We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome - this hotel really doesn't give a shame to the king's name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl to your Saves list
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birger Jarlsgatan 21 | P.O. Box 1776, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% discount
Ranked #38 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
“awesome - this hotel really doesn't give a shame to the king's name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, I had a very special room - upgraded without any request.
It was awesome, the room, he atmosphere, even the service soved a small problem with the receipt address quick and uncomplicated, simply via email.
Breakfast was also delicious, and nothing important missed, the room is small but the atmosphere is also phantastic..

Room Tip: First have a look at the room and remain it untouched until you decide to take it or ask politely fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    146
    42
    19
    4
See reviews for
42
103
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I arrived 7 AM on a Sunday morning , having no sleep the night before, I needed a room then and there at 7 AM (My check in time was 3 PM) got a small little room, but a room at 7 AM.
Could have upgraded my room to what was booked at a later point, but then I had to repack my stuff so I was in this little room by my own will. The room was facing the street on the 5th floor and had no problem with street noises. The phone in the was not working OK so I used the one at the front desk (Guess most have cellphones and never use regular phones ? ).
The reason I give this hotel 5 stars is the front desk. Pauline, Jenny and all of you.

Thanks,
Lennart Dahlstrom

Atlantic Highlands, NJ, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited Stockholm again on a business trip. I have been using this hotel for years now as it is very conveniently located at the beginning of a main pedestrian street and close to where I am heading. People working there are always very helpful and polite, breakfast is fine but rooms are very small (at least single rooms). A decent hotel for you to choose if you do not intend to stay in for long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us during your trips to Stockholm! Our room categories vary in size, so for your next trip, please feel free to contact me directly at christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se and I will be happy to guide you to find the room category that best suits your needs.

Kind regards

Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was back in Stockholm for another visit, and decided to give Kung Carl another chance to win me over.

And win me over, he did!

First of all, there is still a mismatch between the ordering system my company offers for booking hotels, so I did not know what to expect when I showed up on monday evening this week. Jennifer, the nice and competent girl servicing me in the reception, quickly had me checked in and upgraded to a very nice and spacious double room, much to my surprise.

The room was very tasty in its decoration, not the same horrifying decor as my last visit, and with the windows facing away from the always-busy Birger Jarls Gatan. It quickly dawned on my, that my expectations for my first visit a few months back, simply were wrong. Kung Carl offers a unique experience for almost every room in the hotel, offering an invitation to come back and try another room, and then another!

I still stand by my advise to ask for a room as high as possible, facing away from Birger Jarls Gatan - I even recommend you to pay a little extra for this, if needed. Apart from that, Kung Carl has definitely grown on me, and this has not been my last visit.

The last "star", keeping Kung Carl from gaining all 5 stars, is because of lack of available tv channels (sorry, I guess I'm a bit spoiled and not having Discovery available was a bit of a let-down :-/) as well as the lack of a pool/spa (I know, this will never happen in such an old building as the one Kung Carl is located in).

Room Tip: Again, ask for a room as high as possible and away from Birger Jarls Gatan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff- I arrived at 1am and still found a nice welcome.
The only issue I had was with the room size. As above, I found the room very small, even after an upgrade. It was ok for me as I was on business, with hand luggage only. But a couple would have found this room too small. Disappointing, given this was not a cheap room.
Everything else about this hotel is very satisfactory. E.g staff, service, breakfast, location...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us. We do have small and large rooms, in total we have 9 categories covering small single rooms, classic single rooms, classic double rooms, superior double rooms, family rooms, deluxe double rooms, deluxe bath rooms, junior suite, and last but not least one suite.

I would be very grateful if you wouldn’t mind getting back to me directly with your name (or room number), so that we can review whether the room you stayed in is definitely correctly categorised. My e-mail is christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se.

Many thanks again and I wish you a great day.
 
Kind regards  

Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel has a unique style - all rooms are different, with individual decor. The room I had was reasonably spacious, but was very poorly lit - very small window, and room lighting was from silly "Eco" lights (read: low watt, low power, low light). It was barely light enough to work at the desk.

Bed was reasonably comfortable, but was initially made up as two twins pushed together, rather than as a double that I'd booked, so I had to get the bed re-made up as a double - twin mattresses were not joined, so every morning I awoke to find the two halves had started to part. Also, even after the bed was re-made into a double, only twin quilts were provided. Pillows were not feather, very soft and left me with a stiff neck each morning.

The bathroom was functional, but water pressure in the shower was dry poor. Towels provided were limited, no face clothes were provided, and on my last night, only one bath towel was provided.

Breakfast (inc in my rate) was nothing special - the usual continental menu, with a couple of hot dishes. The restaurant in the evening was always busy, but I didn't eat there, as the one time I tried to, I was told no tables were available!

One thing that was very good was Internet connectivity - it's free, available throughout the hotel, with good connections everywhere, and fast - very fast (sometimes I was getting 80-90MB/s downloads!)

Overall, not somewhere I'd recommend. The facilities, room comfort and amenities do not justify the price paid (almost £200/night).

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian O, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback. If it is not too much trouble, would it perhaps be possible for you to let us know the room number of the room you stayed in? We would very much like to look into the items you describe and fix any faults. I can be reached on christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se and I would be very grateful for your help.

Many thanks in advance.

Kind regards
Christian Östlundh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The room was on top floor and coziest hotel room I have seen. Spacy enough, good wifi, clean bathroom and shower. Only minus was the big video ad across the street which was blinking through the curtains at night.


Breakfast was disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21 | P.O. Box 1776, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.