We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds First Impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Berns Hotel to your Saves list
Berns Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nackstromsgatan 8 | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeds First Impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our first impression of the Berns did not meet expectations, it was partially the alley entrance and the narrow, crowded hallway that served as the front desk. The path from elevator to our room was a ragged and dirty carpet that did not seem to be cleaned the entire stay. Our room was dark, tiny, ragged carpet, windows open to our neighbors' windows across a roof top gave no security to sleep with windows open. The bathroom was clean and well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Several things did not work: the phone, in room safe would not release our valuables, etc. When our friends arrived the following day they were given a beautiful, light, clean room on a lower floor with a great view. I booked both rooms so know there was no difference in $ or reservation. Our friends were just luckier. The staff competence and efficiency depended on who was on duty. Some staff were wonderful and some were not. The location was great and all things considered, I now rate this hotel much higher than I thought I would when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    151
    44
    27
    13
See reviews for
33
130
37
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a great hotel in Stockholm! It's located in front of a beautiful park (Berzeli), and just a couple blocks from Gamla Stan. The receptionist was very polite and helpful. Our room, located on the back, had acoustic isolation and a nice view to the yard. There is a terrace bar for guests only on the 6th floor, which serves great drinks and give an amazing view of the rooftops! Breakfast it's the best and a must for this hotel! Great place to be!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have now changed my regular hotel that i stay in to Berns and couldn't be happier. It's in such a great part of town and gives you access to a lot of Stockholms great nightlife and shopping. I was upgraded on my first stay which way amazing as my room contained a steam-room! The breakfast is great and in Summer you can't beat that spot. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Higher level room and the Hugos Berns Suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Do not stay here. The staff is bizarre. I brought a friend back to my double room. And they said I cannot have 2 people in a double room. Even though I paid $500 per night for a double bed room. I was not allowed to have anyone else but me in the room as I didnt tell them beforehand. The club is cheesy. But its the staff that is really bad. Rude, arrogant and really bizarre. For the price go to LYDMAR. Its way nicer. And the staff will not be rude to your face.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernsHotel1, Public Relations Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

To clarify, it is of course ok for two persons to stay in a double room if it is booked this way, but to arrive back after being out in the middle of the night and adding more persons is not possible. That is because we have a visiting policy saying that no guests are allowed in the room after 23.00 pm. This is not unique to us as it is an internationally known hotel policy. We also inform our guests about this on check-in where you also have the chance to change the reservation to two persons if that is your need. You have also signed our registration card when checking in where this policy is clearly written. Nonetheless, I think it is very sad that you experienced us as impolite and I hope you'll visit us again so that we get the chance to meet you in the best way, as we always get such incredible praise about our service attitude.

Best Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spend 4 days in Berns hotel, which is indeed very classy and design. The rooms are confortable, and with nice balconies for the superior room.
However, the majority of the staff at the welcome desk is quite snob, and we had to come back three times to have the room we requested, and then the extra bed which was also ordered.
Also, on the weekends, the music from the bars can prevent you to sleep, although you hear nothing from the neighbours.
Good location, and the breakfast is really amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a terrific weekend at Berns Hotel, room comfortable, staff very helpful (particularly Micaela) who made every effort to make my stay as comfortable and fun as possible. Couldn't recommend Berns Hotel more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Berns Hotel at the end of last month and were most satisfied. Location can't be beat, our room was on an upper floor away from the noise of the disco, and the staff did everything they could to cool the room when temperatures soared. Bed was very comfortable. We would return to the Berns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor to avoid noise from music below. Rooms have no A/C so be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Address: Nackstromsgatan 8 | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it’s the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it’s the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm’s hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 495 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.