We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - tiny room & lack of attention to detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Save Saved
You added Hilton Stockholm Slussen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale From SEK 998
Ranked #26 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing - tiny room & lack of attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hilton Stockholm Slussen on a business trip a few days ago; the Slussen area is very scenic but although I'd had good reports of the hotel I found it disappointing. The room was really tiny, and there was a lack of attention to detail in lots of small ways. For example the shaving mirror flopped down and wouldn't stay in the direction it was pointed, the pillows were too small, the hotel had run out of the little cardboard sleeves for key cards so had to put my key in an envelope, and the coffee in the room was only decaf. How am I supposed to wake up without caffeine? Also the hotel layout is confusing and the signage poor, you can get lost while looking for the right elevator. I plan to try somewhere else next time I'm in Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    476
    163
    43
    15
See reviews for
100
448
101
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a great stay at the Hilton from 8/3/13 to 11/3/13, smooth check in and the staf were friendly and efficient. We were given rooms overlooking the Gamla Stan which was a bonus as we did not pay the extra supplement for these when booking. Breakfast great and room service was fantastic. Great location and a wonderful stay, Everything went like a dream and will be back here next time I am in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Tip, we only found this out on the last day for some nice, well priced restaurants turn right when l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel and I will not change it. I emailed the hotel to let them know that I was going to arrive late. I got a reply back in less than 5 minutes. The check in was fast and the employee at the desk was very attentive and helpful. I was upgraded to an executive room with a great view. As always for being a diamond a free complementary drink at the bar andchocolates as a gift. Thanks. The lounge is small, but it is always replenished very often with food and drinks. The breakfast at the restaurant is great. I recommend it. I will stay here next time I travel to this beautiful city. The location also is good. You can walk to old town and the best, the area is quiet and you dont have to worry for the parties at the clubs in old town that may keep you up all night. The only problem I have was the wind and the flag poles next to my room. I do not blame the hotel for this. Beside that, the stay was excellent.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room facing the lake an away from thr elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an anniversary break in February. Firstly, Stockholm was freeeezing, so we made great use of our club room and the club lounge, with a beautiful log fire when we needed to warm up. We upgraded ourselves to a club room as we find that paying a little extra is always worth it to get breakfast and drinks included, as well as a nicer room! We couldn't have been happier having done this in this city...it is sooooo expensive to eat or drink out, it is particularly worth upgrading so that you can make the use of the drinks and snacks in the evening before heading out. In a city where it costs £3 to buy a small can of coke in a newsagents, this makes for great value.

The room itself was lovely-wooden floors and a huge bed, with great views, however it was quite small compared to other hotel rooms of this standard, but perfectly fit for purpose. It felt really authentically Swedish and we had a lovely Nespresso coffee machine and a selection of coffee pods in the room. We did also use the gym once in the hotel and this was great, really comprehensive and full of local people. You could also do gym classes with the local members which was great. We did wish there was a pool but you cant have everything. The hotel location is great, with a few lovely bars and restaurants near by and the subway a few hundred metres away. All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a warm, cozy, authentic, luxurious experience in Stockholm. And upgrade if you can!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stockholm in itself is a very beautiful city, however, this hotel made the city seem even nicer. The hotel is located right in the best spot, close to all tourist attractions and all major locations you might want to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel stands out from the dozens of hotels I've stayed in for one reason.. The staff and service. Yes the rooms are on the smaller size but with the perfect location and friendly staff, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The front desk staff was hilarious, helpful and welcoming. Eken restaurant wasn't my favorite but with old town being literally a 5 min walk, choices were numerous. Look forward to another stay when the snow melts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is located few minutes walk from Slussen underground station and short walk from Gamla Stan (old city), so quite central location for visiting Stockholm. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a room facing the water, which was a very pleasant touch. It is worth asking for availability of a room with a view, as this city is very scenic. Don't let yourself scare by the fact that many rooms are located directly over railway and a busy street. The noise, once the window is closed, is almost unnoticeable.

The room itself (Deluxe room), as well as the bathroom were quite small compared to hotels of similar class. The closet was quite strange, and lacked proper shelves for unpacking. The minibar is automatically billing the items you pick, so it cannot be used for storing your own drinks. Small details, and nothing which ruined our stay.

Breakfast was fantastic, a very wide selection of cereals, breads, dairy products and fruit. Really tasty and it kept me going for most of the day. 100% up to Hilton standards.

I will definitely be back, as I would love to try the top floor rooms with the balcony during summertime.

Room Tip: Don't let yourself scare by the fact that many rooms are located directly over railway and a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Stockholm Slussen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Address: Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#20 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#20 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Stockholm Slussen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over the waterfront and convenient location minutes from the main tourist attractions and the city center, Hilton Stockholm Slussen is the perfect place for your visit to Stockholm. You can choose from a range of spacious rooms, all featuring stylish Swedish decor, complimentary wireless internet and plenty of natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Stockholm Slussen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stockholm Slussen Hotel Stockholm
Stockholm Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stockholm Slussen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.