We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Hamilton Hotel to your Saves list
Lady Hamilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storkyrkobrinken 5 | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Lady Hamilton is a small, boutique hotel, well situated in the old town (Gamla Stan), and only a 5-10 minute walk to one of the main shopping streets and the Opera House. It is elegantly decorated with memorabilia collected by the owners, but the rooms, though fully equipped, are small (our bathroom was minute), with only limited hanging space, so you are really living out of a suitcase. There is a reasonable selection of cold cuts and cheeses for breakfast, but the only hot items were eggs and bacon. The staff were very pleasant, one lady in particular going out of her way to be helpful. If the hotel is only to sleep in, it’s great.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    93
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
61
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not knowing where to stay in Stockholm I was really pleased to find this hotel lived up to the web reviews and descriptions.

Very friendly staff and quirky reception area start the visit off well, and then the rooms we had were excellent (6 of us stayed Fri 5th - Mon 8th December 2014). Our room turned out to be the best (thank you!) and had some really unusual features like a sofa under the beams and statues etc - bathroom was adequate and spotlessly clean.

The location was spot on for investigating Gamla Stan - if we could afford Sweden again would definitely return to this hotel. Anyone who has been knows what I mean - £9 a beer!!

Breakfast was more than adequate and had a good mix of Swedish (herrings etc) specials and cereals etc plus as much coffee and tea as you could want.

Room Tip: Top floor room 41 - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I have spent a lot of time in this hotel and find it adequate for business and short tourist trips. The wifi is good and consistent. The breakfast is ok and the rooms are clean if a bit small for the longer stay.

The old town location is of course excellent. This does come with its pitfalls. Early morning noise from garbage trucks can be a 6am wake up call and late night noise from adjacent buildings can disrupt.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Lady Hamilton, a cool hotel with a lot of history. Very nice rooms, I had a single room, quite small but all you needed right there. Superfresh bathroom with shower. Kettle, TV. I slept well!

Some of my friends got a room at the forth/top floor - soo nice! Loungesofa enbedded with the beams. Ah! :) My other friend on the other hand got a room than, according to her, was below the church clock... (Very near her window anyhow).

The breakfast vas also good, plenty to choose from, pancakes, bacon, eggs, toast, yoghurt and topings. I will book this again :)

Room Tip: Not a room faceing the courtyard! Choose, if posslbie faceing the litlte street of on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I just got back from a week long stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm Sweden. Stayed in an apartment ("Amy") that is with the Lady Hamilton! WOW! Large room, Incredibly comfortable King size bed. The staff at the Lady Hamilton was always gracious and helpful for our needs. The location can't be beat and it is walking distance to many sights and transportation is always near. Can't say enough positive things. Would ask for this apartment again. You should also!

Room Tip: The name of the apartment (The Collectors Hotels have several they keep for use) was Amy. Comfy Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

this review is about one of the apartments affiliated with the Lady Hamilton Hotel - "the Miranda" or simply #4.
first - this apartment requires to walk up 4 flights of stairs. no elevator. For those who don't feel like it or just can't, skip this option (!) and no need to read onwards. For some people this is legitimately a deal breaker.
So for those who still are reading - an amazing location - just at the middle of the old city. the apartment is HUGE. Really HUGE. Very nicely furnished. I think this is the first time i can say that the photos on the web do not disclose how nice the place is. Very clean (although no daily service, if you need that.. ). Great kitchen facilities and dishes, wonderful bedding. TV and wifi work fine (although wifi arrangement a bit irritating) and great shower.
we were a family of four with 2 grown up children (young adults)- lots of room for each one - allowed us to be together and to each have their own space.
Check in and check out in the Lady Hamilton Hotel - a 3 minutes walk. they were helpful with our questions, but we didn't have many. Seemed to us that they give full hotel attention if you ask.
finally - not cheap. But for the four of us, the alternative was two hotel rooms which would be as expensive if not more. Instead we got the most delightful arrangement that made the stay in the city pure joy.
Sooo - if you passed the first paragraph and the climb does not worry you , you should clearly consider this as a unique arrangement that is a charming alternative to a hotel stay.

Room Tip: the hotel has several apartments. you can check them out through the hotel's website. They are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Couldn't be better located in Gamla Stan. Our room was quite small, with two single beds, but comfortable and had nice toiletries and adequate water pressure in the shower. The front desk staff was helpful in recommending places to see, making reservations, and arranging airport transportation. The continental breakfast was very good, and served in a charming room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: Storkyrkobrinken 5 | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's genuinely personal touch, the Lady Hamilton Hotel is a feminine and romantic hotel in a fantastic location next to the Royal Palace in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s Old Town. The hotel’s charming personality goes hand in hand with the amazing collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, which decorates both public areas and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Stockholm
Hotel Lady Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Hamilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.