We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandic Foresta The worst place to stay on earth!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Foresta

Save Saved
You added Scandic Foresta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Foresta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
“Scandic Foresta The worst place to stay on earth!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife should suprise me with a night at a hotel, finally we got one night that we could spend togetger without our Children 1 year and 3 years old. It should be a relaxing romantic hideaway we hoped. But not, our stay was a nightmare, the doublebed we paid for was two very tiny singel bed. when we was thirsty and wanted something to drink there was nothing, no minibar and no bottles of water and no drinkingglass. I called down to roomservice and got the answer there is no such kind of service, I should drink the water from the tap? I asked very polite if I could come down to reception and maybe pick up some bottles of water. This was in the middle of night and I was forced to dress me and Went down to reception to hear that the water was not possible to get because the staff was not able to leave the counter?
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY AT SCANDIC HOTEL FORESTA AT LIDINGÖ
Scandic Foresta should not be in the Hotel business at all. They are very rude, and we are still angry with their unpleasant behavior. DONT STAY AT THIS PLACE EVER!!! save your Money and go whereever else.

Darius Rosenquist, Lidingö, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicForesta, General Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Rosenqvist, your review is based on your stay with us last year and since then our Hotel Manager has been in contact with you several times were we have offered you 100% reduction of your stay since you wasn´t satisfied which we are sorry to hear. This amount is also deducted from the invoice we did send you regarding destroyed property during your stay. We are still awaiting your payment or response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
46
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Generally, staying in any Scandic is not supposed to bring one any surprise – the concept is well-known (well, at least in Scandinavia) and does not imply any luxury or other “business” features. For a family stay it is though a perfect place. Scandic Foresta is even better: close to an old-fashioned (from 70th) commuter train station which connects to the Stockholm subway, pleasant surround, many rooms with a river view and for art interested a very good sculpture museum nearby (Carl Milles). The breakfast is nourishing and delicious, a lot of things for kids to take. A very good place to stay with your family and children “almost” in the Stockholm center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback. So happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you took time to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Scandic Foresta has been around a while, you can see it if you scrutinize the rooms, but time is fair and good hotels last. Foresta is most certainly one of the good ones. We arrived 22 pm, had a shower without removing some hairs from the previous guests, slept while overhearing the conversation in the next room, had a lovely breakfast and departed, thus we didn't enjoy any other facilities than the beds and the breakfast. We did enjoy the splendid view over Lidingö bridge though!

The overall impression is that Foresta is an average hotel. I myself like it that way and may very well return. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hej
Tack för din feedback. Kul att ni tog er tid att njuta av våran fantastiska omgivning även om det var en kort vistelse. Hoppas ni snart kommer tillbaka.
Mvh Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very Scandinavian hotel, i.e. quite simple and basic. Needless to say, a) it does the job b) the rooms are comfortable and very well heated (for the stockholm winters!) c) lovely service from the reception staff !

The breakfast isn't great if I'm totally honest but then again it is free so you cant expect much. You have eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, sausages, bacon etc but it is all quite cold which is a shame as the views from the breakfast place are lovely!

To get to Stockholm central is 15 minutes - walk outside the hotel, go left, and left again down the hill and take the little train to Ropsten, from there you can take the red line metro. If you are only in the city for a short while best to buy the 200Krona 8 trip pass which you can buy from the man at the counter in the stations.

I would say for comfort purposes it would be nice to have actual double beds in the rooms rather than 2 singles put together, extra tv channels would be better, and tea/coffee facilities in the room!

This is a conference hotel and is very pleasant for this.

Thank you to the staff at reception for being very nice and welcoming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Scandic Foresta. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. We appriate your feedback.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

An average (conference) hotel outside town in a well-off suburb. The place is nicely situated facing the harbor and waterways, and its very close to Millesgarden. Otherwise everything worth seeing and doing is at least 15-20 minutes off by train/buss/subway or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you liked our location. Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very modern hotel on top of the cliffs with a great view to the ferry harbour. 24h shop onsite is good for beeing on a flexible schedule. Standard breakfast, the only downside is that the breakfast isn´t anymore in the room with a view described in previous reports.
Spacious, modern rooms, but no AC.

Although the road to city center is currently undergoing some roadworks, you´ll be in Stockholm C by car in less the 15 minutes - but once you´re at the hotel, it feels like staying far away from all the city hassle. In opposite to most Stockholm city hotels enough parking space for your car, but also very easy to get around with public transport in case you´re here without a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicForesta, General Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. Hope to see you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is over the bridge from the centrum about 5 miles, so you pay a toll/congestion charge each time. Parking is approx €10 for 24hrs right outside and behind hotel.

We paid for a suite , expecting a view. Not worth it, only the restaurant views the waterways, we had a view of taxi drivers outside and right into neighbouring appartments windows! Not worth €240 per night. Maybe it was dearer because Coldplay were in concert?

Breakfast buffet was very nice, overall hotel was clean, but somewhat shabby. Room 301 had black between the tiles In the bathroom and the outdoor bar/ restaurant was scruffy with unwiped tables and debri on the ground. Maybe it was an off day.

Be warned, it is hugely residential and very quiet, not much in the way of restaurants/bars/shops. Overall nice and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 18125, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Foresta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.