We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lady Hamilton Hotel to your Saves list
Lady Hamilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Storkyrkobrinken 5 | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a nice old fashion hotel located in perfect surroundings in the outer corner of Gamla Stan. The rooms are nicely decorated and have always been tidy and clean when I have stayed there. Most of the restaurants are in the far end of the walking street that starts just around the corner.

Dont be afraid when the church bells are ringing - it is normal

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    97
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
69
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This perfectly located hotel is filed with Swedish folk art and nautical antiques, but we found it has all modern conveniences and a very comfortable bed. Our queen room on the fourth floor had openable sky lights with operating blinds, important during the light nights of June. The room was fairly large by European standards, with plenty of seating space. As other reviewers have said, the location is first rate -- walk out the front door, look right, and there is the Royal Palace. We easily walked to Djurgarden, the island of many museums, including the astonishing Vasa Museum. The walk itself is a lovely experience, but it's equally easy and fun to take a ferry at the landing just down the hill from the hotel. The breakfast was excellent: you can even juice oranges right at the bar! The Lady Hamilton is the perfect place from which to explore the beautiful city of Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is one of three hotels dedicated to Lady Hamilton and Lord Nelson, all located within Gamla Stan. The motif of the hotel is definitely 18th century English nautical. Charming. We had a top floor room with beams that added to the room's character. The bed was comfortable and the WiFi was everywhere. The breakfast was plentiful and good. The front office staff was very helpful. We were a group of 7 taking a cruise from Stockholm. When we needed taxis to get to the ship, the office arranged for two to be there at the appointed hour. Everything was perfect. Location can not be beat. It is 1 minute to the Palace and Parliament, 4 minutes to the T-Bana, and restaurants and shopping are everywhere. There are two great ice cream\gelato shops on the next street; a must have. If you want to be in the middle of the tourist action, the Lady Hamilton is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hej rogerjm

Thanks for your positive review!

Next time you are in Stockholm you should try one of our sister hotels, they are just as charming as the Lady Hamilton Hotel!

Welcom back to us!

Many regards

Annika Hoft /
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is charming with lots of antiques and interesting decor. Front desk staff is excellent. Breakfast is very good. Great location in Gamla Stan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A slight hitch at reception, where we were informed we'd been upgraded from the queen room booked - initially I was delighted, as I never get upgraded - but then we were informed that the one thing we had specifically requested on booking, a shower rather than a bath, was not available in the upgraded room. So I asked to keep the original booking, which caused some consternation and initially, it appeared, a bit of resistance. Anyway it got sorted after consultation with the manager and we kept the queen room. Service was otherwise good and I liked the hotel generally - it was clean and full of character.

Queen rooms are on the 4th floor, effectively the roof, and have skylight windows, so no views, but given the location of the hotel it is unlikely that any of the rooms would have extensive views I suspect. The room was a good size and comfortable with a large, comfortable bed (actually two beds pushed together) and separate armchairs/seating. The weather was very cold while we were there and the room was plenty warm enough. Shower worked well though in a slightly awkward space due to the shape of the roof and, as with nearly every hotel I ever stay in, there was nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc. in the shower except on the floor. The bathroom had underfloor heating.

The nearby clock does chime every quarter hour throughout the entire night. It wasn't terrifically loud though and didn't bother us, but we did have the windows closed.

Breakfast was really good - just about everything you could possibly want to eat including many different types of bread and rolls, pastries, meats and cheeses, pancakes, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, cereals, yoghurt etc. All fresh and well-presented.

Location excellent - walking distance to just about anywhere central and close to many bars, restaurants etc. We also bought Stockholm Cards, which give free use of public transport and free entry into most museums and some discounts. Like everything in Stockholm they are not cheap but definitely give you value for money, particularly if you like museums. We particularly enjoyed the Vasa museum, the medieval museum and Drottningholm Palace, reached by a very pleasant boat trip.

Best meal was at the Kryp In, a very short walk from the hotel - highly recommended, but it is small, so ensure you book!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Located in heart of Gamle Stan, this hotel has it all: comfortable and charming room, fantastic, very helpful staff, walking distance to everything (right next to the Royal Palace), and a great breakfast and tea in the afternoon. Walking throughout this hotel (built in the 15thc), you will find antiques and paintings and of course, much history about Lady Hamilton. Rooms are furnished in the same manner. The Lady Hamilton will be home for all future trips to Stockholm.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small, so if you are a very tall person, you may want a double. Definitely call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Location is great, just in the heart of Stockholm, most sightseeings are in a walking distance. If you like places with a charm of antiquities this hotel is for you. Staff is friendly, breakfast is excellent and served in a cosy room with a windows on a street of old town. Standard double room was rather small with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was also small. What I disliked was cleaning of the room - that was the first time I've seen tips taken away and room not cleaned after that.
Worth to try - sauna with an XIVth century well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: Storkyrkobrinken 5 | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's genuinely personal touch, the Lady Hamilton Hotel is a feminine and romantic hotel in a fantastic location next to the Royal Palace in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s Old Town. The hotel’s charming personality goes hand in hand with the amazing collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, which decorates both public areas and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Stockholm
Hotel Lady Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Hamilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.