We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Stockholm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Birger Jarl to your Saves list
Hotel Birger Jarl
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 10432, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two nights in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Good location - reasonably central; very clean and comfy rooms and excellent food. simple but v good menu and wine list and excellent buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    468
    154
    22
    12
See reviews for
94
337
77
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at Birger Jarl last Christmas at a very cheap rate. Birger Jarl is a rather unexciting but well run hotel that will provide a good night's sleep and cause little annoyance. Location is quite convenient (although not very touristy) and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

My parents live around the corner and I would use this hotel more often if the rates were low enough. However, they are often above 150 euro a night and at that rate, I would advice chosing a different hotel, the Birger Jarl simply isn't worth that amount of money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We liked it very much! Great area. Clean rooms and cozy beds. Brekfast ... mmm yummi!
We would go here again. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel is not bang smack in the middle of town, but only a few min walk away. There are loads of cosy nice restaurants within 5 min walk and everything you need.

The room I had was quite small (a single) but had a big bed, a really comfy chair to watch tv from, a desk and everything you need. There is complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, i had an ironing board, free internet and the breakfast was included. The breakfast was good, with continental and cooked brekafast available, buffet style. I missed the danish pastries, but really could not complain.

The staff are polite, nice and helpful. The chef did tell his staff off in front of everyone in the restaurant, but with an open kitchen I suppose it is hard to avoid...

Overall i think this hotel is great value for money and would def stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back as they face a church and no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Rooms are really small, bathroom is too. Rooms need refurbishing. Breakfast is excellent though- fruit juices, wafles, eggs and omelets, swedish breads... Everything fresh!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at the Birger Jarl on several occasions this year whilst on business and pleasure. If you keep a look at for deals, you can get a good rate which makes this a good option. Great location - Less than 5 mins to the T-bana and only 10 mins to the shops, bars and restaurants around Stureplan. Breakfasts are good, but can be a little hectic. The hotel is undergoing some renovation around the reception and public areas (due to be finished in Oct), so this is only a 3 star at the moment. If your staying regularly, sign up for the loyalty scheme that gives you 1 free night when you stay 10 times (also applied to the sister hotel, Tegnerluden).

Room Tip: Rooms all have different designer themes. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the suites when visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is probably the "safest" (crime-wise) in Stockholm – one half of the building is the hotel and the other half is the Police Station - LOL!

I hope they have renovated their lifts (since July 2010) as when I got in the lift with 6 others, the door closed and there it stopped. It was a tiny lift and there was no button to open the doors and no phone! After pressing the alarm a couple of times, someone came on the loudspeaker and I told him we were stuck in the lift. When the guy prized open the lift doors – he said we had too many people in it – but the sign said “8 people allowed”. It happened again the next morning with 3 people in the lift, after that I decided it was “safer” to walk up the fire exit to our room.

Our room was a very, very tiny and compact but an extremely hot room – just like a sauna. No air-conditioning or fans. It was so damn hot (being July) that we opened up our window and the front door to create a breezeway – the fresh air was a relief!

The bathroom was even worse – you could barely turn around in it. Having a shower was a real task – a very slippery bath and no hand rails – very unsafe!

Other than that, the hotel was centrally located and very handy to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 10432, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Birger Jarl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.