We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, period atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm 11145, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value, period atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a single but was given a double on the top floor - plenty of space, with a kettle, fridge, obviously newly refitted bathroom, hot/cold air with a thermostat that worked, comfortable and excellent value at UKP 200 for 5 nights (including taxes etc.) B&B.
The hotel has a period feel, with a semicircular staircase around the slightly old-fashioned lift, and a lighthouse-like tower visible from the street. Breakfast was the usual hot/cold international buffet. The staff were courteous and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    178
    105
    26
    5
See reviews for
33
136
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Crystal Plaza Hotel in Stockholm is a lovely old hotel with many charming details. A very friendly and helpful staff. The little bar/café beside the reception is very convenient. Located very near the harbor and the center of Stockholm on a street filled with only the best shops!
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: I was given a large room on the 2nd floor with a panoramic view of the main street (Birger Jarl). Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

This is a rather worn-out hotel. It is not very far from the center but the location is not particularly nice. My room was ridiculously tiny and breakfast was mediocre at best. Internet worked fine though.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days. Even though It's an old building and our room was small, there where nothing that we had an issue with. Breakfast was good and the staff was nice and happy to help out.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Stockholm hotels are incredibly expensive, the Crystal Plaza is a mid range hotel. We paid a bit more and got a superior double, which in our view was worth the extra money.

The room we had on the 6th floor was spacious and comfortable, had a fridge and a kettle which was a bonus. A standard room from what we saw was a tad on the small side for us brits but average for Scandanavia. If you can afford a bit more its worth going for the superior room.

The breakfast was adequate but probably not worth paying extra for.

Location wise, the hotel is convenient for all the main sights most of which are easily walk-able and an abundance of restaurants are close by. We would definitely stay here again if we stayed in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Room 610 was nice, high enough up for noise not to be a problem, as a superior room it had a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is looking very tired & is really in need of a make over. Furniture is worn & tatty, especially in the bathroom where water has clearly affected it but overall it was clean. I found the bed to be hard & lumpy so didn't really sleep too well. Room was really hot with no temperature control & it was far too noisy to open the window. In fact even with the window closed it was very noisy. Food was ok for breakfast but not great

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

In an expensive city such as Stockholm, this was the perfect choice for our 4 day stay - conveniently located and with a substantial breakfast offering. Upon arrival (very late at night) we were informed that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to one of the Tower Suites. This means that we had a lot of space and a great view! As previous reviewers have mentioned, the décor is quite old, but everything was still functional and clean. The service we received from all staff members was professional and warm. Breakfast, served in the downstairs Chinese restaurant, was a typical Scandinavian breakfast buffet - fruit juice, coffee and tea; cereals and yoghurt; fruit; cheeses and cold meats; pastries, crisp bread and a bread selection; boiled eggs; bacon and sausages; waffles (self-service) and even Chinese noodles. Location is great - walking distance to most attractions, train and metro stations and the harbour for ferry- and boat trips. All-in-all a very pleasant experience. If ever we have the opportunity; we would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Plaza Hotel

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm 11145, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed in an historic, turn-of-the-century building dating from 1895. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Crystal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Plaza Stockholm
Hotel Crystal Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.