We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To expensive for the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Stockholm Slussen to your Saves list
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“To expensive for the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Though the location is good, next to the old town center, the rooms are too small, heating system does not output the necessary heat to face the evening temperatures, the air conditioning exit had dust marks coming out, found some hairs and tissue parts in bed sheets and towels. Notice that the employees at breakfast service start to clean at the time the breakfast closes, leaving some clients that arrived a few minutes before without many food options, and passing a general feeling that you should leave. The room is not used for lunches or other activities in the following hours, adding a more negative note to this point. Also the quality of the breakfast is poor, very few options of fruits (bananas, apples and oranges), the tables have a compulsory orange juice that is not natural, as the remaining juices. Good point is the coffee quality. Overall, to expensive for a so called 5 stars hotel with a service clearly of 3 stars or at the most 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    579
    206
    61
    21
See reviews for
121
563
113
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I had been inte touch with Nina [---], their Reservations Sales Agent during the week cuz I wanted to leave a gift at the room before checking in. It was my husband's birthday so booked this place to surprise him. She said they'd fix it & I could come whenever. On day before check in I went there & say "I have a reservation here" & the receptionist answer's "Oh is that so? Good for you". Her tone surprised me since it's a five star hotel. She was also surprised that I could stop by and leave a gift beforehand... At a five star hotel the staff should not question the customer & should be more polite. I think she was French by her accent.
The day after at the check in we come to an empty room. No gift there, which ruined the surprise moment. Thanks Hilton!
Afterwards they bring the gift up & give us two drink tickets valid for the same day & much later we get a card printed UPSIDE down where it says "Congratulations on your 35 year anniversary". First of all it was his 35th birthday and I'm 32. Thanks for paying attention!! 2 drinks cannot take back a ruined surprised moment. I'm surprised how sloppy and poor the service was as this is supposed to be a "luxury hotel". Not likely we're coming back to be honest. We've lived at five star hotels before and this kind of service is not acceptable for the money you pay them.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. However, I was given a very small and dark room on the ground floor (the windows were facing directly a pedestrian road so the entire room was a sort of shop window ...). The airconditioning was not working properly, so I was freezing the entire night. The bathroom was oldfashioned and the bathrobe not always clean. The breakfast is poor for an hotel of this level

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid rooms on the groud floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Location of Hilton is nice...close to all the attractions. The hotel is good... My room is nice but small. Nice bathroom! All well equipped and clean. The room has no view unlike many of the pics on Tripadvisor... Just roofs!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Good Hotel Friendly Staff at Reception . Rooms average as the norm for most hotels. Easy walk to the old town.. and plenty of cafes. There Panorama Restaurant the name says it all for its great views.
A must if you have time do go to the Vasa Museum to see the galleon retrieved from the sea.
Overall at great stay a Beautiful City. Like to come back some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I, along with our two boys stayed at the Hilton Slussen in April 2014 for vacation. Although the Hilton website for this property does not really allow you to book more than 2 guests per room, the hotel actually welcomes children. You may just have to contact the hotel directly to make arrangements for this. It was a nice touch when the front desk staff offered my kids coloring books and crayons during check-in. The hotel is in a great location right at the edge of Stockholm's Old Town. Be prepared for lots of construction work in the Slussen area. More of an eyesore than anything else. THe location offers access to all modes of transportation within several meters, including the Metro "Subway", buses, and the ferry. Most of Stockholm is within walking distance anyway. Those booking a water view, will be rewarded with a great expansive view over Gamla Stan and the lake. I booked well ahead of our arrival, and was fortunate to get a corner room on the 3rd floor. The room was quite large for European standards, and the view over the Old Town was amazing. Fair warning for those who don't book a Water view: you will be facing a depressing condo/office building with no character whatsoever. The rooms were done in very sleek, minimalist style with neutral tones of grey and brown. The bathroom was all marble and very clean. Be prepared for a bathtub without a full shower curtain or sliding door. The floor WILL get wet. Not sure why the Europeans hate shower curtains, as this is a problem in most properties I've stayed at across multiple EU countries. My rate included international buffet breakfast and access to the Executive Lounge. The buffet breakfast offerings were good, but not spectacular. If you were expecting an "international buffet" in one of Stockholm's few 5-star properties that caters to well-heeled business guests, you would expect to see more international offerings: e.g. smoked Salmon, fried potatoes, rice, etc. None of these were offered during our stay. Other service items that fall short and result in a Very Good as opposed to an Excellent rating include the lack of bellhop service. It was strange pulling up to the property and no one to help with suitcases. In fact, even during check in, no one offered to help bring the suitcases to the room. Yes, here I was in Hilton's flagship hotel in Scandinavia, and I was lugging my own 4 suitcases to my room. Could I have asked for help? Sure I could. But this would never happen at a FS or a RC property, or ANY 4-star property in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

..we stay for 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. The location is realy good for those who want to discover the old city, new city and all tourist attractions and sights. The hotel provides quite spacious, clean and comfy rooms.
Opening hours for breakfast during Easter were extended until 12 am - that was an excellent idea!! Amazing breakfast buffet.
Friendly and helpful staff at recepcion, in restaurant and bar as well.
Only the spa (dry sauna with NO relaxation room only!!!) was the only dissapointment of whole stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Stockholm Slussen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Address: Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Stockholm Slussen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over the waterfront and convenient location minutes from the main tourist attractions and the city center, Hilton Stockholm Slussen is the perfect place for your visit to Stockholm. You can choose from a range of spacious rooms, all featuring stylish Swedish decor, complimentary wireless internet and plenty of natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Stockholm Slussen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stockholm Slussen Hotel Stockholm
Stockholm Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stockholm Slussen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.