We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Ariadne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Ariadne to your Saves list
Scandic Ariadne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sodra Kajen 37 | Positionen 117, Stockholm 11574, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The hotel was over booked by 7 the night I arrived which meant that 7 people did not actually had the rooms they had booked. I was given a "cell" which had a large window, no carpet shared toilet, shower in the gym, no sound proofing so very noisy. This was the worst possible room ever.

One would expect that if there is a overbooking then the hotel would be prepared for it by ensuring they manage rooms at other hotels close by and transfer the guests there but nothing of that sort was done maybe because the "cells" were available to lock up the guests and take away there money.

The hotel badly needs a refurbishment, the chairs in the main restaurant and lobby were dirty with spots and marks all over. Filthy !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    100
    91
    34
    8
See reviews for
80
59
17
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

A last minute reservation at the hotel also brought me tickets in a manageable cost. That was great. Now the not-so-good part. Hotel is hard to locate, specially in night time. Its near the harbor from where you can directly board Silja line boats. However, the main reception of the hotel is on the first floor and I had to circumvent the entire hotel to find out the entry. So, one can easily sneak out of the hotel without being noticed by the reception. Apart from this, the hotel is nicely built, with good rooms (my room had a harbor view, with the parked boat visible from my window). The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Wi-Fi is free, and breakfast is complementary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and thought it wasn't more than OK. The room was alright but the bathroom was stinky and needs remodeling. We found it weird that we couldn't close one of the windows in our room, it didn't even have a handle. Only one elevator was in use which was a pain since we stayed on the 14th floor. It was quite a walk to the subway station and also pretty difficult to find. The breakfast was decent. The hotel doesn't have free parking

The location is ok if you're going to Finland as it's located next to the dock.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We've stayed there with a befriended couple and decided to spend a little more on the hotel to be close to city center. I was a little surprised when I learned, that a four star hotel in stockholm is that simple. The room consists of two twin beds (although we've booked a king size) in a large room, which looked kind of empty. The bath was big enough but seemed a little run down. The towels were very thin, definitely not what you expect from a four star hotel. The breakfast was included in the price, it was very good and you could find almost everything. The nearest tunnelbana was in fact not that near. It was about a 15 minute walk, if you walk fast (which you do if you stay in Stockholm in winter :) ). All in all it was ok, but it wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I've stayed many times at Scandic Ariadne and I just can't undestand the comments some reviewers have made here. The hotel is dangerous because at 8 pm there are young men hanging around outside and you can't bring kids there. At that time there are young men hanging around often especially at the city center. These men were probably innocent patrons at the pizzeria next door. The hotel is good choice for kids with play areas and kid menus and at summer time the hotel is always full of kids.
The area is shabby. The area is a regular Stockholm neighbourhood. There aren't any Chanel or Laura Ashley design stores next door so maybe the area is shabby then.
It takes 15 minutes to walk to the Tunnelbana station, maybe if you walk with a cane.
There is no free coffee at the bar. I've never stayed at a hotel that has. Maybe if you want 5 star luxury treatment, you should pay for a 5 star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel serves well for a one-night-only accommodation. The first impression was really bad: arriving at 10 pm there were many young men hanging around the entrance. We cannot recommend this hotel for female travellers on their own nor families with young children. The hotel rooms are worn down, showing the remains of the last renovation on its walls. The breakfast was definitely better during the weekend but on weekdays they clearly tried to save some money. The seating area in the bar was cold and there was no free tea or coffee available. To get to the nearest underground station, you need to walk at least 15 minutes and through a desolate shrubby area. Definitely a hotel for one night only.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

It really shows that this is a hotel that is adjacent to a major ferry terminal. Actually, the whole hotel gives the impression that you are aboard a large ferry!

Scandic Ariadne is situated quite far from Stockholm City. I was on a two-day conference here and the conference room and facilities were good. The bar was cold. Really cold, we had to wear our jackets.

My room was large and the bed very comfortable. But the room was a bit worn, the color of the walls were damaged and the water didn't run down the shower. Breakfast was ok but not great, as it tends to be in Swedish hotels.

Lunch, however, had a fantastic salad buffet while the food was pretty boring and unseasoned. I would only stay here again if I had to catch an early morning Ferry.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Ariadne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ariadne

Address: Sodra Kajen 37 | Positionen 117, Stockholm 11574, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Ariadne 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Ariadne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Ariadne Stockholm
Scandic Ariadne Hotel Stockholm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Ariadne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.