We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Scandinavian Introduction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Foresta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Foresta to your Saves list
Scandic Foresta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
“A beautiful Scandinavian Introduction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

A beautiful hotel set ontop of a hill with commanding views over the outskirts of Stockholm. From our room all you could see was forest and water, and you would not know that you were less than fifteen minutes from the heart of the city.
The room (No 525) was a beauty with lovely Nordic design, with wooden floorboards, plenty of space and mod cons. Bathroom was pokie but was fully stocked with plenty of amenities.
Hotel staff were extremely helpful and flexible. With the warm weather they were able to provide a fan (alas no air con), early check in was no problem and they even happily arranged an early breakfast on the morning we departed.
The hotel is located on one of Stockholm's many islands but is only a short trip by light rail and subway to the city centre. Because of its idyllic location it was an extremely peaceful setting. The only caution is the walk from the station to the hotel is a little challenging with luggage. Its a bit steep.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff Flexibility/Service and pleasant location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    37
    13
    3
See reviews for
53
52
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

The hotel was a bit of a trek from the train station, but easily reached by taxi. If you get a room with a view, the extra walking or money paid on a taxi is worth it! The rooms are quite spacious and the service was great. The breakfast was okay and the bar closed earlier than indicated, but you can get drinks from the front desk.

**The hotel is very close to a supermarket, which definitely comes in handy in preparation for the mega shopping opportunities that Stockholm gives its visitors.

  • Liked — The view from my room
  • Disliked — The location from the city
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a room with a view and don't get a single room in the tower
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

I had reserved a room at the Hotel Foresta two month before my stay. When I arrived at the hotel at about 11 pm, the hotel was severely overbooked. They transported me to another hotel about ten kilometer farther out of town. This hotel was nicely located, but of a much lower category. The next day I returned to the hotel. I asked for a quiet room, but was given a room just above the terrasse. The noise from the other guest, enjoying their beer only died well past midnight. In the morning and during the day there were constructions going on. My room itself was nice, however the toilet needed some thorough cleaning and the sink had some cracks.
When I checked out, they were not willing to honor the price in the reservation but charged me 20% more, arguing, that currency rates had changed (even when I showed them the original price in SEK).
Regarding location, yes it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to Ropsten, but then it either takes twenty minutes walk or a cab ride (about 60 to 70 SEK) or a wait for the next train or bus. In total it should take about 40 Minutes from the city center.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Liked this hotel a lot but restaurant not open during our stay and bistro very over priced. At breakfast buffet either too few staff or male member too basy chatting to other staff. Eg. before 9am no cutlery, butter,milk or eggs out. Otherwise excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for a special birthday celebration and were delighted.

It is situated on a cliff-top on the beautiful island of Lidingo - beyond the bustle of Stockholm city centre, but very easily accessible due to the city's excellent transport system. From the front, the sunset views of the bridge and the amazingly clean sea bobbing with boats and yachts are amazing.The view from the side of the hotel is into the fabulous Millesgarden next door. There are no dull views!

The hotel is stylish and tasteful with blonde wood and soothing Nordic colour schemes. The lobby area is cool and attractive and the bedrooms have a "boutique hotel feel." Staff are pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfasts are varied and delicious.

As for Stockholm, it is truly lovely. You will want to return again and again.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

We stayed here for three nights in february 2004.
The hotel is a 3 star, but is by far more beautiful then a lot of 4 stars in France, Italy, Spain and England!
It's warm hotel, prjected by a famous swedish designer,with wooden floor, swedish design wooden forniture, staff very pleasant and helpful.
We had to check out at 3 in the night, and we had no problem; concierge booked in advance a taxi for us and everything went well!!!
Location: out of city center, 10-15 min by metro (from central station: 4 stops on the red line till ropsten, than change train and go to Torsvik station, only 1 stop away) but location is fantastic.
It' situated in Millesgarden, right in front of the north sea, that during the winter is frozen: incredible wiev!!!
We spent only about 55-60 € per night: Great value and a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Foresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.