We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Stockholm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stallmastaregarden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stallmastaregarden Hotel to your Saves list
Stallmastaregarden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norrtull, Stockholm 11347, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Stockholm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights in May 2013 and overall had a great experience.
Check-in and check-out all went smooth and the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful giving us advice of what to do in Stockholm.


My (standard)room was facing a large road but I didn't hear any traffic noise at night.
Large (Queen size?) bed with good pillows.
Safety box, ironer and free Wifi on the room was great. They also provided enough hangers in the closet.

Breakfast buffet was excellent! Good coffee, good range of bread, cheese, fruits and the scramble eggs was super good. Don't forget to try the Swedish pickled herring, a great treat with egg and Swedish caviare.

The restaurant also have a limited but good lunch menu. Tried the "Biff Rydberg" which was very good and it was a generous portion.

I can also recommend the a la carte menu in the evening. Staff provided good service and recommendations and the chicken and fish we tried was very yummie!

The hotel is not that close to the city center so you need to take a subway, about 15-20 mins walk, bus 5-10 mins walk, or take a taxi (which is expensive in Sweden).

This hotel is great if you have a business meeting nearby, for couples, family that enjoy good food and peaceful hotel, tourists who will enjoy the nearby park/nature of Sweden and also be able to see Stockholm for the first time.

If you are a jogger the nearby park is ideal, so don't forget to bring your gear.

I can see myself return to this hotel, for the location, food and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    67
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
117
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

well I was fairly enthusiastic after having read the tripadvisor score of this hotel. actually a few things did bother me. first I agree the east side of the hotel is gorgeous with the lake and the park but the west side is a real disappointment: motorway, road works...therefore it's noisy and you need a fair amount and denial to convince yourself that it's worth the 190 pounds per night.
another let down the restaurant staff...clearly understaffed and in need of some further training and retraining !
so if you have a lot of money to spend then that's a great place to be
but if you have some money and you care about the service you get then search more

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenokkerzeel, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked the hotel for 6 nights in April 2013 and had twice dinner in the restaurant.

Upon arrival on Sunday evening around 1930H, the restaurant just closed, but the staff proposed to prepare a sandwich, which was nothing special but the glass of white wine made it OK.

I had a standard room which had a very good king size bed, and a nice wooden floor. The bathroom was clean, but I don't like to take a shower in the bath. I prefer to have a separate shower. The room was nicely cleaned each day.
The windows were efficient of reducing the outside construction works, and they had built in curtains. But even with these lowered and closing the inside curtains, the early sunrise light was still shining trough. But nothing to worry about if you need to get up early for meetings.

The restaurant dinner was tasty, but compared to Belgian restaurants the price was quiet high (like most things in Sweden). The staff at the restaurant was friendly, but the female receptionists are even more friendly.

Overall very good experience, I will probably book this hotel again. You can walk in 30 minutes to the centre of Stockholm.

Just one thing on taking a taxi to this hotel, make sure that you have the address correct because the taxi drivers don't know where it is located exactly (3 different taxi drivers and they all had the same problem. The address wasn't listed correctly in their GPS...strange. One almost dropped me off at the Norrtull hotel...)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

There is SO much nice things in Stallmästaregården, but still something was missing. The atmosphere was amazing, very warm welcome. The interior was exquisitely decorated with great attention on detail. We loved the view to the bay. But but... there was some things that just simply should have done better, first and most important of which was the breakfast. It was just too average, ever poor compared to the Swedish standard. There was some nice cold cuts from local producer, but the selection of yogurts, cereals and bread was less than average. We've learned to expect so much more in places like this. Rooms were cosy, but the one we stayed in didn't keep warm without an extra heater. The heater was provided with a very fast and prompt service, but it's still a bit difficult to give a great review if something like this happens. Extra points for the amazingly friendly and nice receptionist, what a personality! I give five stars for the Service because of her, in the restaurant the service wasn't anything special, even a bit cold. The restaurant on the other hand didn't meet our expectations at all - we ate a holiday menu which really wasn't too good - and we are not picky!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I travel to Stockholm on a (nearly) weekly basis and have stayed in the usual places. Now I won't stay anywhere else. The front of house service is warm and friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are really nice and the food in the restaurant is great. Don't be put off by the on-going road construction at the front - the view at the back over Häga Park and the lake is wonderful. The hotel is really well run and you get the feeling that all the staff are really engaged and proud to work here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Half way to the airport this hotel was quite a revelation. This place is old (I believe built in the 1500s - overheard cannot confirm). The hotel reception is very very quaint and has the old world charm. I truly loved it. Lots of wooden beams with iron nails, etc.

The location is set besides a lake (could not enjoy it as it was frozen and with a thick coat of snow on it - was offered a skating lesson - did pass on). Even for winter it was a wonderful sight, I can imagine that it would be extremely beautiful during the summer.

We (my colleagues and I) stayed here for a business workshop. The rooms are also old with a modern touch. The chairs, the dresser / cupboard have a unique flavor to it.

The restaurant is (as informed) a part of a chain run by one of the top chefs in Stockholm. Being a vegetarian I was skeptical if I would get something that was fulfilling. Lo behold - I was thoroughly happy to note with the unique and flavorful vegetarian fare that was dished out. Very well taken care of. Very Happy.

Great Place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

A true pleasure staying in this hotel
beautiful surroundings , countryside-inn- type of place though easy to get to the Centre of Stockholm
Free parking. Leave the car there and take a bus, the busstop is just a short walk away from the hotel
Excellent rooms in gustavian style . Romantic atmosphere. Luxury toiletries
Beautiful bathroom! veryy comfortable beds with soft hifhquality bedlinen
We stayed in a Suite. Bedroom upstairs and a beautiful Sitting area downstairs
Excellent service .
Excellent breakfast .
In other words Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stallmastaregarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallmastaregarden Hotel

Address: Norrtull, Stockholm 11347, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stallmastaregarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Stallmastaregarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stallmastaregarden Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stallmastaregarden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.