We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Many Smaller Issues to make it Really Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Stockholm Slussen to your Saves list
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Stockholm
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“To Many Smaller Issues to make it Really Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Stockholm Slussen for six nights towards the end of January, when arriving Thursday morning our room was ready so no need to store the luggage. As the hotel comprise of three buildings you might have to use several different elevators to get around the hotel (we had to use three different to get from our room to the executive lounge and two from the reception to our room). The elevators have key card readers; some did not work well, so trying five (and quite often more times were unfortunately a norm).
The newly refurbished room (we could still trace a faint odour of paint) was situated on the 8th floor with a magnificent view. Large windows both in the living room and the bedroom, even the bathroom had windows. Rooms were rather on the small side. The choice of furniture might be revised but still adequate. Only one shallow closet made it impossible to unpack our suitcases. A cloth hook by the entrance door had a design that made nothing “stick”, good design means more than pretty to look at.
Bed linen, towels, bathrobes were all of excellent quality. Sparkling water was replenished every day, coffee and the making facilities are provided as well. There is a minibar (quite expensive as in all Scandinavian countries) with automatic billing which makes it impossible to store anything in it. In this building there are no ice machine and the staff seams to forget it, so one is told there are one on the second and fourth floor (which there are not), anyway when explaining this ice is delivered to the room without any more ado.
The water pressure in the shower is somewhat disappointing, but water temperature was stable.
We asked for a late checkout (1PM – only one hour) which seems to be quite an issue at this hotel. They cannot answer questions about late checkouts before the 9AM on the day of departure; which is meaningless as nothing can be planned, and the reason for a late checkout might be that one wishes to sleep in late. After some discussion (I am a hhonors diamond) we managed to keep the room for one hour, which should not be a problem as check in does not start before 3PM.
Queues seems to form rapidly at the reception, we have stayed here before and noticed this problem, which still seems to be unresolved.
It seems like the receptionists don’t know the hotel very well and therefore are not able to provide the standard of service that one expect from a Hilton hotel.
The business lounge is outstandingly run by dedicated employees that always took excellent care of us. The business lounge is one good reason to stay at the Hilton Stockholm Slussen.
As you can learn from other reviews, the hotel is brilliantly situated. It is very close to the metro, “Gamla Stan” and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping possibilities close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    749
    277
    80
    28
See reviews for
186
748
134
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

All the high standards of a Hilton, but with the "charme" of a boutique hotel. Perfectly situated between the downtown islands of Stockholm, you can walk or take the public transportation to reach everything within minutes.
Nice ambiance, and great views from the bar.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend in Stockholm. Great location to see the city, very close to the old town. Hotel was clean and the service was excellent. The choice at breakfast was brilliant. The staff were only too happy to help, spoke excellent English and provided good recommendations to places to visit and eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were only able to stay here because we found a great deal for the room (however, upon further examination, these "deals" seem to come up regularly). The location was fabulous (steps from the Slussen metro station; short walk into the old city) and the service was what you would expect from a Hilton. We payed a bit more to have breakfast included in our room rate and I am very glad we did. They had a excellent selection of hot and cold food (including a fresh waffle station hidden off to the side) and with food prices in the city, it was nice to start the day full!
I do agree with other reviews that the rooms were very small by Hilton standards, and the view was non-existent (we faced the office building across the road) but we were happy with what we got for the price we paid (based on standard prices in the expensive city of Stockholm).
I recommend the Hilton, but only if you find a good deal! We would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The bad stuff: Probably the smallest room I have seen at a 4-star hotel. The corridor and bathroom had an unpleasant smell. The hotel feels a bit worn and tired.

The good stuff: Friendly and inviting staff. Good breakfast. Great location.

I had expected some more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 days here. Was surprised how small the room was.

Prices are pretty high at about £200 per night but then Sweden is quite expensive all round.

Major criticism is that my bathroom did not smell good. It was if someone had been using the toilet. Perhaps issues with the plumbing. It made me avoid the bathroom.

The club sandwich was not to the standards that I have had at other hiltons. It was quite small and the bread was not properly toasted.

Wireless internet was free to anyone.

Next time I am in Stockholm I will probably choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have stayed a few times at this hotel via business.
Having a hilton gold card allows you to upgrade which is definately recommended. The coffee machines are a nice touch in the rooms.
Restaurant is good for meals, breakast is also good with plenty of choice. Bar is also nice.
Service is also very good - all staff are very friendly
Just a shame it doesn't have a pool.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade as you get better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 159 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 stars 2,434 reviews
Södermalm
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nobis Hotel
#11 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Norrmalm
HTL Kungsgatan
HTL Kungsgatan
#20 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stockholm Slussen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Address: Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm SE-10465, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Stockholm Slussen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over the waterfront and convenient location minutes from the main tourist attractions and the city center, Hilton Stockholm Slussen is the perfect place for your visit to Stockholm. You can choose from a range of spacious rooms, all featuring stylish Swedish decor, complimentary wireless internet and plenty of natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Stockholm Slussen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stockholm Slussen Hotel Stockholm
Stockholm Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stockholm Slussen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.