We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Appling, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Fun Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Certainly more of an adventure than lodging at a conventional hotel. The yacht is large, and nicely maintained, plus is most interesting to explore, a bit of floating history, which is well documented should you be interested. The staff couldn't be nicer or better informed, and always enthusiastically answered whatever questions we had. Our room's portholes were on the water side, and had excellent views of distant houses and the commercial boat traffic buzzing around. At night the lights were beautiful everywhere. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location to access Old Towne and to enjoy the ambiance over there. I thought that the daily breakfast offered was extensive and well prepared with numerous selections offered. Overall, the Malardrottningen is an excellent value for such an unique accommodation in a VERY expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    194
    65
    13
    6
See reviews for
40
129
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. The location is fantastic very close (5 minute walk) to Gamla Stan (Old Town). If you're arriving at the central station, this hotel is only a 15minute walk from the station.

The room I stayed in was a "First Officer Cabin" with a double bed and an extra single bunk bed. For a ship cabin, it was quite spacious with a desk and television. The bathroom, whilst modern looking, was very cramped and the way it's designed means when you shower everything gets wet.

A breakfast buffet with a variety of hot and cold choices was included. The staff were friendly and helpful with any questions.

When I visit Stockholm again I will definitely stay again as the location is just great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here on business, perfect size room for a solo traveller who was working all day, however some colleagues noted their room was a bit small. I thought the size of the room was fine. The room had wifi, bunk beds, tv and a very well-appointed ensuite. The buffet breakfast was good and located in the pleasant upper deck area. I found the hotel very peaceful with an amazing view of the harbour. It was easy to find from either the central station (a 15-minute walk) or the Gamla Stan metro station (less than 5 minutes walk). The room was a very reasonable price compared with other accommodation in the area. If I was in Stockholm again I would stay here.

Room Tip: Note some rooms will face the harbour and some will face the quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had one night at the Malardrottningen as part of a road trip through Northern Europe. The floating hotel was once the property of the Woolworth heiress Barbara Hutton and is a charming quirky place to stay. Reception staff are friendly all speak good English and are very knowledgable. The boat is a 10 minute walk from Central Stockholm.

We had a double cabin that was compact bijou, twin bunk beds and a wet room that doubles as a bathroom. It's amazing what you can fit into a 10 x 10 room!

The room was very clean and the bunks incredibly comfortable, even the porthole worked!!

We ate in the restaurant which is to the front of the boat. The food was prepared to a very high standard, watch out as wine is expensive the service was very good. The restaurant also doubles up as a buffet breakfast area with an excellent selection available.

If you fancy somewhere unusual to stay for a short break in Stockholm, The Malardrottningen is the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location near old town and not too difficult to drive to. Rooms are small, but it is a ship with limited space and we expected it. Breakfast buffet is typical European and good. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was excellent. Only problem was you cannot open the windows to get fresh air which would have made sleeping a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

OK, the location is great, just a brief walk to Stamla Gam (old town). Have in mind the rooms are tiny (10 sqm) - and 50% of the rooms will NOT be facing the harbor. I did have a double bed first facing the town, and changed to the harbor side the 2nd night where I just woke up with cramps from the smaller bed. Also, suddenly there was another boat mooring besides the hotel boat, making a hell of a noise. I hope it won't come back tomorrow morning! The wireless signal is weak, my phone worked yesterday standing at the door, but today even that trick doesn't cut it any more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a fabulous way to spend a four night city break. The hotel has beautiful views and is in a perfect location to explore Stockholm. We stayed for four nights during august 2013.
The cabins are , as expected, on the small side. This didnt cause us any problems at all. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice of hot and cold food with a good compliment of beveridges.
We didnt get time to try the restaurant, although, had we stayed another night, then we would have booked a table. We were given a 20% off voucher for the restaurant upon check in.
All in all, we had a fantastic time in Stockholm- so much to say that- if i had to do it all again, i wouldnt change a single thing! Fabulous.

Room Tip: You should be aware that you may have to use bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#46 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.