We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like A Moviestar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Felt like A Moviestar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Staying on this yacht makes you feel like you're in an glamourous movie from back in the day. The maritime setup is very charming. The reception staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a GREAT location. The room, though small, was very comfortable. The fact that they have a sauna is a HUGE PLUS!!! I'd definitely recommend staying here. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Floors below main deck have poor wifi reception. I was moved to a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    206
    75
    14
    6
See reviews for
44
145
82
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Really unusual place to stay compared to the usual hotels. We booked a 1st officers cabin, very warm & cosy. Ensuite facilities, good shower. The boat is full of character & little nooks to enjoy a quiet drink, I would definitely stay again. Great location within walking distance of most the main attractions

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our stay at Mälardrottningen was really enjoyable. The atmosphere at the yacht was amazing. Everything from service to the condition of the cabin was excellent. The location is amazing; you can reach all important places by walking. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Only negative point was that we were staying at Purser's cabin which didn't include double bed. The bunk beds were bigger than bunks usually but still small and not so comfortable. Still this was just a minor flaw. Overall experience was excellent and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here in early September. The hotel is in a great location close to the old town.
We had a pursers cabin which was compact but very comfortable.
The restaurant on board offers superb swedish cuisine and the breakfasts are of a good standard.Staff are helpful and courteous.
If you want to step back in time to the 1920s and enjoy the experience of staying on a private yacht then you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel because the location looked ideal for sight seeing, and it was. You can easily walk to the Palace, the Old City, etc. There is a subway station close by if you want to travel further. Only one stop away from Central Station.

We had the Staff Salon, which was very spacious and had two single beds instead of bunks. The bathroom was small, as you expect on a boat, but very functional. Originally we had booked a smaller room, but were upgraded, which is always nice. Very quiet except for the sounds of water lapping which we enjoyed.

Service was nice and friendly, and we were given good advice about public transport and restaurants.

Only small problem was breakfast. A big group of German football fans were staying there too and they eat a lot of breakfast. The buffet area is narrow, so not much room, and the serving dishes only hold small amounts. The staff could not keep up with demand. We gave up trying to get anything other than bread. If they are going to accommodate large groups, then the management needs to change the way they serve breakfast.

Other than that, a really nice spot to stay, especially if you like boats!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying on a historic ( originally owned by Barbara Hutton) yacht hotel was quite a unique and enjoyable experience. It's walkable from the Gamlastan - the Old City and very close to the T-station. Staff was courtious and food in the onboard restaurant was reasonble. I will certainly recommend to travellers who are OK staying in a cabin (with a compact bath) and looking for something different for the memory sake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed on the Malardrottningen for two nights in October. We booked a ‘seaman’s cabin’ which we knew would be small but we actually had more room than we’d expected. There was a wardrobe with hanging space, desk, tv and plenty of room to store our luggage (no safe however). The bathroom was new and the shower was powerful and hot. Breakfast was upstairs and was a good selection of hot and cold food, but we were disappointed that there were no pastries or buns! It was a lovely spot to eat breakfast and look out across the lake.
The location of the boat is excellent – literally five minutes walk from Gamla Stan and on the really peaceful Riddarholmen island. It took us about 10/15 mins to walk from here to City Terminal where we took the bus to and from the airport. We loved the whole experience of staying on the boat, finding out the history of it and returning to our bunk beds in our cosy cabin at night after a long day sightseeing.
The only negatives for us were that that the cabin was very hot and stuffy – you can’t open the porthole and we couldn’t adjust the heating/air con in the cabin. I also found the boat to be quite noisy at night – either from other people moving around above or in the corridors or just from general, creaky boat sounds!
Overall though we’d definitely recommend it for a short stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#20 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.