We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Foresta

Save Saved
You added Scandic Foresta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Foresta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet, Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My entire family stayed at the Scandic Foresta this summer for three nights, ages ranging from 5 to 75. While the first room my mother was placed in felt quite cramped and had half of its window blocked by an exterior wall, the hotel staff was very accommodating in transferring her to another part of the hotel upon request, one of the rooms in the tower with a nice view of the lake. All of the rooms were clean and comfortable, although there were signs of deterioration on the hallway walls in the section of the hotel that the bulk of our family was situated in. None of this deterioration was visible inside the rooms themselves.

The surrounding area is very quiet and peaceful, located immediately adjacent to Millesgården (which was worth a see), and an enjoyable 10-15 minute walk across the bridge (or you can catch a bus near the hotel) to the Ropsten train station that will connect you into downtown Stockholm. The biggest draw back for us was upon arrival to the airport, where we realized the extraordinary expense of reaching the hotel. Since there were so many of us, the airport train into Stockholm at some US$40 per person (which would necessitate further travel still to the hotel) was prohibitively expensive. We settled on three taxis for the twelve of us, which still cost a fairly steep US$100 for each taxi fare from the airport directly to our hotel. Note that the ferry port is close to the hotel.

The included breakfast offered a nice assortment of the usual fare, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, along with fresh cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, knackebrod, pate, deli meats and cheeses, jams, yogurt, cereals, blueberry soup, juice, coffee, tea and fruits. I would recommend steering clear of their buffet dinner experience however, as both the variety and quality of food was disappointing, coming in at a flat expense of over US$50 per person. I understand however that the buffet is only done every once in a while, and that often you can order a la carte for dinner service, though we did not try that. Unfortunately, there are very few restaurants in the area, but for something tasty, I would recommend checking out the cafe next door at Millesgården (you do not need to pay admission to eat there).

The hotel lobby includes a small children's play area with various toys and a game console, and nearby is a storage room for your baggage, in the event that you would like to have the hotel keep your bags after you check out. To note, the baggage holding room is locked electronically by the front desk and is opened for public access upon request.

All in all, Scandic Foresta was a reasonable, quiet place to stay. Not in perfect repair (some parts of the hotel were under active construction), but I would consider it clean, the staff was very pleasant and the rooms served their purpose. A little bit out of the way in the quiet upscale island suburb of Lidingö, but if you don't mind walking to the trains and buses, and can stomach the travel expense from the airport (or arrive by ferry), I think this hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. I am so pleased that you took the time to visit our beautiful surroundings and Millesgården with its amazing sculptures which i agree is a must see.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    32
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
46
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel apparently used to be a top choice for the rich and famous like Walt Disney, the Beatles etc. You can see beautiful people hanging out by the pool in old pictures from the 60's. Now they don't even have a sauna anymore..

Stayed in a superior plus room which was big, in good condition and with reasonably nice furniture. There was a kettle and some instant coffee in the room and the views towards the Lidingö bridge were great. No bathtub in the room and no more minibar either but there was an ice machine in the corridor.

The breakfast was good and the bistro on the terrace had a great view towards the sunset. Service was confused but the beef sandwich was ok. The main restaurant was closed for renovations.

The location of this hotel has some potential when the light rail connection to Lidingö is reopened in 2014/2015. The shore area needs some improvement though. It is hard to believe that this hotel will regain its former glory. That would require a rebranding to something like a Hilton and some significant investment in bathrooms, pools/sauna etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Scandic Foresta is located on the Lidingö Island just one bridge from Stockholm (about 7 km from the downtown). We had a car, thus it was very convenient to go back and forth to downtown. The parking is 90 SEK for 24 hours. If you do not have a car, you can take the public bus and subway. The hotel and the surroundings make it worth the drive. It is very green, with a scenic view of the water and it is very calm. The hotel facilities are in general large as well as the rooms. The breakfast buffet included both a hot and cold selection. The hotel is really a good choice for guests who want a clam hotel stay in the busy Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking time to write down your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the environment and our gorgeous ambiance. We are very proud off our location with its calm environment but still close to the city. Hope that you will come and visit us soon again.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with this hotel. The service was very friendly. The rooms are clean, the view from our room was fantastic. Breakfast was very good as well, the best we've had for a long time. I especially loved the tea selection. The city centre is a bit off but the bus stops a block from the hotel. We highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us with great service and that you enjoyed our breakfast with our special tea. Thank you for recommending our hotel we hope to see you soon again.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my two children, aged 18 months and 8. The double room I booked with the two beds next to each other was perfect for me and the oldest girl, and for the youngest the hotel delivered a wooden crib on wheels with mattress and bedding, and a set of extra towels. The crib did not have side protection, so guests with very young babies might want to cover the sides with towels.
We really only slept and had breakfast at the hotel, but the beds were comfortable and the view great. The sun gets up early in the morning and blasts into the room in the summer though, as the rooms with the view face south, and the blackout curtains can't quite compensate for this. Nevertheless, we slept anyway, but this might have been a problem had we stayed for more nights. The room lacked at kettle, but I did not expect more than the basics as this is after all a Scandic, although it would have been a nice touch since I usually need hot water for the baby's milk. Anyway, the restaurant downstairs helped me in the morning.
The room was basic, with a small toilet/shower, and they offered soap and shampoo from dispensers. The hotel also has an environmental profile with a recycling unit in the room, and had some basic furniture and a tv. The breakfast buffet downstairs was fine, where they offered (to me) typically Swedish things like yoghurt, cereal, sourdough bread, crispbread, ham and cheese, some fruit, coffe, tea, juices from a machine and a few hot dishes like scrambled eggs and sausages. Breakfast was crowded and the staff very busy refilling the buffet, in fact they had a hard time keeping up. They could have used an extra person employed in there.
Around the corner from the restaurant was a small play corner for kids, and by the reception a shop for necessities. Up the road is a sculpture museum Millesgarden that has quite a nice restaurant (we had some very nice meatballs there). There is a large supermarket and a few shops a 10-minute walk from the hotel (Torsvikstorg). Five minutes further is a petrol station that sells coffee, and another 10 minutes is the local shopping center (Lidingo centrum) with coffee shops etc. The area is very walkable.
I did not experience any problem with the staff, in fact the man at reception was extremely nice.
The biggest problem with the hotel I thought was that although it is very close to Stockholm City (across the bridge, then hop on the underground), the taxi from Arlanda Airport with one of the major taxi companies cost over 800 kronor since the hotel is outside the city limits. I can recommend Green Cab (www.green-cab.se) for travel to/from the airport instead, as I used them for the return journey and it cost 540 kronor.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view toward the water get a lot of sun in the morning, so if you come in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with your children and that the staff was very nice. Wonderful that you took the time to visit around this beautiful island.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in junior suite with our family of 2 adults+2 children. Room(s) was very nice, but when made reservation I thought suites would be at the sea side and had a view to Stockholm. We had sea view but most of it were covered by the older part of hotel. Rooms starting with 1-6xx are in the new wing (yellow cube-shaped building), starting with 7-10 in older building (with tower etc). Scandic Foresta's website you can see this older side of hotel, most of the rooms are not at this building.

Guy at receptions was very nice and friendly, made very good impression.

Dinner was average, service at restaurant good.

Breakfast room was too small maybe because there were some kind of reparations going on. Had to sit outside.

Room Tip: Check before hand where your room is located, if view important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The view is lovely - I've stayed here twice, once on medium floor, once in their top suite after asking to change from a smaller suite.

The staff were helpful both times, we asked to switch rooms as the fan outside our first suite was very loud and we were moved without any questions asked or extra charge.

Breakfast is varied and fairly good. Food at the restaurant is alright. The shop is expensive and the hotel feels fairly large and soulless. The 'jacuzzi' in the suite is only a large bathtub, no actual whirlpool effect.

Location is decent. Nice view, fairly close to town, fairly quiet. Millesgården is worth a visit if you like sculpture, or just a stroll in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi!

We are glad you liked the view and that you find the staff helpful! It is correct that we don't have jacuzzi, just a regular bath tub that is a little bit bigger than normal. I would like to apologize if it was anyone in our staff that gave you the wrong information.
We hope to see you as our guest again soon!

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Foresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.