We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scandic Continental to your Saves list
Scandic Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasagata/Klara Vattugrand 4, Stockholm 11121, Sweden (Norrmalm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

To comfortably, close to everything, not very expensive - it is only here. There is only a species on the waterfront ... but for this you have to pay in Stockholm for many more. Transportation is almost not necessary - you can walk anywhere at any time of day and night. I would like to find some other nice and cozy, but the hotel is really central and easy to use.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    65
    61
    19
    14
See reviews for
36
35
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I needed to commute during my stay in Stockholm, for that reason I chose to stay at Scandic Continental. The hotel is as close as you can get to the "T-Centralen", if you're in town as a tourist you won't have to walk far to get to the shopping streets and sightseeing locations either.

I stayed in a superior room which had a lot of space and comfortable beds. I had a view over the train station and some of the water passing through Stockholm.
The only negative thing I have to say about the room is that it started to stink of cigarettes one evening. I opened the window and the air was fresh so it must have come from the air ducts. I kept the windows open for some time to try and vent it all out but it didn't work.

The breakfast was alright, a standard hotel breakfast. Nothing great, nothing terrible.

If I needed to go to Stockholm again and commute a lot, I would choose to stay at Scandic Continental. If I went there for vacation I would choose something more "charmingly" situated.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated next to a busy street. If your room is on the lower floors - ask for a room aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I chose this for the location, and it's excellent, short walk from Arlanda Express and right next to T-centralen for underground and trains.

Rooms are ok, clean but a bit old. Free wifi was quite slow. Breakfast was your standard scandinavian stuff.

I wood choose this for business trips but for vacations I would choose something more charming.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Central Station and elevators as there's a huge construction site right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempele, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times because of its excellent location. It is right accross the railway station and also very near to Arlanda Express (5-10 min walk) station that is on the other side of railway station. When you walk out from AE station, take right, 'cause if you turn left you can see the signs of Scandid hotel but that is another hotel with a little bit difficult to reach from the AE station (tried that by mistake).
Hotel is expensive but the locals say it is on the level of Stockholm. I paid 220 €/night during the week.
Within a walking distance you can find a lot of shops and restaurants so the location is per.fect

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I chose this hotel due to its great location next to central station and affordable prizing. And those were the great things about this hotel. Otherwise the hotel was very average, nothing special but nothing disturbingly bad either.
The room was clean and ok in size. No complimentary necessities in the room. Bed was very confy though.
The breakfast was average buffet, by all means ok.
All in all, if you want to stay close to shops and public transportation in Stockholm, this is just fine hotel for the purpose.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel offers a great location, at very reasonable rates, right opposite the entrance to Central Station and 2 mins walk from the Arlanda Express stop. It is close to shopping and the business district of Stockholm as well as the Old Town. The rooms are pleasant, clean and comfortable. TV and wifi connection. Breakfast buffet is not lavish but satisfactory and includes hot items as well as cereals, bread, meats and cheeses. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good location and comfortable lodgings at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view. Reception staff are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

even the room wasn't that spacious but it was clean and we get free internet connection. as long as its clean and comfortable to spend the night it would be fine..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Continental

Address: Vasagata/Klara Vattugrand 4, Stockholm 11121, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Multi-story Hotel situated in center of town, across street from train station & airport buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Continental Stockholm
Scandic Continental Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.