We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Berns Hotel to your Saves list
Berns Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nackstromsgatan 8 | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice and cozy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It´s a perfect hotel for a weekend in Stockholm or if you are there on work, hidden away but still a very good location. Breakfast is great and be sure not to miss the restaurant, Berns Asiatiska. I stayed in a single room which was still a little bit bigger than single rooms in other hotels in Stockholm.

There was a concert taking place during one of the evenings which made me a bit worried about sleeping but I didn´t hear a thing from it which was positive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    151
    44
    26
    13
See reviews for
33
130
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great food and atmosphere ruined by thieves who stole my expensive jacket and bottle of wine. It once was a top venue in Stockholm with an upmarket cliental. The real disappointment came with the classic Stockholm service recovery from the manager..."its your coat, not ours". So why not offer to take my coat and keep it safe for me if I'm going to spend 250 Euros on a meal for two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr Dan,
We are so sorry about your jacket having been stolen during your visit to Berns Asian last Saturday. As we understand it you were not a guest of Berns Hotel but a guest of Berns Asian.
This site of Tripadvisor is a site for Berns Hotel.

Our guarded cloak room was open on Saturday night during your visit. We apologize for not having informed you about that. After the unfortunate incident we offered you a drink, a bottle of Champagne and yesterday when you came back to look for your jacket you were also offered a gift voucher for a free brunch for two persons I Berns Asian.

We are so sorry and apologize for your jacket having been stolen during your visit to Berns Asian.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Berns.
Kind regards
Yvonne Sörensen Björud
Managing Director
Berns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is all good, but they really need to care about their staff training so that they knew how to use their head. If a guest comes down to the front dest on a cold Saturday morning and asks for direction to the nearest post office, he probably wants to walk there so it's unwise to look up on the Internet and suggest a post office that is closed on Saturdays. That would save your guest a 20 + 20 = 40 minutes' walk in the cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernsHotel, Front Office Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and genuinly apologize for your experienced caused by the wrong information that you received by us. We take consideration of this incident and will make sure we are consistent in the high level of service we aspire to offer.

I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay at Berns and look forwrad to you visiting us next time you travel to Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Mike Dionysakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We held our conference here...the feedback was good....in future we will recommend to stay here frequently. We travel very frequently to Stockholm.
This is the hotel you want to stay at if you're visiting Stockholm. Great hotel in and of itself but it's also in a great location and the restaurant/bar in the hotel is great. You will love this place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here one night in Dec '12.
We held a customer event in the main auditorium, staff were friendly and very helpful.
The event was a great success and the hotel lived up to my expectations.
Breakfast was of a very high standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Hotel
Great Staff
Great Location
Great Food
Great Value
A very comfortable and enjoyable stay in a very interesting city. A good location and plenty of places to see and visit. Check out the Vasa Museum amongst others.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Berns for 3 nights over New Year. This being the start of our honeymoon we were very excited to ensure everything was smooth running! I cannot agree more that Daniella was a super receptionist, her manner and helpfulness was great, and the staff on reception really helped us, from choosing a boat trip to booking us into restaurants. We booked a Large room with balcony and ended up with ( this maybe due to honeymoon) what resembled a small apartment! We had a kitchentte, large walk in shower and foyer/dressing room. It was slightly wierd being off a fire stairwell, but we found made it all the more private. The NYE dinner was amazing, and the ambience there relaxed and fun. The ONLY gripe that I had, was the noise from the club downstairs. We were on the fourth floor, and NYE is NYE, there is going to be a party going on, but when it is a week day and there is still reverberating music at 3am, it may get a little much for some people ( I am thinking about how my father would have not have been impressed) so this is my only constructive criticism for those booking and maybe adverse to noise. Location was central and easy to walk to the Old Town and do some fab sightseeing. We loved sitting in the bar chiling out with a glass of wine and service again was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 431, down the fire escape, but private and has an amazing large circular window overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Address: Nackstromsgatan 8 | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it’s the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it’s the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm’s hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 495 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.