freys Hotel, and there are two reasons for that.
One is the location which is very close to Stockholm Central train station. Just a few hundred meters away. The other reason is the very friendly staff in the reception. They just make me feel welcome each time, even if it's been a long time since I last visited.

The rooms are OK and I slept in a very good bed.
The breakfast could be better, but I can't really complain to much as they have a fairly good selection, just not what I wanted.

Not the cheapest place in Stockholm, but so far my hotel of choice in this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved the hotel! They lost one of our reservation (hotels.com did not send it to them), but they made every effort to accommodate us. I will give them 5 stars just for their service!

Location is awesome! Everything... ...banks, restaurants, public transport is just a few steps away. Stockholm Central is so close by that we could walk with our luggage to catch a train for Oslo. Kulturhuset is about 10 mins walk. And the hotel itself is very charming. Rooms are tiny and so are the bathrooms, but the cleanliness and the charming nature overshadowed that.

I would definitely go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were on our way back from Lapland when we stopped at Freys hotel.

The main advantage was the near distance to Stockholm Central (and the good discount). Coming from the night train we arrived before breakfast time and got a real nice welcome from the front desk personnel (really funny, really helpful, really good)

Unfortunately the rest did not match the expectations. It was fairly average: average room (a bit small, but OK), average breakfast, average restaurant, ... the charm was slightly missing.


And as always in Sweden, it was quite expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 101 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.