We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View very nice - Food not Acceptable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Foresta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Foresta to your Saves list
Scandic Foresta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Gotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“View very nice - Food not Acceptable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before (we negotiated a good price on their top suite - great!). This time a relative from Japan stayed one night in a room with a very nice view. But... We wanted to spend time together so we booked an outdoor table in their restaurant. They recommended their grilled menu. To quote our guest regarding the meat: "it was barely eatable". The owenbaked potato and the corn on the cob was like rubber (probably micro heated). The only parts that was ok was the coleslaw and the green asparagus (finished in a blink, one of us only got a little (see picture). Staff was nice but sometimes literally running over the floor - undermanned! The next morning we wanted to have a nice breakfast together. Now the coffee was good (even though the machine did not work properly) but there was no toast at all. The woman in charge said that we should toast the "normal", round bread instead (see picture). I have never had a hotel breakfast in the western world without toast! Our general impression is that Hotel Foresta is struggling for survival, undermanned and with cut-cost material in the restaurants. Their rooms are clean, nicely decorated and have wonderful views, but don't eat anything in this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms are generally good and the view is wonderful. Take the northern side and enjoy the sunset! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing view over Lidingö and that you had a good stay in your hotel room. I am so sorry to hear that our standard in the restaurant was not up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us so I have forwarded your comments to our restaurant manager.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    41
    14
    4
See reviews for
58
57
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife should suprise me with a night at a hotel, finally we got one night that we could spend togetger without our Children 1 year and 3 years old. It should be a relaxing romantic hideaway we hoped. But not, our stay was a nightmare, the doublebed we paid for was two very tiny singel bed. when we was thirsty and wanted something to drink there was nothing, no minibar and no bottles of water and no drinkingglass. I called down to roomservice and got the answer there is no such kind of service, I should drink the water from the tap? I asked very polite if I could come down to reception and maybe pick up some bottles of water. This was in the middle of night and I was forced to dress me and Went down to reception to hear that the water was not possible to get because the staff was not able to leave the counter?
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY AT SCANDIC HOTEL FORESTA AT LIDINGÖ
Scandic Foresta should not be in the Hotel business at all. They are very rude, and we are still angry with their unpleasant behavior. DONT STAY AT THIS PLACE EVER!!! save your Money and go whereever else.

Darius Rosenquist, Lidingö, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicForesta, General Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Rosenqvist, your review is based on your stay with us last year and since then our Hotel Manager has been in contact with you several times were we have offered you 100% reduction of your stay since you wasn´t satisfied which we are sorry to hear. This amount is also deducted from the invoice we did send you regarding destroyed property during your stay. We are still awaiting your payment or response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Generally, staying in any Scandic is not supposed to bring one any surprise – the concept is well-known (well, at least in Scandinavia) and does not imply any luxury or other “business” features. For a family stay it is though a perfect place. Scandic Foresta is even better: close to an old-fashioned (from 70th) commuter train station which connects to the Stockholm subway, pleasant surround, many rooms with a river view and for art interested a very good sculpture museum nearby (Carl Milles). The breakfast is nourishing and delicious, a lot of things for kids to take. A very good place to stay with your family and children “almost” in the Stockholm center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback. So happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you took time to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Scandic Foresta has been around a while, you can see it if you scrutinize the rooms, but time is fair and good hotels last. Foresta is most certainly one of the good ones. We arrived 22 pm, had a shower without removing some hairs from the previous guests, slept while overhearing the conversation in the next room, had a lovely breakfast and departed, thus we didn't enjoy any other facilities than the beds and the breakfast. We did enjoy the splendid view over Lidingö bridge though!

The overall impression is that Foresta is an average hotel. I myself like it that way and may very well return. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hej
Tack för din feedback. Kul att ni tog er tid att njuta av våran fantastiska omgivning även om det var en kort vistelse. Hoppas ni snart kommer tillbaka.
Mvh Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very Scandinavian hotel, i.e. quite simple and basic. Needless to say, a) it does the job b) the rooms are comfortable and very well heated (for the stockholm winters!) c) lovely service from the reception staff !

The breakfast isn't great if I'm totally honest but then again it is free so you cant expect much. You have eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, sausages, bacon etc but it is all quite cold which is a shame as the views from the breakfast place are lovely!

To get to Stockholm central is 15 minutes - walk outside the hotel, go left, and left again down the hill and take the little train to Ropsten, from there you can take the red line metro. If you are only in the city for a short while best to buy the 200Krona 8 trip pass which you can buy from the man at the counter in the stations.

I would say for comfort purposes it would be nice to have actual double beds in the rooms rather than 2 singles put together, extra tv channels would be better, and tea/coffee facilities in the room!

This is a conference hotel and is very pleasant for this.

Thank you to the staff at reception for being very nice and welcoming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Scandic Foresta. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. We appriate your feedback.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

An average (conference) hotel outside town in a well-off suburb. The place is nicely situated facing the harbor and waterways, and its very close to Millesgarden. Otherwise everything worth seeing and doing is at least 15-20 minutes off by train/buss/subway or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you liked our location. Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very modern hotel on top of the cliffs with a great view to the ferry harbour. 24h shop onsite is good for beeing on a flexible schedule. Standard breakfast, the only downside is that the breakfast isn´t anymore in the room with a view described in previous reports.
Spacious, modern rooms, but no AC.

Although the road to city center is currently undergoing some roadworks, you´ll be in Stockholm C by car in less the 15 minutes - but once you´re at the hotel, it feels like staying far away from all the city hassle. In opposite to most Stockholm city hotels enough parking space for your car, but also very easy to get around with public transport in case you´re here without a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicForesta, General Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. Hope to see you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Foresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.