We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, tiny rooms, location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Nelson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Nelson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasterlanggatan 22 | Old Town, Stockholm SE-111 29 , Sweden (Södermalm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #58 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, tiny rooms, location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love the Royal Navy? Fantasies of the bounding main, defending Queen and Country from 18th century scourges? You will love the nautical theme and antiques of the Lord Nelson.

Prefer to walk in and have the staff welcome you by make before you say who you are? It happened to me. Maybe you just want to be in the heart of an amazing city dripping with centuries of history. You'll love the Lord Nelson.

Be warned, rooms aren't rooms, so much as cabins. My single barely had room to turn around. But it was clean, neat and comfy within its limits.

I'll stay here or at the sister hotel, Lady Hamilton, next time.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
5
19
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

One of my friend told me "If you visit stockholm, you must stay in the old town.", so here we are, stayed for 1 night @ Lord Nelson Hotel.

This hotel locate in the very heart of the old town where most historic sites are within walking distance, and also you can get to the train station by walk, take about 15mins. For us, this hotel's location is absolutely stunningt!!!!

Our room is fairly small (appox. 8 square meters) but functioned well, the bathroom is bright with large windows , clean and the size of it is quite a surprise. The room decoration and the old furnitures remind us it is a vintage boutique hotel and we love it.
There were few books they provided in the room introduce the history of Lord Nelson and this hotel.

Hotel serves breakfast, but the food choice is very very limited.

There are few interesting spots in the hotel you can explore, don't miss it XO

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

narrowest hotel in sweden, and size of single room testifies. . however, it was cutely designed as a ship's cabin, and functioned well. The location is very good, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Only take up the offer of the roof top views if you are brave. . . better people watching from the front windows :)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Behind the narrowest frontage of any hotel in Stockholm lies a little gem. Great location in the old town, walking distance to most attractions and lots of cafés, and very friendly helpful staff. Our room was small but very comfortable and quiet, breakfast good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The rooms are very clean and the old building itself makes this Hotel very charming. But do not expect to much. Inside it's very modest: old carpets, old furniture and very narrow rooms and stairs. I travelled for business and would still recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

i have been booking this hotel due to the many good reviews i read- which was a mistake. Really the only good thing I can say about the hotel is its location- and the potential what could be done with such a gem, situated right in the heart of the old town of Stockholm.
As many other reviewers already mentioned, the rooms, and especially the single rooms are super tiny. Which is not necessarily a problem, but regarding that the bathroom is so small that you can barely turn around in front of the sink when having the door closed, it is.
The hotel is full of collectibles on display, but everything around that is in desperate need of a touch up. Rooms and furniture look run down (but not in a shabby chic charming way) and the walls and ceilings need some fresh paint. The lightning in the room is pretty dazzling and not athmospheric at all.
As I've been on a business trip, I've been looking forward to using the sauna that was advertised on the booking platform, just to realize upon arrival, that there is no more sauna.
During nighttime, it gets pretty warm in this old building, but due to noise out in the street opening the windows is no option. Also, the bed was really worn and after a quick look below the sheets i was really disgusted.
Breakfast was below the standard for a three star hotel. As a vegetarian i had a hard time eating healthy, and the variety of food was poor and penny pinching in general.
I wouldn't mind all that if I was staying in a hostel or b&b. I am travelling for business regularly and have never experienced worse value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annika H, Hotelldirektör at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hej hochrot,

We were really sad to read about your experiences during the visit at Lord Nelson Hotel and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

The rooms at the Lord Nelson are small, cabin rooms, as the hotel is constructed like a ship. But there also rooms of various sizes and facing different streets, so whenever possible we try to accomodate our guests in the rooms that are best situated for their demands. However, when the hotel is fully booked it may be difficult to relocate.

At the Lord Nelson we are also in the process of starting a restoration process, but unfortunately it had not been initiated when you visited us. The guests of the hotel can use the complimentary sauna and relax department at Lady Hamilton Hotel, just arond the corner, I hope this was brought to your attention during your visit if you inquired at the Front Desk. With regards to the breakfast we serve a Continental breakfast, but we are always open to finding find solutions for our guests if they have special breakfast requests. Last but not least, if you will return to Stockholm in the future we sincerely would like you to contact us so we would get a chance to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,

Annika Höft and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The word quirky is used a lot to describe this hotel, but quaint is better. It's quirky because everything is small - the rooms are very tiny, hallways, staircases very narrow, small reception and breakfast area. But the location is perfect - right on the main tourist street in old town, Vasterlanggatan. Price is very reasonable for Stockholm. I use this hotel when traveling by myself. When I take my wife I stay at the sister hotel two short blocks away, the Lady Hamilton - everything is nicer - and more expensive. Either one is perfect for visiting Stockholm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annika H, Hotelldirektör at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hej Charles C,

It warmed our heart to read your review here at Trip Advisor, and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Please call us in advance so we can inform you about our complimentary membership program, this will give you several benefits during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Annika Höft and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson Hotel

Address: Vasterlanggatan 22 | Old Town, Stockholm SE-111 29 , Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Nelson Hotel is an intimate, friendly and pleasant hotel right in the heart of Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s Old Town – close to the city centre and all the capital’s sights and attractions. But above all, the hotel contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques – passionately gathered through the decades by the owner family Bengtsson.The building dates from the 17th century and at just under six metres wide, this property is undoubtedly Sweden’s narrowest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Stockholm
Hotel Lord Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.